We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Qaulity and Comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guildford Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Earlsfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Qaulity and Comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

First rate hotel, very enjoyable stay, staff very competent and welcoming. Well decorated room, very comfortable, great to have the choice of bath or shower or both. With excellent complimentry soaps, cream, cotton and ear buds, flannels and nail boards. These are the little items that really add to ones enjoyment and are rarely avialable. Great location and access to a very well stocked gym, not to mention a fantastic breakfast. We hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lennox M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Lennox,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on this site and for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your stay in Surrey.

I am delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, found the hotel to be first rate and offering everything you needed for a comfortable stay. Your review serves as a great motivator to the team who all share a passion for great customer service, and would help other travellers make an informed choice on their accommodation requirements when in the area.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    543
    245
    106
    87
See reviews for
237
672
58
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

I'm writing this on behalf of my mum and step dad who don't know their iPad from their elbow! My mum is disabled and needs to use a walking frame or wheelchair depending on distance. They both had a fantastic time and the Accessible room was perfect, combining luxury with a feeling of comfort safety and security. Steak and Lobster was amazing and they both loved the breakfast. They had a lovely time and felt very spoiled. My thanks to all the staff who looked after them

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DianaR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Diana,

Thank you to your mother and stepdad for again choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel and for you taking the time to write your feedback on this site.

I am delighted to hear we were again able to offer them the highest levels of comfort in one of our accessible bedrooms. I am pleased to hear the Steak & Lobster dinner was to their liking and they were made to feel special by the entire team. We look forward to welcoming them back again on their next visit to Guildford.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

My friend booked this hotel for us and got a good price (£200) for 2 nights not including breakfast. The reception staff are nice and helpful. Our room (160) on the first floor was small and very dark! So dark in fact that we needed to have all the lights on and still found it very difficult to apply our make up without going to the window, rolling the blind right up and opening the voile just to get any idea about how we looked! There are no electric sockets anywhere near the mirrors so we had to work blind on our hair. Not good as we were going to a wedding. The base of my bed was dirty, really showed up as it was black but the bed itself was very comfortable. The carpet finished about an inch before the wall and there was a big cobweb hanging from the ceiling, minor points but just gave the impression of lack of attention to details.

We used the spa area on the first evening as it was complimentary but would have cost us £10 each on a Saturday. The receptionist was not helpful unfortunately and failed to firstly give us a key to lockers and also we had to go out to reception in our swimwear to ask for robe & slippers, not nice. It would have been so simple to greet us at reception with robe, slippers towel, locker key & a smile! You could pay for a massage but we didn't fancy it after the receptionists failure to impress. The facilities were poor, the tiniest pool I have seen in a hotel, we thought it was a warm up pool, you could only do 3 swings of your arms and you were at the other side! There was a sign saying the jets were broken which I had seen other reviews mentioning & there were tiles off. A quiet room which was nice with 6 beds, dim lighting, candles and relaxing music. There were jugs of ice cold water near the sauna and steam room with melon in which were a lovely touch.

We had steak in the evening at the restaurant and although the service wasn't great the steak was absolutely beautiful, highly recommend trying it. We were not happy with them slapping 12.5% service charge on the bill but as we had enjoyed our meal we let it go and paid it.

Guildford is a gorgeous place and the hotel is very central. I would stay at this hotel again purely as it's so close to everything and the food is lovely. Glad we didn't pay anymore for it though.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanessa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Vanessa,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor and for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your mini break.

I am sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with your stay and I have asked the relevant Heads of Departments to look into your feedback immediately and retrain the staff to ensure we are delivering the best possible services to our guests. I am pleased to hear you would stay with us again and I hope you will allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in our brand.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Room 142 was claustrophobic, frosted glass window could not see out and could not open window for fresh air. Not a good nights sleep as banging from corridor door. Dinner was disappointing but breakfast the next morning was ok.

Hotel nothing like as good as the Raddison at Heathrow. Would not stay there again. Checked out after one night but we had booked for two night stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Helen,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your recent stay in the area and for taking the time to write your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am very sorry to hear you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us. There are a few bedrooms on one side of the hotel which we had the requirement to frost at the time of building the hotel, as these look over neighbouring houses and a junior school. This was an instruction from Guildford Borough Council. Since opening the hotel, we have had comments posted on Trip Advisor and other review sites about the frosted windows and I have always responded to these advising the reason for this. As the windows are also locked, we installed a fresh air system throughout the hotel and every room is fitted with an individual air conditioning unit which can be heated or cooled to the guests preference. I have shared your feedback with the team and I am disappointed you will not return and allow us to restore your faith in us.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Hotel staff was professional and courteous. Was greeted with a smile. Room was a bit small, but modern and very well accented. Gym was very useful and well maintained. Staff was very quick to respond to any requests.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Kenneth,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on this site and for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your business trip to Surrey.

I am delighted to hear the staff were professional and courteous and available to assist with any requests you had. Our rooms vary in size and should a room not be big enough, a room move can be arranged subject to availability. I am pleased to hear you found the onsite gym convenient and well maintained. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed at the Radisson Blu in Guildford prior to attending a family wedding. We were fortunate to get a deal rate of £100 per night which made this not much more expensive than rooms in cheaper chains nearby. The hotel was really comfortable, with one of the nicest bathrooms of any hotels I've stayed in. With some chains the lobby and reception areas are spectacular and the rooms are slightly shabby but at the Radisson the room itself was clean and nicely decorated. The hotel is handy for local restaurants - we weren't tempted by the hotel restaurant even for breakfast as it was very pricey, but there are lots of alternatives locally. Staff were really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitstabubble0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel whilst attending a family wedding in the area and for taking the time to write your feedback on this site.

I am delighted to hear you were able to get a good rate for your stay and you found the hotel to be really comfortable. As a new hotel, we are very fortunate with the modern design and ensure that all works are completed as soon as possible so guests get the ‘wow’ factor on arrival. I am sorry to hear we couldn’t tempt you to dine in our new restaurant, Steak & Lobster, as the reviews have been outstanding and we are very proud of the brand. Either a 10oz steak or a whole lobster is priced at £18.00 and it includes French fries and unlimited salad. I do hope that on a future visit you will try the offering.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

I have been visiting this hotel for over 2 years and always a pleasure to stay here. Always have a warm welcome from reception and Jemma in the breakfast room is the most pleasant, efficient staff ever.
I have also hosted a couple of business events in the conference facilities and the on floor staff are just excellent. Really really accommodating and really give professional service. I would have no problem in recommending the venue as a business centre or hosting an event.
Location is good, hotel is nice and clean. Friendly service. Restaurant is good,nice room service, good choice of tv channels. Fine gym. Spa area could be a bit cleaner. Bar closes too early which is a shame. Think you lose a bit of business there.
I always ask for a bathrobe when I check in and it's never a problem.
It's a pleasure to travel for business when staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikitaMeems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Nikita,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor and for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your business trip to the area.

I am delighted to hear you have been staying with us for 2 years and have always enjoyed your time in house. Thank you for the kind comments about our breakfast hostess, Jemma who receives many comments about the great service she provides. I am pleased to hear that whilst hosting business conferences with us, you found the facilities and staff excellent. Your review serves as a great motivator to the team who all share a passion for great customer service, and would help other travellers make an informed choice on their accommodation requirements when in the area.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
0.9 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
3.3 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.0 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guildford Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guildford Harbour Hotel

Property: Guildford Harbour Hotel
Address: 3 Alexandra Terrace, Guildford GU1 3DA, England (Formerly Radisson Blu Edwardian Guildford Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Guildford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guildford Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bold landmark on Surrey's most celebrated street, Guildford Harbour Hotel, formerly the Radisson Blu Edwardian Guildford gives the town its first 4 star hotel, and with it a stylish new place to meet, eat or retreat to a serene urban spa. Equipped for business but designed for relaxation, the hotel's sleek glass and cool stone fuses with the fabric of the town and brings a new heart to its social scene. Rooms: The hotel's 183 bedrooms are light, spacious and equally good for work or play with contemporary furnishings. All rooms feature generous workspaces with advanced technology, and high speed Wi-Fi is complimentary. Services: The extensive business and concierge services, with complimentary WiFi throughout, makes doing business easy here. A sleek urban spa, well-equipped gym and choice of dining options lining the hotel's open colonnade also make it the perfect place to take time out. Groups & Meetings: Through the hotel's airy lobby, an expansive conference and event space for up to 200 is complemented by three naturally lit smaller rooms, including a sleek boardroom encased in frosted glass. Meeting rooms surround a light-filled central courtyard, ideal for al fresco drinks from the private bar. Dining: The hotel features a stylish restaurant, bar and al fresco terrace. Local Area: Smart boutiques, ornate architecture and glimpses of surrounding hills complete the picture on Guildford's handsome High Street. The city is set in the rolling Surrey Hills, an area of outstanding natural beauty. GLive, Guildford's new £26 million arts venue, is next to the hotel, and the renowned Yvonne Arnaud Theatre is a short walk away. Surrey is also home to some beautiful golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Guildford Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guildford Harbour Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing