We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smart and modern” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guildford Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Smart and modern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here a couple of times for business and had consistent quality service. Staff are friendly and professional, it is within walking distance to the Guilford High Street so a few options for eating out, although the Banter and Nosh restaurant is also very good. Hotel room was modern and well appointed. Wifi was sometimes a bit flakey. It pays to book a taxi ahead, which hotel staff are happy to do.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mbroomhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your recent business trip to the area and for taking the time to write your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that we consistently offer you quality service on your visits and you find the staff to be friendly and professional. Your review serves as a great motivator to the team who all share a passion for great customer service, and would help other travellers make an informed choice on their accommodation requirements when in the area. I have asked my IT team to look into your feedback about the Wi-Fi.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    543
    245
    106
    88
See reviews for
238
672
58
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

As a special spa day for 3 sisters I thought this would be perfect pamper afternoon sadly it really was quite an average experience. The pool jets were not working, the vapour in the steam room was overpowering and staff, although sweet, gave a pretty average spa experience. Sticky floors, noisy relaxation room, poor booking system made it feel like a staff training day not an holistic experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on this site and for choosing The Spa at the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your spa day.

I am sorry to hear you did not thoroughly enjoy your day with us and did not experience the usually calm and relaxing atmosphere The Spa offers. Our pool jets are currently undergoing maintenance work however I will ask them to look into the vapour in the steam room, as this should not be overpowering. I have passed your feedback on to the Spa Manager and she will ensure the comments are acted upon.

I do hope you will consider returning to The Spa and allow us to restore your faith in our brand.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Excellent polite staff, checking in and out was smooth and easy. The hotel is very nice looking and has a good bar and restaurant. The bedrooms were very comfortable and they had a great bathroom. Great Location too. Perfect stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Kerry,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your recent visit to the area and for taking the time to write your feedback on this site.

I am delighted to hear you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and found the hotel to be very comfortable and well situated at the top of Guildford’s High Street. I am pleased to hear the hotels design and décor was to your liking and you enjoyed the food and beverage offering.

My team and I hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
139 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here with a view to doing some retail therapy prior to a wedding in the afternoon.
The hotel is in an excellent position for the centre of Guildford - which is a very good shopping centre.
The hotel room was modern comfortable and well equipped.
Staff were very well trained - polite friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was first class - included in our deal .
My only gripe is the car parking charge - £10 a night. We paid in the adjacent council city car park and paid half this. ( as we only needed overnight and 4 hours in the morning. I feel the hotel should adjust for latecomers who aren't staying for 24 hours.
All in all , an excellent choice for Guildford

Room Tip: We found a good rate with secret escapes
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TurleighTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor and for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel whilst attending a local wedding.

I am delighted to hear you found the hotels location excellent for visiting the many retail outlets Guildford has to offer and your room was comfortable and well equipped. I am pleased to hear the staff were friendly and helpful and our breakfast buffet was to your liking. I am sorry to hear you were not happy with the parking arrangement at the hotel. The hotels secure underground car park is £10 per 24 hours, however there is a municipal pay and display car park next to the hotel should guests prefer to use this.

My team and I hope to be able to welcome you back on a future visit to Guildford.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

First visit to Guildford and can genuinely recommend this hotel. Excellent location and very modern decor. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Nice touch that reception phoned room to enquire as satisfactory soon after checking in. Hotel has limited parking but a good tip is that there is a pay & display car park at the rear which is free overnight. Excellent buffet breakfast choice. Would definitely use this hotel in future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Bernard,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your first visit to Guildford and for taking the time to write your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear you will recommend us and we provided everything you needed for a comfortable stay. I am pleased to hear the hotels location was convenient and you liked the personal touches such as our follow-up calls. We do have limited spaces in our secure underground car park however there is a large municipal pay and display car park to the rear of the hotel. I am delighted to hear the breakfast buffet was to your liking and you will be using us again.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed for one night with my daughter as a birthday treat. When we arrived there had been a mix-up with the booking which was the fault of the booking company not putting the booking thought to the hotel so they were not expecting us. Despite being very busy, the reception staff couldn't have gone to more trouble to sort this out for us and seated us in the comfortable bar with complimentary drinks until it was solved. The rest of the stay was lovely. The beds were very comfortable and I had one of the best nights sleep ever! We went out for the evening and when we arrived back at the hotel I was slightly concerned that our room seemed to be directly above a nightclub which we could hear in the corridor. However, once in the room we were not disturbed at all. Breakfast was also very good & I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Jenni,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on this site and for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your birthday treat.

I am delighted to hear that on arrival the staff were able to rectify a booking error made by your booking company, and looked after both you and your daughter whilst making the arrangements. I am pleased to hear your stay was lovely and comfortable and you had one of the best night’s sleep. I am also pleased to hear our breakfast buffet was to your liking and you will be recommending us.

My team and I hope to welcome you back on a future visit to the area.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Nothing is too much trouble. Approachable, friendly staff. Came here for my boyfriends birthday and they even left a little cake in the room whilst we were at the spa. Just little touches that count! No fault. Superb! Especially the staff at scoff and banter (Raoul!!)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lel1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your boyfriends birthday treat and for taking the time to write your feedback on this site.

I am delighted to hear you will recommend us and we were able to surprise and delight you whilst you were staying with us. I am pleased to hear the staff were friendly and approachable and would like to thank you for the lovely comment about Raul, who was delighted to have made such an impression.

My team and I hope to welcome you both back again soon.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
0.9 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
3.3 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
3.0 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guildford Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guildford Harbour Hotel

Property: Guildford Harbour Hotel
Address: 3 Alexandra Terrace, Guildford GU1 3DA, England (Formerly Radisson Blu Edwardian Guildford Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Guildford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guildford Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bold landmark on Surrey's most celebrated street, Guildford Harbour Hotel, formerly the Radisson Blu Edwardian Guildford gives the town its first 4 star hotel, and with it a stylish new place to meet, eat or retreat to a serene urban spa. Equipped for business but designed for relaxation, the hotel's sleek glass and cool stone fuses with the fabric of the town and brings a new heart to its social scene. Rooms: The hotel's 183 bedrooms are light, spacious and equally good for work or play with contemporary furnishings. All rooms feature generous workspaces with advanced technology, and high speed Wi-Fi is complimentary. Services: The extensive business and concierge services, with complimentary WiFi throughout, makes doing business easy here. A sleek urban spa, well-equipped gym and choice of dining options lining the hotel's open colonnade also make it the perfect place to take time out. Groups & Meetings: Through the hotel's airy lobby, an expansive conference and event space for up to 200 is complemented by three naturally lit smaller rooms, including a sleek boardroom encased in frosted glass. Meeting rooms surround a light-filled central courtyard, ideal for al fresco drinks from the private bar. Dining: The hotel features a stylish restaurant, bar and al fresco terrace. Local Area: Smart boutiques, ornate architecture and glimpses of surrounding hills complete the picture on Guildford's handsome High Street. The city is set in the rolling Surrey Hills, an area of outstanding natural beauty. GLive, Guildford's new £26 million arts venue, is next to the hotel, and the renowned Yvonne Arnaud Theatre is a short walk away. Surrey is also home to some beautiful golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Guildford Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guildford Harbour Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing