We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Compact but comfortable”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

I booked a double room as the singles looked very small and it was just as well judging by the room I got. The double was tiny, as was the bathroom. However it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The price was on the high side but the WiFi was free which was good and what I really liked was the power points at the side of the bed so everything could be charged at the same time and I didn't have to scramble about on the floor looking for the outlets. The room was also well lit which is another plus.
Breakfast was, again, on the expensive side but cooked fresh. I was sorry I didn't get a chance to try the dinner menu as one of my favourites was on offer, rabbit with prunes, and you don't find that on many menu's. Would I return - not sure.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Deena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    210
    153
    92
    81
See reviews for
103
222
46
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We arrived late on a Friday evening after a hectic 6.5 hour journey from Newcastle. There isn't enough parking at the front of the hotel so we had to park near the back which wasn't a problem unless you aren't happy to pay a £7 parking charge. The rooms were pleasant inside but very small for 2 people. During Friday night we had a reasonable nights sleep and the breakfast the following morning was good quality with waitress service. However on the Saturday night when we returned at around 10pm there was a wedding and another event taking place at the hotel. There were people staggering drunk through the hotel with alcohol spilt all over their shirts and there were doors slamming and people being very loud up until about 4am. The next day at breakfast it was very full and rather than the table service we received the day before the cooked breakfast was buffet style and there were not as many options available. Quote disappointing, particularly for my mother and father in law who live in Guildford and had chosen the hotel to stay in following the renewal of their wedding vows that day. They probably would have just stayed at home!
I would say the hotel was reasonable but ask if there are any events booked before you stay as this really did make the experience from the first to the second evening differ quite dramatically!!
On the positive side It takes about 10 minutes to walk into Guildford centre so is well placed for restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Maybe go for one of the rooms that aren't in the main hotel complex as it could be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Well if I smell of horses its because I slept in the coach house!! Joking. This centrally placed hotel has lots of excentric characteristics. Its obviously been expanded over the years into a conference center but has managed to keep an eye and a good one of the usual customer who is not at a conference, like me.
The horse and I got on well although it was a little cramped, but the location, the staff and the welcome were great. No salt licks for breakfast but a good and flexible fry up with the best of ingredients. Pity about the tinned fruits not being fresh but then!!!!!!
A fine place to go for work like me or for a break.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
377 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We made a short visit for a showaround for a potential group visit later in the year. We were very impressed by the friendliness of the staff (predominantly Eastern European) who went out of their way to make us feel at home.
Excellent parking at the hotel which is very near to the extremely attractive city centre of Guildford. We were shown several rooms of which some had been recently renovated. all were clean and comfortable and of a reasonable size. Some had attractive outlooks on to the gardens.

Room Tip: Try and avoid being over the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The hotel had a lovely welcome to it. With parking a great asset. Staff were friendly and helpful. We has 2 rooms, both lovely and clean and up to date. Rooms 16/17 at the front of Hotel. A little on the small size but we only slept there so not a problem. The rooms were above the bar/restaurant so we did hear the bass of the music for a while and people leaving but this was short lived ,so bear this in mind if given these rooms. We booked breakfast which was lovely although the bacon and sausages were cold, server had gone cold? Otherwise plenty of choice. The location to the town was only minutes away. Overall an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Slight noise from rooms at front from bar/restaurant si if you want an early night request one at ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Travelled to Christmas party held at this hotel. Very comfortable room, spacious bedroom, small shower room but perfectly adequate for overnight stay. Christmas party was fun. Very large room so many people to feed! Food was good for this type of function. Breakfast was great, so much choice and it all tasted delicious. Secure parking available for £7 per night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
0.1 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#6 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
1.0 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.5 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
3.1 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 36-40 London Road, Guildford GU1 2AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the heart of the delightful town centre of Guildford The Mandolay Hotel offers everything you should expect from a modern yet traditional hotel. Independently owned, The Mandolay Hotel couples exceptional service with first class facilities and our 72 comfortable bedrooms and exceptional meeting facilities make us the obvious choice for business visitors. For those seeking a leisurely break or family get-together we work closely with many local attractions and we are proud members of Visit Surrey, the organization dedicated to promoting our beautiful county. Free unrestricted wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and we have over 900 international TV channels free of charge. We have a range of dining options from coffee shop and bar menu to full restaurant service and we are committed to using locally sourced produce wherever possible. Whatever your reason for visiting The Mandolay Hotel we look forward to making your stay with us as enjoyable as possible... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandolay Hotel Guildford
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre Guildford, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing