We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Pub”

The Star Inn Restaurant
Ranked #70 of 284 Restaurants in Guildford
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: British
Description: We've been entertaining the people of Guildford for more than 400 years and we're proud to say that we're the area’s longest-running live music venue, showcasing some excellent acts including The Stranglers, who performed their first ever gig here! Close to the vibrant shopping district, river and Guildford Castle, our 16th century pub is split over three levels and has been refurbished to the highest standards while maintaining many historic features. With a real fire, an intimate courtyard garden and a host of snug and cosy corners, it is a great place to relax, soak up the atmosphere and enjoy traditional pub food and distinctive cask ales. We even reputedly have our own ghost – a man in uniform who sometimes chats to guests! Why not pop over to see us all soon...
Restaurant details
Description: We've been entertaining the people of Guildford for more than 400 years and we're proud to say that we're the area’s longest-running live music venue, showcasing some excellent acts including The Stranglers, who performed their first ever gig here! Close to the vibrant shopping district, river and Guildford Castle, our 16th century pub is split over three levels and has been refurbished to the highest standards while maintaining many historic features. With a real fire, an intimate courtyard garden and a host of snug and cosy corners, it is a great place to relax, soak up the atmosphere and enjoy traditional pub food and distinctive cask ales. We even reputedly have our own ghost – a man in uniform who sometimes chats to guests! Why not pop over to see us all soon...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Pub”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Found this by chance on a night out in Guildford. Even though it was a Friday night and quite busy, service at the bar was quick and friendly. There was a good choice of drinks, though we stayed on the Spitfire all night (very nice!). We found the juke box and ended up putting a fair bit of money in it. The bar staff turned the music up for us, but the volume was still at a level that you could have a decent conversation without shouting. As we were only drinking here we can't comment on the food.overall a very enjoyable experience and we will return if we're ever in the neighbourhood.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotsmanc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    30
    10
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The roast was not roasted!”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Great choice of beer but the food was terrible. When we got there the board said we had a choice of three meats.....but they only had chicken left when we ordered. When we got the food the potatoes were deep fried and so was the parsnips. The chicken was butterflied and griddled ......not roasted......and the griddle marks on the over cooked chicken were burnt and bitter. This for 9 quid each. Not good value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bustlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A true pub!”
Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

Nice to see this in Guildford! Makes a good change from all the trendy wine bars and coffee shops. Great, simple pub food, not dressed up. Excellent ale, try the spitfire really well kept.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leew1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Not for Sunday roasts!”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We both had a Sunday roast, and both chose beef; it has to be said that the beef itself was fine. After that it went rapidly downhill. The vegetables, obviously frozen, had been boiled to within an inch of their life, and so were entirely tasteless, and the "roast" potatoes may have seen the inside of an oven, but not for long enough to cook them, let alone brown them. The biggest surprise was what were meant to be Yorkshire puddings; the basic mixture was probably right, but they hadn't been cooked properly, so they were circular flat slabs of part-cooked batter. We wondered if the cook had ever seen a Yorkshire pudding, or was relying on an inadequate description. One of the glasses in which we were served our drinks was very dirty - and when we returned it the bars staff emptied the drink and then tried to refill the same, dirty, glass! Not an experience we shall wish to repeat!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corby
Level Contributor
180 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stopped off here late afternoon for some food, mainly because the pub down the road had stopped serving food, but The Star was right on the corner of the main road so we pulled in the car park and headed in.
Pleasant interior with a few locals in with time on their hands. The food was cooked from scratch so a bit of a wait but it was worth it. Piping hot food on a nice hot plate. Excellent location to dine with a reasonable selection of beer. We will be calling in again when down that way.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bertthefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Star Inn Restaurant also viewed

Guildford, Surrey
 
Guildford, Surrey
 

Been to The Star Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing