We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheeky service charges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cheeky service charges”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel has a very modern design and feels fresh. It's great for its central location in Guildford town.
What was really frustrating was the service charge for even drinks at the bar. I ordered a pint of lager and a G&T, even though I was standing there and took the drinks from the bar I was stung with a service charge, I feel it was unnecessary!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bruce_cleaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Bruce,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your recent trip to Surrey and for taking the time to write your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear you liked the hotels décor and found the location convenient. I am sorry to hear you were frustrated with the optional service charge in the bar. The optional service charge is applied to all bills, as stated on the restaurant and bar menus and also on the receipts and will be removed without question on request. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    580
    263
    118
    92
See reviews for
257
717
64
485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Rude staff more interested in their mobiles; unhelpful, dismissive and uninterested management. Having stayed in hotels all over the world, I have never stayed in one so noisy - absolutely no sleep for the entire family. Had to avoid the rodents, who seemed to be the only ones having a good time. Stay anywhere else - do not stay here you will regret it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Costas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Costas,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on this site and for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your overnight stay.

I am very sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay. Our main aim is to ensure our guests are fully satisfied with their time at the hotel and I will be following up on your feedback with the entire team. As a new hotel, we have all the correct measures in place to ensure we do not have pests and I will be speaking to the group pest controller with regard to any allegations.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My stay at this hotel was ruined by the awful treatment I received by hotel management. I had a Rezidor voucher and was told by reservations I could use it for my stay. On check out the front office manager refused to accept the voucher, leaving me £100 out of pocket. Her attitude was awful and she took no responsibility for the misinformation given to me by Radisson staff. An awful experience I hope never to repeat.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Louise,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on this site.

I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused by the Rezidor gift card not being accepted and the service you received. The Rezidor gift card website states their gift cards can be used at Radisson Blu or Park Inn by Radisson hotels. Radisson Blu Edwardian is a privately owned group of 14 hotels, and although we have Radisson Blu in our name, as we are privately owned we are unable to accept the Rezidor Gift Cards as part payment of services offered. Due to the gift cards not being accepted, we therefore offer Radisson Blu Edwardian Gift Cards on our own website. I will be speaking to my Front Office Manager with regard to your feedback and hope we can restore your faith in our brand in the future.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Friendly staff that provides a great service. The rooms are clean and modern and there is a good gym and spa. At the top of High Street it is a little bit away from the city centre, but distances are so short in Guildford that it does not matter.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Pontus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Pontus,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your recent business trip to the area and for taking the time to write your feedback on this site.

I am delighted to hear the staff provided great service and you found the room to be clean, and modern. We are fortunate to have an onsite gym and spa for our guests to enjoy whilst staying. We are roughly a 5 minute walk from the larger retail outlets in the town. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

overall probably wouldn't go back. It would take little for them to improve it to a positive as they have great staff and the place is beautiful at first glance pros . great staff, very helpful and kind . super clean rooms . very beautiful and peaceful looking rooms, very modern . delicious smelling soaps . TV had a ton of chanels, lots to watch cons . tiny rooms, but I think this is normal for the area . no views . All the lights are on the ceiling and point down .. especially crappy in the bathroom where its really hard to see your face. .. Women in particular find it impossible to do makeup on both sides . blow dryer in hallway is very awkward and have the same lighting problems . room cards kept expiring (we had 2 rooms) . ordered room service, had to pay CC at the door rather than sign to room (even though we asked for this to be available) . Back patio was poorly maintained. we were left to sort out the furniture, often bottles and plates left from night before

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Gary,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor and for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your business trip to the area.

Whilst I am delighted to hear that you liked the hotel and the staff were very helpful, I am sorry to hear of the cons you found. Our rooms vary in size and should a room not be big enough, a room move can be arranged subject to availability. The light bulbs have recently been replaced in all the rooms to brighter ones and an additional halogen lamp can be requested should the room not be bright enough. Our electronic key cards are fitted with an strip which will be wiped if it comes into contact with a magnetic source such as a mobile phone. I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused by this. At the time of checking into the hotel, all guests are asked whether they wish to authorise their card for any extras such as room service. If the guest declines, any extras would have to be paid at the time of consumption. I have passed your feedback with regard to the rear Courtyard on to my Food & Beverage Manager to address with her team. I do hope you will consider returning in the future.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Good central location, friendly and helpful staff. Would have preferred an option to book a breakfast inclusive rate, £17.95 for a sausage, egg and toast with a cup of tea was disgraceful - I don't eat a massive breakfast and I'm not alone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Jon,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your visit to the area and for taking the time to write your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear you found the hotels location convenient and the staff were friendly and helpful. All our rates can be booked to either include or exclude breakfast. The entire breakfast buffet is available for £17.75, however we also have a menu which allows guests to order individual items which are priced separately. I do hope you will consider returning to the hotel on a future visit to Guildford.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed there for one night last December and loved everything about the hotel. The room was spacious and stylishly decorated. The bathroom had a bathtub and a shower, which was great. Also, the Polish lady (Ms Natalia) who attended us at the reception was extremely polite and helpful, and made sure we had everything we needed. Would definitely stay in that hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasia_Pisklak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Kasia,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on this site and for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your overnight stay last December.

I am delighted to hear you loved everything about the hotel and the room was to your liking. Thank you for your kind comments about Natalia, who ensures she delivers the very best levels of customer service. My team and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
0.9 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
3.0 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
472 reviews
3.3 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guildford Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guildford Harbour Hotel

Property: Guildford Harbour Hotel
Address: 3 Alexandra Terrace, Guildford GU1 3DA, England (Formerly Radisson Blu Edwardian Guildford Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Guildford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guildford Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bold landmark on Surrey's most celebrated street, Guildford Harbour Hotel, formerly the Radisson Blu Edwardian Guildford gives the town its first 4 star hotel, and with it a stylish new place to meet, eat or retreat to a serene urban spa. Equipped for business but designed for relaxation, the hotel's sleek glass and cool stone fuses with the fabric of the town and brings a new heart to its social scene. Rooms: The hotel's 183 bedrooms are light, spacious and equally good for work or play with contemporary furnishings. All rooms feature generous workspaces with advanced technology, and high speed Wi-Fi is complimentary. Services: The extensive business and concierge services, with complimentary WiFi throughout, makes doing business easy here. A sleek urban spa, well-equipped gym and choice of dining options lining the hotel's open colonnade also make it the perfect place to take time out. Groups & Meetings: Through the hotel's airy lobby, an expansive conference and event space for up to 200 is complemented by three naturally lit smaller rooms, including a sleek boardroom encased in frosted glass. Meeting rooms surround a light-filled central courtyard, ideal for al fresco drinks from the private bar. Dining: The hotel features a stylish restaurant, bar and al fresco terrace. Local Area: Smart boutiques, ornate architecture and glimpses of surrounding hills complete the picture on Guildford's handsome High Street. The city is set in the rolling Surrey Hills, an area of outstanding natural beauty. GLive, Guildford's new £26 million arts venue, is next to the hotel, and the renowned Yvonne Arnaud Theatre is a short walk away. Surrey is also home to some beautiful golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guildford Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guildford Harbour Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing