We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old pub”
Review of The Kings Head Pub

The Kings Head Pub
Ranked #101 of 286 Restaurants in Guildford
Restaurant details
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Lovely old pub”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Been drinking at The Kings Head for many years, very traditional with roaring fire in the winter. Food is also good, traditional "pub grub" A great place to visit in the summer as they have a elevated court yard beer garden.
Great location tucked away behind Guildford castle.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    35
    11
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A handy place for a pint while waiting for the wife to finish shopping”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Here we found good honest pub food, tasty and well presented at reasonable prices in a warm friendly atmosphere, the pub is very close to the town centre so a handy place for a pint of ale while waiting for the wife to finish shopping, we will be happy to return when next in Guildford.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pizza perfecto!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Very relaxed and comfortable pub right beside the beautiful castle grounds.

We opted for the Tuesday 2 for 1 deal on pizzas -- made fresh to order and were absolutely delicious.

Will definitely be back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Would be a 5 star, but for the missing quiz prize”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Last month we had a great evening at the Kings Head, with a Pub Quiz and Curry, all for £3 if I remember rightly. The curry was far better than you'd expect and as usual the beer was great. the bonus was we won the quiz and had a £50 bar tab credit. So last week we went back to have a meal and some drinks, but imagine our anger when the staff were only able to tell us that the tab had been 'cashed up' and only had £2.20 left in it when it was!! What sort of security is that? In other walks of life that might be seen as theft! Well, we were tempted to just walk out, having got a round of drinks, but we stayed and had the meal we came for - it was pretty good, 1/2 price pizzas, and we had a nice evening, despite the continued annoyance of the diddled prize!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Herbie-Green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Disasterous!!! Never again!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Bank Holiday Monday, weather very good, came at 3pm and wanted to eat. They were out of all pizzas despite that being basically half of their menu. So ordered a hamburger and duck salad. Hamburger ok but far from tasty. Duck salad was a disgrace. No duck at all, only too much oily fat and weird not edible few pieces of something what looked like duck skin fried for 5 hours. Absolutely disgusting and another prove it is so hard to get decent food in the UK.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janab007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kings Head Pub also viewed

 
Guildford, Surrey
 

Been to The Kings Head Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing