We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Close to all amenities in Guildford town centre. Great atmosphere in the bar area. Friendly staff. High quality breakfast ingredients especially sausages. Very attractive decor in the rooms. Excellent all round.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DANDD69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guildfordhotel, Public Relations Manager at Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
We are extremely grateful for your very kind comments, thank you for taking the time to post them. It was particularly heartening to read your opinions of the hotel decor, the recent decoration is just part of our ongoing series of improvements to the fabric of the building and we are delighted that these changes are being noticed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    209
    149
    92
    80
See reviews for
101
219
46
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hockwold cum Wilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed on top floor in room facing the road. We heard no road noise. We stayed on a Sunday night, Monday morning traffic was not heard.
Hotel staff were very polite and professional, allowed us to park car out front of the hotel before we checked in. Bar staff helpfull and polite, we did not have breakfast as I feel £12 is far to much.
We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreggLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guildfordhotel, Manager at Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for leaving your review, I will make sure that the staff in each of the departments you mention are made fully aware of your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Wanted an overnight crash pad and this place was perfect. Free [limited] parking. Tonnes of rooms so last minute didnt matter, good bar, nice[ however small] room, clean and quiet to say its on abusy ish road with a good shower. enough said. Would happily go back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsw_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here for one night while attending a wedding nearby, and I must say we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was just a few minutes taxi ride from Guildford station; I can't really comment on the surrounding area as we didn't venture out (except for the wedding). Check in was quick and the staff efficient and helpful; best of all, our rooms were ALL ready (3 different couples) at 11am, which was enormously helpful as we needed to get ready for the wedding.

Our room was great (number 83, junior suite in the loft) - well worth paying a little bit extra for, and very spacious and quiet. The bed was comfortable, although the pillows were maybe a bit thin; the rooms also do get a little hot (our friends on a lower floor had a similar issue). The room was quiet and we didn't hear a sound from adjacent rooms (which is one of my biggest pet hates), although this may have had a lot to do with the room layout: the only "shared" wall was at the back of the bathroom. There was no safe in the room, but there was an iron and ironing board which was very useful; not sure whether there was a hairdryer as I did not wash my hair whilst there. Tea/coffee making facilities were fine, and the shortbread biscuits were a godsend for midnight munchies. Breakfast in the morning was very good, with plenty of variety in my opinion (although we only sampled the hot breakfast options: eggs, bacon, sausage, tomatoes, beans, hash browns). While very busy, the staff seemed to cope well and smile at the same time (even the chef in the kitchen greeted us cheerily); the manager was visibly involved in making sure things ran smoothly.

Overall we were very impressed with this hotel, and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and go for a junior suite; well worth it. Room 83 was on the top floor and at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GT_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I was surprise to find out that my room was much spacious due to roof system. The food quality was excellent. the breakfast table lacks more options, but manageable. The room was clean and speckless. It was close to main road, hence it was to try other restrauant in this area. Overall value for money hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basheerus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

An average hotel that does the job.. Staff seem friendly enough.. Slight imperfections really put me off...

Bring your own spoons and mugs for in room tea.. Mine were FILTHY so much so I refused to drink out of them..

My room was big enough and there was no noise complaints.. The heating in the room has a mind of its own but luckily a fan was provided...

Overall it's an OK stay..

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Hotel was clean and room was comfortable if a little on the small side. Perfectly adequate for a nights stay. Located at the top of the high street within easy walking distance of restaurants and bars. Breakfast was steep at £12 so we walked down the road to Bills for a more reasonable and tasty alternative. Be aware they advertise limited parking but have a car park at the back that they charge £7 a night for. Would stay again after a night out if reasonably priced (paid £79 for a double on booking.com) but not worth it for full price when there is a Radison not far away.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
0.1 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
1.0 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.5 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#2 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
3.1 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 36-40 London Road, Guildford GU1 2AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the heart of the delightful town centre of Guildford The Mandolay Hotel offers everything you should expect from a modern yet traditional hotel. Independently owned, The Mandolay Hotel couples exceptional service with first class facilities and our 72 comfortable bedrooms and exceptional meeting facilities make us the obvious choice for business visitors. For those seeking a leisurely break or family get-together we work closely with many local attractions and we are proud members of Visit Surrey, the organization dedicated to promoting our beautiful county. Free unrestricted wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and we have over 900 international TV channels free of charge. We have a range of dining options from coffee shop and bar menu to full restaurant service and we are committed to using locally sourced produce wherever possible. Whatever your reason for visiting The Mandolay Hotel we look forward to making your stay with us as enjoyable as possible... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandolay Hotel Guildford
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre Guildford, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing