We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Parking was a challenge...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
UK, London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Parking was a challenge...”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My partner and I stayed for one night and this was our first visit. Our room was well appointed and the bed very comfortable. We had a great nights sleep. Check in/out was very easy and Jorge in the morning was exceptionally polite and helpful. The only challenge was parking. Having messed around for about 10mins we were told the hotel parking was 'full' so we just parked in the public car park which as we arrived late (after 9pm) and we're leaving early (before 8am) so it was £1.20. I think overnight in the hotel car park is £12. Lovely hotel just a point to note on car parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDebsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Deb,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on this site and for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your recent trip to Surrey.

I am delighted to hear you found your room well-appointed and the bed was comfortable. Thank you for your kind comments about Jorge, which I have personally passed on to him. We do have limited spaces available in our secure underground car park and these are allocated on a first come first served basis. When the car park is full, there is a municipal pay and display car park to the rear of the hotel.

I hope we can welcome you back on a future visit to Guildford.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    575
    259
    115
    92
See reviews for
254
707
63
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent this weekend at Radisson Guildford. It was a great stay from check in to check out. Breakfast was amazing, we didnt expect that much rush on sunday morning breakfast , another buffet would have solved the problem. but nevertheless it was wonderful hot and cold buffet. Rooms were clean, all staff very helpful. We enjoyed the Dinner saturday evening aswell. Can stay there just for food. Overall wonderful Experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vvkmft2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your recent trip to Surrey and for taking the time to write your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear your weekend was great from start to finish and you particularly enjoy the food offering we provide in the hotel. I have spoken to the Breakfast Team about the buffet being busy on Sunday and have been advised that we did have a high occupancy level with guests arriving at a similar time for breakfast.

My team and I hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is my fifth stay, on business once again. If anything, this time the hotel was even better: my room was immaculate, staff were friendly, professional, efficient and the bar staff were responsive. I cannot fault this hotel (and have no wish to) and I look forward to my next stay.
From a practical perspective, the hotel is about 20 mins walk from the rail station or 15 mins from the bus station (perhaps 5-10 mins by taxi from the station), it's an easy walk although up hill; it is modern in style and decoration. I've actually never eaten there but the bar is comfortable and popular.

Room Tip: I think there are no "good" views but so far all rooms I have stayed in have been quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Amanda,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor and for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your recent business trip to Surrey.

I am delighted to hear you had your fifth perfect stay with us and are already looking forward to your next visit. Your review serves as a great motivator to the team who all share a passion for great customer service, and would help other travellers make an informed choice on their accommodation requirements when in the area. I do hope you will try the hotels Scoff & Banter Restaurant or MKB cocktail bar on your next visit, as these are popular with our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Never seen a club carlson hotel with such a small room... though mine was just a night stay.. but u need space in a hotel room.

The staff was good.. very helping and very quick to almost everything.. i felt so welcomed because of staff after almost 12 hours from home to hotel

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Disha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Disha,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your recent trip to the area and for taking the time to write your feedback on this site.

I am delighted to hear you felt very welcomed by the staff on your arrival at the hotel, as we strive to make all guests feel special whilst staying with us. Our rooms vary in size, with our smallest rooms being a Superior bedroom however should guests require a larger bedroom, our Deluxe bedrooms offer a larger bed and floor space. Had a member of staff been made aware you were unhappy with the size of your room, a room move would have been arranged for you.

I do hope we can welcome you back on a future visit to Guildford in the future.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I had red some reviews and wasn't expecting anything too special but I have to stay I was very pleasantly suprised when I entered the beautiful stylish lobby and checked in. Same again when we entered the room - fresh, clean and moderm. I thought the bathroom was great also.
We are in the Scoff and Banter and the food was also very impressive. We are breakfast once n the restaurant and that was a very smooth experience. We ordered room service the next day but it didnt arrive. The issue was resolved and we were only charged for 1 breakfast as compensation.
I would highly reccomend the hotel for anyway going to Epsom races like we did. You can walk to London Road station and then get a short shuttle to the course and same back. Guildford itself is a very pretty place and we wentout for dinner one evening too which was great. I would certainly stay here again and with the rates we paid I thought it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grievej26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on this site and for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your recent visit to Surrey.

I am delighted to hear you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. I am pleased to hear the bedroom, bathroom and food and beverage offerings were all to your liking. I have followed up your Room Service points with the staff and understand this was dealt with whilst you were staying. We are very fortunate to be located between Guildford’s two railway stations which are convenient for trips such as the Epsom Races or days in London.

I am delighted to hear you will be recommending the hotel and you will be staying with us again on future visits to Guildford. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel to find we were expected to pay £10.00 per person to use the hotel pool, sauna and steam room
We had booked the break for my birthday. We stay at the Marriott and Hilton on regulAr short breaks and have never had to pay for these facilities
This is not made clear on the website if it was we would not of booked our stay

As if this was not disappointing enough we returned to our room after a meal we were welcomed by very loud music from the club which is located directed below the hotel
The music was still banging at 1.30 am.
We called down to reception and were told we could move rooms at 1.30 in the morning this is not acceptable
My husband asked for earplugs and he was told the manager would get back to us well we heard nothing

I am very disappointed and feel my birthday was spoilt as soon as we arrived. The music was very annoying leading to no sleep and severe migraine

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your birthday break and for taking the time to write your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry to hear you were left disappointed after your stay with us. Our £10.00 per person wet spa area charge is mentioned on our website and all third party websites we advertise with to ensure guests are made aware of this. I would like to offer my sincere apologies that your night was impacted by noise coming from the cocktail bar below your room. When occupancy levels allow, we will strive to ensure guests are not located above noisy functions and I understand that you did not wish to move rooms at such a late hour. I will be following up your request for earplugs with the night team to ensure this is not a repeated incident.

I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future, as this service is not indicative of the usual standards we provide.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is well located close to the centre of Guildford, the welcome was rather cold, the long walk to the bedroom was most unwelcome after a long drive.
The room was dark and gloomy and the bathroom was badly designed. The shower cubicle was small and it was impossible to start the shower without water going all over the floor of the bathroom. Soap and shampoo were dispensed from containers more akin to those found in toilets in motorway service stations.
Breakfast was served in the room, the preservatives supplied were two of honey and one strawberry, the seal on the latter had been broken and over half the contents used.
This hotel was not up to the standard expected and I will not be staying there again,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor and for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your recent business trip to Surrey.

Whilst I am delighted to hear you found the hotels location convenient for your time in Guildford, I am saddened by the other feedback you have provided. The staff are usually commended on the customer service they deliver. I am sorry to hear the bathroom design was not to your preference and you did not like the soap dispensers. These are in place as they are proven to reduce the number of items wasted and sent to landfills and are part of our green credentials. I have spoken to the breakfast team about your condiments having been opened prior to you being seated. These should be unopened containers and I would like to apologise for this.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
700 reviews
0.9 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
3.0 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guildford Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guildford Harbour Hotel

Property: Guildford Harbour Hotel
Address: 3 Alexandra Terrace, Guildford GU1 3DA, England (Formerly Radisson Blu Edwardian Guildford Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Guildford
#5 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guildford Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bold landmark on Surrey's most celebrated street, Guildford Harbour Hotel, formerly the Radisson Blu Edwardian Guildford gives the town its first 4 star hotel, and with it a stylish new place to meet, eat or retreat to a serene urban spa. Equipped for business but designed for relaxation, the hotel's sleek glass and cool stone fuses with the fabric of the town and brings a new heart to its social scene. Rooms: The hotel's 183 bedrooms are light, spacious and equally good for work or play with contemporary furnishings. All rooms feature generous workspaces with advanced technology, and high speed Wi-Fi is complimentary. Services: The extensive business and concierge services, with complimentary WiFi throughout, makes doing business easy here. A sleek urban spa, well-equipped gym and choice of dining options lining the hotel's open colonnade also make it the perfect place to take time out. Groups & Meetings: Through the hotel's airy lobby, an expansive conference and event space for up to 200 is complemented by three naturally lit smaller rooms, including a sleek boardroom encased in frosted glass. Meeting rooms surround a light-filled central courtyard, ideal for al fresco drinks from the private bar. Dining: The hotel features a stylish restaurant, bar and al fresco terrace. Local Area: Smart boutiques, ornate architecture and glimpses of surrounding hills complete the picture on Guildford's handsome High Street. The city is set in the rolling Surrey Hills, an area of outstanding natural beauty. GLive, Guildford's new £26 million arts venue, is next to the hotel, and the renowned Yvonne Arnaud Theatre is a short walk away. Surrey is also home to some beautiful golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Guildford Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guildford Harbour Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing