We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in the South East”

Guildford's Yvonne Arnaud Theatre
Ranked #12 of 67 things to do in Guildford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A real gem in the South East”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great shows with top quality actors quite often. Nice restaurant too. not a lot of legroom though especially in the circle.

Helpful?
3 Thank TJD744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    57
    19
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous little theatre.”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I love this place, it is so full of character, serves good coffee and snacks and is a great place to visit. The theatre is superbe and the people who run the place are enthusiastic and knowledgeable.

Helpful?
3 Thank stephenshelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Poor food, poor service, drab show”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We had booked to see "Neighbourhood Watch" and decided to eat at the Theatre Restaurant before the show. We were told that the restaurant was under new management - new chef, new waiters, etc. The welcome was good, the Maitre D seating us at a nice table by the window looking onto the river Wey, taking our coats to the cloakroom and arranging for our orders to be taken. From then it was all downhill. The food was mediocre at best - dried out salmon, soggy, tasteless vegetables - and then the service disappeared! We had to resort to chasing up our waitress to get coffee in time to see the performance. The staff are new and very raw - need alot more training - and the kitchen needs to get away from making food for hospitals to providing a delight for its dinner guests.
The show was a very obvious, un-exhilarating story of neighbourhood life with sideways swipes at various holy cows (police, security, religion, morals, etc). Well acted by the two leads, but producing occasional polite, very English, embarrassed laughs, for the most part. A disappointment.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SKIClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A beautiful theatre by the river Wey”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I went with my son to see Three Days on May with Warren Clarke prior to it going to the West End theatre, consequently our tickets were just over half of what they would have been in London for the same play. Yvonne Arnaud theatre is a delightful theatre with a capacity of almost 600. There is a good restaurant or a private bar with food for members. In the summer there is a stunning setting overlooking the River Wey, to enjoy a drinks or snack prior to the show. So much easier than trudging up to London and half the cost. Why not try it, I have been there a dozen times and never been disappointed, i wish I could say the same for some of the over hyped shows I have seen in London with £60 seats!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Ace-Events
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
2,619 reviews
903 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6,666 helpful votes
“Very good theatre.”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Built 1965 (and it shows) on a near perfect site amongst the river, this very well managed and presented local theatre goes from strength to strength as a producing and receiving house. Many things every year worth going to see and rarely if ever disappoints.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Jannerbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guildford's Yvonne Arnaud Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Guildford's Yvonne Arnaud Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing