We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue but ...”
Review of G Live

G Live
Ranked #10 of 67 things to do in Guildford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: G Live has been developed as a contemporary state-of-the-art entertainment and concert hall. The light-filled, spacious foyers house the G Live Cafe-Bar which offers bistro-style daytime food and the elegent Mezzanine Restaurant, which offers pre-show dining. Free Wi-Fi is also available throughout the building.G Live aims to set the standard for the finest live entertainment in Surrey with an events programme to suit all tastes. Shows include an exciting mix of West End musicals, live music, ballet. comedy, classical concerts and famous faces.
London
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great venue but ...”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

.. this place is really trying to be too many things at the same time. Over the last few years we have seen several gigs here : ballet, music, comedy and awards ceremonies. Unfortunately, I find the seating is not all that good, and does not really give you much comfort, or the atmosphere you expect for a ballet. Fine for comedy though ... overall a good and functional venue, just a little clinical really ...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThomasViaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    86
    23
    13
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bletchingley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great venue shame about the restaurant”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We've enjoyed several concerts at G Live. It's a very convenient location with good parking and we'd always promised ourselves a meal in the Mezzanine restaurant before a concert. Last night I took my daughter to see the Moscow Ballet for a birthday treat and booked to eat in the restaurant. Maybe 6.15 wasn't early enough for a one course meal as the food did not arrive until 7.20 and when it did arrive it was very disappointing. Dried up red cabbage, dried chunk of Sweet potato and very fatty duck breast and at £15.95 I wouldn't say it was good value for money. The Wine and champagne were good but the water never arrived! Such a shame.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLiveGuildford, General Manager at G Live, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
We’re very sorry to read of your poor experience on the 4th of March. It goes without saying that this is not the standard we normally deliver, and would be happy to discuss this with you further. Please do drop us an email at marketing@glive.co.uk as we would love the opportunity to put this right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Book an aisle seat near an exit if you want a drink”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great auditorium. Good booking system. Light, fresh and airy foyer. They struggle to manage the interval bar service, so unless you want a warm G&T, or someone to "accidentally" drink your drinks, I suggest you book near an exit, and leg it to the bar pronto.

You can take your drinks in with you, but it needs to be a plastic container, so make sure you ask for plastic if you want to drink in the auditorium or otherwise you queue twice...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sublime Concert”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

A wonderful concert with excellent acoustics! seats very comfortable and roomy. One negative-could stage be less warehouse like when a chamber orchestra is performing- plants, soft curtains perhaps.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LaceyJane2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great venue with good parking nearby”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Great medium sized venue with good facilities and big car park. Reasonable bar too. Not far from the rail station so great if you'd rather not drive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to G Live? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing