We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbelievable”
Review of Highbourne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guildford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highbourne
Ranked #7 of 22 Guildford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My parents booked to stay here for my graduation and unfortunately there wasn't room for my sister, boyfriend and i to stay so we booked somewhere else. That somewhere else turned out to be a horrific hostel. with tears i rang my parents who in turn rang "Jane" the owner of Highbourne who managed to find us room in her home. I cannot express the absolute splendour of both the house and the hostess who was friendly, welcoming and wonderfully helpful. we had an absolutely dream of a stay and i am desperate to stay again! beautiful gardens, lovely easy hostess, amazing luxury rooms, affordable price and easy access to city. You cannot go wrong!!

Room Tip: all rooms beautiful, especially ones at very top of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickiehobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

From the moment my parents and I arrived at Highbourne and met the lovely Jane Derbyshire, who made us feel at home straight away, we knew we'd made the right choice. We'd come to Guildford for my niece's graduation from Surrey University last month and couldn't face a run of the mill hotel chain in the centre of town. Jane's home is beautiful, very tastefully furnished, spotlessly clean, light and airy. Our bedrooms were very comfortable with every need catered for; hairdryer, White Company robes, fresh water, etc, etc. Jane even gave us a lift into the centre of town where we were meeting other members of the family. I'd love to return and stay sometime and would certainly recommend Highbourne to anyone visiting Guildford - it's a real gem of a place!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fordg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I felt that Jane really went out of her way to listen to me and make me feel at home. I liked the fact that I could leave my bedroom door open and go out without worrying about security. The room was great and the bed was very comfy. The bathroom was great being private and had a nice big bath. Then in the morning I had lovely breakfasts with cereal and toast. The whole house was very big, very clean and a great pleasure to stay in. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast and if you want someone who listens to you then try Jane. She is exceptional and has a lovely smile.

Room Tip: All rooms are good so make sure you don't mind them being big and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greengrass1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I needed somewhere to stay while working in Guildford town center in 2012. For an upmarket town, Guildford seems lacking in quality (centrally placed) accommodation but luckily after trying a couple of other places I found Highbourne.

Jane is a wonderful host and the rooms are clean and spacious with comfortable beds. Add to that wifi, a great breakfast and a short walk to the town center and it's easy to see why, after an original booking of 2 nights, I went on to practically live there for half the year!

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Highbourne is a beautiful place to stay within walking distance of the lovely city of Guildford
The rooms are bright,clean and peaceful and the host,Jane,is charming.
Breakfast is excellent and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjr65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
6.6 mi away
Hurtwood Hotel Bed & Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
389 reviews
1 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
750 reviews
3.3 mi away
Worplesdon Place
Worplesdon Place
#2 of 2 in Worplesdon
404 reviews
3.1 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbourne

Address: 12 Guildown Avenue, Guildford GU2 4HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Guildford
Price Range: £60 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the discerning. A 5 star substantial, modern, four storey home in a beautiful tranquil avenue situated in a commanding position in mature grounds, with beautiful views. A ten minute walk to Guildford town Centre, with its rich heritage, cultural events and excellent shopping. Countryside walks and local pub are easily accessible.Guests enjoy continental breakfast.Three spacious double bedrooms of a high standard with ensuite and private bathroom. Tea/coffee making facilities, TV, WiFi ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highbourne Guildford, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing