We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but a number of issues” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Miami
Level Contributor
990 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 486 helpful votes
“Great location but a number of issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our company booked 13 rooms here in July for a business event near by. It was very hot in England and there is no air conditioning so the rooms while they have a fan were very hot indeed and it was hard to sleep with the windows open due to the noise made by traffic and staff coming and going at all hours. When I checked in to my room, the toilet in my room had not been flushed! That was a first for me. I was too jet lagged to complain and just flushed it myself. Also my bathroom sink backed up twice during my stay which was aggravating. Another staff member from my company had no room when he checked in despite the fact we had prepaid all the rooms. This was resolved fortunately. Breakfast was included in our room rate but be advised it is quite pricey - some of the breakfast staff are good and some are not so good - part of the issue is that English is not their first language so there is a real language barrier. My first morning I asked for the full English breakfast with coffee and ten minutes later got two poached eggs on a plate by themselves with nothing else! Coffee got cold in the pots very quickly (the hotel should invest in some good thermoses) and our team was constantly asking for refills just because the hot drinks got cold so quickly. There is a nice continental breakfast option along with great bread for making toast.
The reception staff (especially Simon the night manager) and particularly the bar staff were all great. There is a nice drinks terrace outside which we used quite a bit. There is no safe in the room. The best part is the location - minutes walk from lots of great pubs and restaurants in Guildford high street which was huge for us as we could walk to dinner each night and back again. The hotel is trying hard but it has a few areas that really need improvement.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mwooduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    207
    148
    90
    80
See reviews for
101
215
45
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Good Value clean and with all mod cons. Enjoyed stay at this hotel. Close to centre so no need for a taxi to get to all the good eatery's. Good parking and Breakfast is made to order and very nice indeed. Well stocked bar and freindly staff. Could do with some Airconditioning in the heat, however I asked for a fan and two where placed in my room before returning to bed. Great service. Have and will return again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeDeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
151 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stopped by as we were looking at property in the area and needed lunch. The young lady on the bar was incredibly attentive and polite beyond words. Lunch was delayed by a 'technical issue' in the kitchen, but without any words of complaint passing our lips the GM visited our table and offered us a discount. When it did arrive the food was excellent. If we do move into the area....we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTourist66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Firstly they over charged mr by £100, but refunded me straight away and was full of apologies, mistakes do happen and i don't hold any grudges against them for this!

The hotel looks lovely form outside and is only a short work from London Road Train Station - which was a nice surprise!

On arrival they were apologetic about the over charge and upgraded us for free to the Executive Suite which was nice.

Rooms were spacious with tea and coffee facilities.

I would have liked the room to have had some sort of climate control or air conditioning as it was very hot outside when we stayed there.

Parking was limited and as this is a wedding hotel, expect the odd Bride running around :)

Breakfast was £15 each, so we decided to walk in to Guilford town and had breakfast at a local pub for £6 each :)

The walk into town takes only 5 minutes! so it's ideally situated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deefadog06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euxton
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel has a great location in the centre of Guildford so if traveling on business you can get out for dinner without a taxi. Hotel public areas are nice and modern but try to avoid a room in the lower floors as they get hot and can be small. If you have the budget upgrade to the better rooms!

Good parking but avoid the spaces under the trees at the front ( behind hotel is better)

Stayed here on a number of occasions

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank callcentreboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guildford
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I ordered a sandwich from the bar menu, when it arrived the bread was what I would expect at a greasy spoon for breakfast, very thick, ideal for a greasy spoon not for a supposedly premier hotel in Guildford
the lettuce was very brown, when I pointed this out I was told - it's just the colour of the different leaves, no it is lettuce that has been sitting around and has gone off and you shouldn't try to fool customers like that
the beef was tasteless and for a charge of £7 was certainly not worth it

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank babetteGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guildford hotels

Beith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Booked here at short notice and was pleasantly surprised set the hotel. My room was small but otherwise comfortable. Bathroom was clean and functional. Food from room service was quick and tasty. I'd stay again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonsiouxsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
0.1 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
1.1 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.5 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#2 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
3.1 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 36-40 London Road, Guildford GU1 2AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the heart of the delightful town centre of Guildford The Mandolay Hotel offers everything you should expect from a modern yet traditional hotel. Independently owned, The Mandolay Hotel couples exceptional service with first class facilities and our 72 comfortable bedrooms and exceptional meeting facilities make us the obvious choice for business visitors. For those seeking a leisurely break or family get-together we work closely with many local attractions and we are proud members of Visit Surrey, the organization dedicated to promoting our beautiful county. Free unrestricted wireless internet is available throughout the hotel and we have over 900 international TV channels free of charge. We have a range of dining options from coffee shop and bar menu to full restaurant service and we are committed to using locally sourced produce wherever possible. Whatever your reason for visiting The Mandolay Hotel we look forward to making your stay with us as enjoyable as possible... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandolay Hotel Guildford
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre Guildford, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing