We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Veggie options & Delicious Home made Coleslaw”
Review of The Continental Cafe - CLOSED

The Continental Cafe
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stopped here for lunch and the food was good. We had a ciabatta, a wrap, a side salad and chips. Home made coleslaw is delicious. Food all nicely presented and we thought reasonably priced. Nice veggie options.Service was OK. One of the knives was dirty but was replaced with an apology when pointed out. Could have done without the 'tut' when I asked for some pepper but I think they were short staffed, so no biggie. Would def go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CarolGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContinentalGuildford, Owner at The Continental Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for your review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

I didn't necessarily think to pop in here until it was recommended as I don't often go in to Tunsgate. I can highly recommend it - especially the Maltesers Milk Shake.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank katiephillimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContinentalGuildford, Owner at The Continental Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

A good location in a covered courtyard, good food, we had jacket potatoes, but the price was a bit high.

Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContinentalGuildford, Owner at The Continental Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have been going to the continental cafe for a long time. It makes a change from all the chain coffee shops in Guildford.

Their scones are huge and very nice and the Bacon plaits are nice too. You can get breakfast up to 11 (12 on sunday and bank hollidays)

They have a good selection of sandwiches, paninis, wraps, Jacket potatoes, and pasta bakes too.

I love the toasted wrap with mushrooms, pesto and cheese. My husband likes their milk shakes and the mexicana panini with chilli and jalopeno's.

The food is always hot and tasty.

Tables are inside, but with lots more in the Atrium of Tunsgate. There is only 1 toilet at the back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dlenn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContinentalGuildford, Owner at The Continental Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The good thing about the cafe is that the food arrived quickly. The bad things - everything was tasteless and had no flavour. In a chicken, bacon and mayonnaise sandwich the only flavour was in the bread. A Brie and bacon panini was likewise lacking in any flavour of bacon or
Brie. I have no idea where the materials are sourced, but something needs to be done. Also rather expensive. Our first visit will be our last.

Thank Hotelsinspectorate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ContinentalGuildford, Owner at The Continental Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to our cafe, but also somewhat surprised by your comments. All of our food is of a very high quality, all purchased as fresh raw ingredients and cooked on site. Our panini and sandwiches are all deep filled, only prepared to order and we receive many compliments on a daily basis on how good they are. We believe we offer very good value for money. Please try us again, at our expense, and we would welcome any direct feedback. Debra & Kevin, proprietor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Continental Cafe also viewed

 
Shere, Guildford
Shamley Green, Guildford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing