We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“near home break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“near home break”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed here for a weekend to celebrate a wedding anniversary......when we arrived the receptionist informed us we have a room upgrade..Surprised ! as our boys had rung ahead and got champers card etc put in room for our arrival.
Hotel bar is great barman know there stuff ....Very good in Steak & lobster restaurant (very reasonable prices)could not have been more convenient for all the bars restaurants in town.
Cannot fault rooms or staff would definitely go here again even though its only 30 mins from home.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisinopril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your anniversary celebration and for taking the time to write your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear we were able to organise a bedroom upgrade and surprise items from your sons. I am pleased to hear the bar was to your liking and the barmen were well informed. Your review serves as a great motivator to the team who all share a passion for great customer service, and would help other travellers make an informed choice on their accommodation requirements when in the area.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    579
    263
    118
    92
See reviews for
256
717
64
485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We choose this hotel for the night of our wedding. The staff went out of their way to make sure the stay was amazing. We were given great service and the room had been dressed romantically, we couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 474colinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Colin,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on this site and for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your wedding night accommodation.

I am delighted to hear the staff were on hand to ensure your stay was amazing. We will always strive to surprise and delight our guests and enjoy making people feel special. Congratulations to both of you and I hope we can welcome you back in the future to celebrate more special occasions.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Give this Blu the green light for compact comfort and designer decor. Whether business as usual or a getaway make the most of the amenities and easy access to the High Street. Why 4/5? Choice is abundant, yet better value on the high street and like so many establishments the service is satisfactory, albeit lost in translation at times.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank HadMySay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your business trip to the area and for taking the time to write your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and find the hotel offers everything you needed for a comfortable stay. I am sorry to hear you feel there is better valued dining outlets on the High Street, as our restaurant offers either a 10oz steak or whole lobster for only £18.00 per person and includes a salad and unlimited fries.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We were a party of 12 gentlemen in Guildford for a celebration.
It's a nice new hotel and the rooms comfortable, however, the bar closes at midnight so no chance of a late drink which is very unusual and unwelcome. A pint of beer costs £6 when the bar is open!!!
We opted for breakfast at Giraffe just down the road which was half the price of the hotel and really good.
Finally I have a real gripe, the above just being grumbles!!, some of us wanted a swim this morning and the CHARGE is £10 each to use the hotel pool. Even when we were spending £1000 on rooms for the night.
We feel robbed..!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveCaudle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on this site and for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your celebration accommodation.

Whilst I am delighted to hear you found the rooms comfortable, I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with the experience in the bar. I have asked my Food & Beverage Manager to look into your feedback and ensure that the bar remains open for a reasonable time. Our wet spa area is £10 per person on weekends to ensure that numbers can be kept to a minimum to ensure this area remains a tranquil and relaxing place.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed for two nights last week. All staff extremely friendly and efficient. First impressions very good, room extremely clean and bed very comfortable. Lighting in the room is awful - even with all the lights on I had to put my make-up on by the window with my husband holding the curtain back to get some light into the room! Breakfast was lovely on day one, lots of choice and attentive waiting staff. Next day was a completely different experience, it was very busy, so hardly any attention from waiting staff, hot buffet was not topped up fast enough so lots of empty dishes, tables not cleared etc - such a shame as day one was so good. Big big downside are the bar prices - far too expensive and the service charge is nothing short of being mugged!!!! We were still charged this even when sitting at the bar - why did the bar staff not give us the option to remove this? I notice on other reviews the hotel manager says this can be removed if asked - maybe if this was written more clearly and in a big enough font to read on the bar price menu/receipt, then people would have this unfair charge taken off more often. Unfortunately the extortionate bar prices has marred the experience of staying at the Raddison - hence the average score - this is purely for the overrated bar prices.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Roni,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your visit to the area and for taking the time to write your feedback on this site.

I am delighted to hear all the staff encountered were friendly and efficient and the bedroom was extremely clean and comfortable. I am sorry to hear the lighting was not bright enough to apply your makeup. We have recently replaced the light bulbs and lamp shades to brighten the rooms however we have additional freestanding halogen lamps available on request. I have asked my Head Chef and Food & Beverage Manager to speak with their teams about the second mornings breakfast and I apologise for any inconvenience caused. Our food and beverage prices are continually reviewed to ensure we are in line with our local competitors. All of our menus throughout the hotel clearly display that an optional service charge of 12.5% will be added to all bills. This is again reiterated on the bills which are presented when a guest wishes to pay. We do strive to ensure guests are aware of the optional service charge and if they feel the service has not been to standard, or they wish to tip the waiter individually, they can remove the charge. I do hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The hotel is plushly decorated with large guildford stags at the entrance and on the roof terrace. There is a large library like wall and glass chandeliers within the main entrance area. All in all the decorations are very nice and the hotel has a sumptuous feel. The staff are very friendly and during my few months stay they were always very accomodating and offered a personal welcome each time I arrived. Food is very nice however strangely getting vegetables is almost impossible. The main menu dishes are not accompanied by vegetables and the vegetable side dishes offer soup like liquids or oily stir fry mixtures no sign of fresh vegetables anywhere. However, as the hotel is in such a great location there are many very good restaurants within a 5 minute walk so this is not a real issue. Breakfast is a great selection and all very good. Rooms are a mixture of twin or good sized double beds and are very clean and spacious. They are coloured grey, black and red mainly which can make them look quite dark at times but I personally didnt mind this. Car parking is an additional £10 an evening which I feel is quite unreasonable but there is a public car park directly above the underground private one which is far cheaper.

Room Tip: Do not stay in 141 its right next to the stairs and large fire door which is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leanne2389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Leanne,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on this site and for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your extended stay in Surrey.

I am delighted to hear you like the décor of the hotel and the staff ensured you were made to feel welcome, as you were with us for a long period of time. I have passed your comments about the vegetables on to my Head Chef to look into, as this has not been brought to my attention previously. Our rooms do vary in size, with our smallest rooms being decorated in red and black and our larger rooms in lilac and black. Our secure underground car park is £10 per 24 hours, however there is a municipal pay and display car park next to the hotel should guests prefer to use this. My team and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Staff is amazing esp raul the waiter from steak and lobster restaurant. The food is amzingly yummy!! My husband and i enjoyed our 1 night stay and feel very welcome! Room is very clean and staff is very friendly. Down side is the spa room is not as what i expected. Very small and not as relaxed as what i expected. Other than that we enjoyed our stay. Thank you radisson blu for welcoming us in your hotel. :) raul is a credit to the company!!!!! Thank you once again

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-GFD, General Manager at Guildford Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Mary,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Guildford Hotel for your 10th anniversary and for taking the time to write your feedback on this site.

I am delighted to hear you had a thoroughly enjoyable time with us and found the room to be comfortable. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff and especially Raul, who takes great pride in his work. I am sorry to hear our wet spa area was not what you expected, as many people comment on how they like the smaller and more relaxed space. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Peter Wardley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
712 reviews
0.9 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
3.0 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
466 reviews
3.3 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guildford Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guildford Harbour Hotel

Property: Guildford Harbour Hotel
Address: 3 Alexandra Terrace, Guildford GU1 3DA, England (Formerly Radisson Blu Edwardian Guildford Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Guildford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guildford Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bold landmark on Surrey's most celebrated street, Guildford Harbour Hotel, formerly the Radisson Blu Edwardian Guildford gives the town its first 4 star hotel, and with it a stylish new place to meet, eat or retreat to a serene urban spa. Equipped for business but designed for relaxation, the hotel's sleek glass and cool stone fuses with the fabric of the town and brings a new heart to its social scene. Rooms: The hotel's 183 bedrooms are light, spacious and equally good for work or play with contemporary furnishings. All rooms feature generous workspaces with advanced technology, and high speed Wi-Fi is complimentary. Services: The extensive business and concierge services, with complimentary WiFi throughout, makes doing business easy here. A sleek urban spa, well-equipped gym and choice of dining options lining the hotel's open colonnade also make it the perfect place to take time out. Groups & Meetings: Through the hotel's airy lobby, an expansive conference and event space for up to 200 is complemented by three naturally lit smaller rooms, including a sleek boardroom encased in frosted glass. Meeting rooms surround a light-filled central courtyard, ideal for al fresco drinks from the private bar. Dining: The hotel features a stylish restaurant, bar and al fresco terrace. Local Area: Smart boutiques, ornate architecture and glimpses of surrounding hills complete the picture on Guildford's handsome High Street. The city is set in the rolling Surrey Hills, an area of outstanding natural beauty. GLive, Guildford's new £26 million arts venue, is next to the hotel, and the renowned Yvonne Arnaud Theatre is a short walk away. Surrey is also home to some beautiful golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guildford Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guildford Harbour Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing