We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Watts Chapel

Watts Chapel
Ranked #1 of 63 things to do in Guildford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Landscape, art and remembrance are beautifully blended together in this Grade I-listed building. Visitors are drawn to the bright red brick of this Arts & Crafts masterpiece. Up-close, the extraordinary design and decoration both fascinate and overwhelm all who venture up the winding yew tree paths.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

A lovely little chapel, and adjacent cloisters, which can be visited in conjunction with the nearby Watts Gallery.

Take care walking between the two, the narrow road lacks a footpath in a couple of places.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OffshoreAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    62
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gallery in Guildford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I could not believe this place when I saw it last week - just stunning. A real hidden jewel with some outstanding sculptures and paintings by Mr Watts himself. Hugely recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ThomasViaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Well worth the detour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We saw this place featured on a BBC4 programme quite some time ago and decided to visit when the opportunity arose. We finally had the chance when we were travelling to Heathrow. In the village follow the signs to the Watts Gallery which is also worth a visit. The chapel was built as a memorial to the painter G.F.Watts by his wife and is a marvellous example of the Arts and Crafts style. Words and photos do not do it justice as what at first glance looks like a painting is actually three dimensional, made of gesso then painted. The building itself and the surroundings are made of terra cotta and are marvellous examples.
We were very glad that we had made the effort: it was better than anything that we saw in the following two weeks in Italy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AnotherEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a jewel hidden away at the top of a hill in a most peaceful graveyard. Small, intimate, quiet, I found it one of the most moving places I've visited recently. Sitting alone (it was early on a Sunday and the visitors were few and far between), as the sun drifted through the windows and splashed glorious beams of light all around the chapel, I was filled with emotion. This tiny chapel, built with love, passion, dedication and care, has a resonance all its own. It's a somewhere everyone should know about but no-one should be told about. A powerful place. A wonderful place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MellorCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Incredible achievement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

For a tiny business to have become one of renown and quality in such a short time is real credit to the team who have achieved this.
All the food privately produced and really high quality for very erasable prices

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Watts Chapel also viewed

 

Been to Watts Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing