We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed & confused.”

Guildford Spectrum Leisure Complex
Ranked #17 of 63 things to do in Guildford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spectrum is the most advanced facility of its type in the UK with its extensive array of sport, leisure and entertainment pursuits all under one roof.
worthing
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed & confused.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Arrived at 10:30am to take my son swimmng, waited 2hrs for the pools to open, asked for tickets to all pools ect, started lane swimming then advised to vacate but welcome to return in 1hr 30mins as our ticket didn't include that pool at that time, decide to teach my son to dive, sorry that pool is closed until 4:00, so into the pool with sides, after 20mins he'd had enough, 2hrs traveling time & £15 for not swimming and a couple of slides.
Waste of time, will not return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnyWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    98
    48
    34
    44
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent mix of facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

25m pool, kids pool, diving pool, ice skating, bowling, courts for badminton etc. Gym and spa bath. Great place to work out and socialise

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windlesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wide variety of excellent activities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Lots to do here with a wide variety of holiday courses and activities for the kids. There is a Wimpy if you need a quick bite but the service is really slow so it's a much better bet to go to Costas upstairs. Excellent facilities including a leisure pool and bowling. Car parking can be a bit of an issue at peak times so try to leave extra time if possible. Overall a great venue.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Tired, and the Wimpy should be shut”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We took a group of 4 ice skating. In so far this place has a car park, an ice rink, and a place to hire skates it's OK. The staff on the ice are pleasant, and the rink wasn't too busy.

Then there is the rest of the facility. Tired, dirty, utilitarian, dark, smelly, with no seating, and sheets of splintery ply wood covering up the benches round the rink. I once went to a stadium in Warsaw in 1990 that clearly was run by the same crowd.

But, save the best bit for the Wimpy. As there is no seating, I was forced to retire there to buy a cup of coffee to use their seating, with a view of the ice. The place is a tip. The area behind the counter is stacked with open food containers, packaging spilling on the floor, the coffee machine isn't working so £1.99 buys a spoonful of tesco coffee in a paper cup and a tot of creamer. The staff are surly, the place should be bulldozed and something that looks faintly like a venue where you might want to eat or drink built in its place. I saw better in post-Soviet Eastern Europe.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Soutanglie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lots to do but needs a referb”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

My family and I use the Spectrum quite a lot through the year, for swimming, bowling, skating, holiday clubs and birthday parties. Always lots to do especially on a rainy day and we use the loyalty card which means we get a free swim or skate from time to time. The only downside is I'm starting to notice how tired the building is looking inside in lots of places. Some of the skates and bowling shoes are now becoming quite worn down and even uncomfy to wear as well as the whole place looking like it needs a lick of paint, which when you take into account how how much the ticket prices are, doesn't really seem fair.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank bluejeansmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guildford Spectrum Leisure Complex also viewed

 

Been to Guildford Spectrum Leisure Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing