We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I booked a triple room for myself and two friends to stay in, as we were staying in Guildford for my birthday. The room was a great size (5 of us got ready in there!) and was lovely and clean. We also managed to get a great deal meaning we only paid £20 each to stay overnight. The only downside was the cupboard sized bathroom, but it wasn't a deal breaker!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed for 1 night only in room number 45 which it's adjacent to the stairs down to the basement area. People returning drunk going from room to room along the corridors. I finally got off to sleep at 2:30, I contemplated leaving around 2am due to the noise above my room; that was just foot traffic. The room was tiny for a double.

The bar area was nice, but you pay for it...

Room Tip: Don't stay in 45!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariox1us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The hotel walls are paper thin, there was a function on last night & it went on till 12 & then there was a mixture of drunk people just arguing in the hall ways till 4am. Complained to the management & they said sorry but did nothing else. I fine this place probably fine to stay if you have a stag or hen do coming up & sleep is the last thing you need.
Nice looking place but it's all the gear with no idea!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank MrChelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Good hotel in Guildford, I was fortunate to be upgraded when hotel was full. The whole stay was comfortable, room very very clean, well done to the house staff. Reception good.
Breakfast was better than the norm, lovely sausage! Downside thought the bar shut to early, there was a lot of customers spending and enjoying themselves, but the 4 bar staff just shut up shop?
There is a small free car parking at the front, so book in early, otherwise you have to pay £7 for rear car park. One of my friends parked in the road opposite, and during the night had his car keyed! Overall pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for new build
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gordonede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

For the third year running I have hosted a charity night in aid of Breast Cancer at the Mandolay Hotel. It was attended by 280 Ladies. We had a champagne reception, 3 course dinner plus entertainment.......tribute act and disco.
The staff were amazing, so helpful and friendly and really contributed to the night being a huge success . Everyone agreed the food was delicious and beautifully presented.
It's a great venue for hosting large fund raising events.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Whitlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
0.1 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#4 of 11 in Guildford
2,038 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#5 of 11 in Guildford
778 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
609 reviews
0.5 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
3.3 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 36-40 London Road, Guildford GU1 2AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
Price Range: £69 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the heart of the delightful town centre of Guildford The Mandolay offers everything you should expect from a modern yet traditional hotel. Independently owned, The Mandolay couples exceptional service with first class facilities and our 76 comfortable bedrooms and exceptional meeting facilities make us the obvious choice for business visitors. For those seeking a leisurely break or family get-together we work closely with many local attractions and we are proud members of Visit Surrey, the organization dedicated to promoting our beautiful county. Free unrestricted wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and we have over 900 international TV channels free of charge. Our range of dining options include coffee shop and bar menu to full restaurant service and whatever your reason for visiting The Mandolay we look forward to making your stay with us as enjoyable as possible...Limited pay & display parking is available on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandolay Hotel Guildford
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre Guildford, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing