We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Handy Guildford Town Centre Pub”
Review of The Keep

The Keep
Ranked #111 of 283 Restaurants in Guildford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very Handy Guildford Town Centre Pub”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Excellent pub for lunch and a good choice of excellent beer (and wine) while doing the Christmas shopping in Guildford

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peterdlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    27
    2
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“worst meal in 12 years”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I went to the keep on the 5th of November 2013 I was on my own the atmosphere was very nice as was the setting, I ordered the soup of the day and the chicken curry, after a while both courses came together,I should have sent my main course back but decided not to, having had my starter,which was ok ,I tucked into the curry ,this was very bland and the rice was like stodge so very un pleasant, I left most of this dish and will not be going back

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Pub Lunch”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I recently took friends visiting from USA here for lunch and we all enjoyed our home cooked lunch. The barman gave us a warm welcome and our food arrived in good time. Although I've lived in the area for many years this was my visit to The Keep...i shall definitely go when next time town. Thank you

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scarletsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceredigion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Guildford is full of good pubs but none better than this!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We visit this lovely little pub every single time we shop in Guildford.
We love the small comfortable cosy feel about it along with the friendly welcome you get when you walk in!
We were there yesterday 26th Oct and had lunch along with a couple of well kept draft beers and fantastic draft
cloudy cider! I must compliment the quality of the really tasty and great value food too! Please don't change a thing with this gem!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Sadly the standards have dropped.”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have written a Trip Advisor report on The Keep back in March of this year when at the time it was very good unfortunately it’s gone downhill a lot since then, on this visit there were two of us who entered the pub together at around 12 noon we ordered and paid together so we were more than a little displeased to get our meal in dribs and drabs, first one main then after a wait the side of fries then after complaining and another wait the other main arrived, then we find the advertised onion gravy was just plain gravy, there was onions on the plate but that does not make it onion gravy ! The special’s board had three dishes on it that were not available at all, surely it’s not difficult to remove them with a swift wipe of a cloth instead the table beside us had given their order and sat down with their drinks before being told they would have to change their order. It’s such a shame to see the standards drop so much in what was a cosy little pub that had so much going for it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Keep also viewed

 
Guildford, Surrey
 

Been to The Keep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing