We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Shanghai
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is another relatively new hotel in the historic town of Guildford. It is very central with easy access to the High Street, Guildford Castle and river. A walk down the High Street along the river and up to the castle is a must. There are many top restaurants nearby so you are spoilt for choice. Parking is in the basement with an internal lift into the lobby. The restaurant downstairs is where you have breakfast. This is buffet style and has a good variety but got a little repetitive after 5 days. The restaurant changes into a bar at night and has good bar food.
Staff in the hotel are very attentive and go out of their way to assist you.
Room was clean and adequate for a business hotel - however the wi-fi was a bit fickle.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warrenjShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your recent business trip to the area and for taking the time to write your feedback on this site.

I am delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and were able to see some of the sights of the historic town whilst in Guildford. I am pleased that our secure underground car park was convenient and you found our breakfast buffet to your liking. Your review serves as a great motivator to the team who all share a passion for great customer service, and would help other travellers make an informed choice on their accommodation requirements when in the area. Thank you for your feedback about our complimentary Wi-Fi, which I have passed on to our IT department for review.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    580
    263
    118
    92
See reviews for
257
717
64
485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
I don't live in a city
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

For some time now my business friend and I have been meeting on a monthly basis at the Radisson Blu Edwardian Hotel in Guildford, Surrey.

I can truly say that since the first time we came to this special Hotel, we have met with exceptional care and attention. Luke Francois and the staff have always welcomed us so warmly and nothing is too much trouble. They manage to make their guests feel completely at ease and at home there. The Hotel is beautifully clean, the food is excellent and the service quite wonderful. We usually arrive around 11.am in time for coffee, elegantly served with the most delicious, delicate chocolate brownies! What a treat!

One of the lovely things about the Radisson and perhaps not easy to achieve, is the combination of being very well looked after without feeling intruded upon in any way. There are few places in the middle of a town where it is possible to relax and this is definitely one of them.

We will always recommend this very special Hotel to our friends and acquaintances and we shall keep going back and back. It is a real gem.

Very many thanks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Jackie,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor and for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford hotel for your monthly business meetings.

I am delighted to hear you find the hotel to be the perfect meeting place and find the care given by the staff attentive and not intrusive. I am pleased to hear you recommend us to your friends and acquaintances and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was our second visit as a family group. In 2012 we and other friends and family stayed for our son's wedding. As this experience had been pretty good, when it was his house warming and we wanted other son/baby to stay overnight choosing this hotel again was easy! The staff were again all friendly and helpful, the cleanliness of rooms etc first class. Ok we had two deluxe rooms but they were worth the extra. Stylish, lovely bed and sheets, super bathroom. And then of course the (expensive?) wonderful breakfast with wide choice of good quality food, hot , the sort that "makes" you eat too much of everything! The underground parking was a secure relief. So thank you Guildford, and as a result have just splashed out on a RadBlu in London next month.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puffinmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your family’s visit to Guildford and for taking the time to write your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear your second visit was on par with your first and you found the hotel first class. Our breakfast is priced at £17.50 per person which is for the entire breakfast buffet, however individual items are available from our breakfast menu.

I hope you have a pleasant stay in one of our sister hotels next month and hope to welcome you back here soon.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calangute, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Am generally conservative in rating EXCELLENT, though this hotel is an exception, based on my expereince.
I had been on a business trip to Guilford and I wasn't sure about how this hotel would be as my previous hotel in Portsmouth was not a great stay. When I saw the room, I was more than pleased with the nice bedding combo of red and white with a kind size bed and beautiful fittings in the bath. I was almost exhausted with the previous week tiresome schedule and found this hotel to be a real place for relaxation.
The restaurant on ground floor is a nice place and the waiter's hospitality was very good. In genral the staff including the reception staff were well trained for their type of a job.
The hotel is located at walkable distance from the raileay station and thus catching up the a train to London was quite easy for a novice moving around.
It s a hotel that I'll recommend for anyone and everyone visitng Guildford.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on this site and for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford hotel for your recent business trip to the area.

I am delighted to hear that your stay warranted an excellent rating on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and found the hotel offered everything you needed for a comfortable stay. We are very fortunate to be situated in Guildford’s town centre and within a short walk of both the railway stations.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We actually live in Guildford, however we needed somewhere to go as we are having building work, so we have had a night off from dust and mess the past two Fridays.
We absolutely love this hotel, it really is in a diffferent league to any other Guildford hotel ( or any neighbouring towns). I will start with the rooms. Pure luxury, amazing decor and the most comfortable beds I have slept in recently. Bathrooms are stylish, clean and luxurious. Everything you could need, from bottled water to lovely squishy bathrobes and slippers.
Breakfast was delicous. i had pancakes the first week and Raegan ( sorry about spelling) the chap in charge of breakfast, remembered that i had loved them and asked if i'd like them again. Food selection is huge and food is replenished frequently.
Spa is lovely, with very friendly staff and great facilities, i really like the steam room and well equipped gym. I can't emphasise enough how clean everything is and nothing is a problem to the staff.
Luke on reception is charming, so professional.
Can't wait to go back soon
Thank- You
Melanie Gordon

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanieg0rd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Melanie,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel whilst having renovations at home and for taking the time to write your feedback on this site.

I am delighted to hear you find our hotel to be the best place in town and for the praise for our bedrooms, food offering and wet spa area. Thank you for your kind comments about Regan and Luke, which I will personally pass on to them. Your review serves as a great motivator to the team who all share a passion for great customer service, and would help other travellers make an informed choice on their accommodation requirements when in the area.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We arrived on Saturday 2nd November to a warm welcome from the reception staff . We were checked in by Louise and Luke and shown to our room. The room was modern and comfortable with lovely furnishings. We had a nice bathroom, good shower and soft white towels. Breakfast was wonderful, lots of choice from the buffet both hot and cold. The service in the restaurant and bar was exceptionally good and a special thank you to Oliver and bahar who both work extremely hard. The hotel is in a central location with lots of good quality shops and restaurants. Thank you to all the hard working staff who made our weekend a special one, I will defiantly be returning.

Room Tip: Great service, good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggysue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Peggy,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor and for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford hotel for your recent stay in the area.

I am delighted to hear that from the moment you arrived at the hotel you were made to feel at home and both Louise and Luke were attentive. I’m pleased the bedroom offered you a comfortable night and everything you needed whilst away from home. Thank you for your kind comments about Oliver and Bahar which I will pass on to them. We are very fortunate to be located at the top of Guildford’s High Street and within a short walk of the many retail outlets it has to offer.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night as a couple getaway for husbands birthday. Loved it, hotel staff very friendly and professional. Room was to very high standard, and bathroom was very modern and clean. Only downside was view, we had the best view which was of the car park but thats to be expected in a city/town centre location. Did not eat at the hotels restaurant so cannot comment on that.

Just to add we also used the spa facilities which were good but unfortunately could not use the pool as maintenence was being carried out. The steam room, sauna and relaxation room was very nice. The girls working there made us feel welcome and the 1 hour couples massage we had booked was heavenly. The therapists were amazing and left us feeling totally relaxed and refreshed. Will definately be going back there. Everything was worth the money we paid (which was alot for just one night :) )

Guilford itself is very beautiful and upscale, wouldnt mind moving there! We had dinner in a Thai restaurant called Thai Terrace which was recommended to us by the staff at hotel. Very nice location and atmosphere but also the food was delicious and the staff again were very attentive. Loved this midweek break away from the two kids and will be going again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your husband’s birthday treat and for taking the time to write your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear you both thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and were able to relax and unwind in our wet spa area after your hour long couples massage. I am sorry to hear that whilst with us our maintenance department were undertaking necessary work on our fitness pool. I am pleased you found Guildford to be a beautiful town and we hope you will be back again soon.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
0.9 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
3.0 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
474 reviews
3.3 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guildford Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guildford Harbour Hotel

Property: Guildford Harbour Hotel
Address: 3 Alexandra Terrace, Guildford GU1 3DA, England (Formerly Radisson Blu Edwardian Guildford Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Guildford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guildford Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bold landmark on Surrey's most celebrated street, Guildford Harbour Hotel, formerly the Radisson Blu Edwardian Guildford gives the town its first 4 star hotel, and with it a stylish new place to meet, eat or retreat to a serene urban spa. Equipped for business but designed for relaxation, the hotel's sleek glass and cool stone fuses with the fabric of the town and brings a new heart to its social scene. Rooms: The hotel's 183 bedrooms are light, spacious and equally good for work or play with contemporary furnishings. All rooms feature generous workspaces with advanced technology, and high speed Wi-Fi is complimentary. Services: The extensive business and concierge services, with complimentary WiFi throughout, makes doing business easy here. A sleek urban spa, well-equipped gym and choice of dining options lining the hotel's open colonnade also make it the perfect place to take time out. Groups & Meetings: Through the hotel's airy lobby, an expansive conference and event space for up to 200 is complemented by three naturally lit smaller rooms, including a sleek boardroom encased in frosted glass. Meeting rooms surround a light-filled central courtyard, ideal for al fresco drinks from the private bar. Dining: The hotel features a stylish restaurant, bar and al fresco terrace. Local Area: Smart boutiques, ornate architecture and glimpses of surrounding hills complete the picture on Guildford's handsome High Street. The city is set in the rolling Surrey Hills, an area of outstanding natural beauty. GLive, Guildford's new £26 million arts venue, is next to the hotel, and the renowned Yvonne Arnaud Theatre is a short walk away. Surrey is also home to some beautiful golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Guildford Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guildford Harbour Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing