We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and in desperate need of updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on business - bathroom pretty shabby: mould on wall together with other omninous stains, disgusting yellow stain on shower curtain, hairs (not mine) in bath and light fitting filthy. Family of ladybirds in bathroom and bedroom, hairdryer left over from the 70's, very strange metal frame bed!!! Hot breakfast was cold. Afraid I haven't got a good thing to say - should have stayed at the local Premier Inn instead!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DezzieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (844)
There are newer reviews for Manor House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 844 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

A word of advice; if, as you drive up to your hotel, assuming that it is not your intention to marry, you see a sign which says ‘REGISTRAR’ on a reserved parking space, I suggest that you turn around and find another hotel. Although weddings are often a cause for riotous celebration and excess for the participants, they can be most disturbing for anyone who is not part of the merry-making. Only too often these celebrations of union appear to be made up of revellers, who have no consideration or thought for other guests, who may be in the hotel on business, or attempting to relax in a quieter and more civilised manner, which in most cases never results in becoming blind drunk and disturbing the entire hotel.

The Manor House Hotel is an establishment, which is primarily geared to cater for wedding parties and the occasional conference. The swimming pool and gym, recent additions to the hotel, are good, as I believe, is the spa, although my wife was unable to obtain an appointment for treatment as it was inundated with wedding guests. The food at dinner was formulaic and predictable and the service no better than average. The breakfast was a disappointment but then I have never found stewed tea, from an urn or congealed, rubbery scrambled eggs and packet ‘Mothers Pride’ bread, curling at the edges, particularly appetising.

This is an attractive hotel with good facilities in beautiful grounds and I feel that with just a little extra effort on behalf of the management and a little more consideration of the needs of guests, other than wedding parties, this could become a good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no wedding guests in the vicinity.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I rolled-up at this Hotel having been turned away from the Hotel that I had actually booked for the night (they had overbooked "by mistake")

Despite it being 9 pm they found me a room and prepared a meal for me. I can't thank them enough.

Furthermore the Hotel is very pleasant, in a nice location and offers very good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank impulsivearies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I loved my stay here, my last night in the UK.

The welcome was warm, the room large and the grounds of the hotel well manicured. This is a banquet, conference and wedding hotel first and foremost but regardless, it is welcoming and attractive for all guests.

The front staff mailed a letter for me and rang a local cab company to determine travel time in the morning to Heathrow. The spa was clean. I had a good gym workout, a hot tub and a steam. Very nice. I slept like a baby as it is quiet, dark and heavenly.

The breakfast was a typical UK generic "full English" which was okay. I preferred the variety of the menu for the prior evening. Why are english breakfasts so dull and samey anyway?

Room Tip: All rooms seem quiet
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duffman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and I spent 6 days here when we visited Woking, paying more than £80 per night, without breakfast. We chose it on the basis of tripadvisor reviews. On the basis of that and the price we were expecting something nice. We were very disappointed. We quickly realised that they weren't very interested in our needs as they were focused on the numerous weddings and other groups they had. Many of the facilities were open limited hours and they didn't see it as a problem as they'd open them specially for groups. For example the restaurant didn't open till 7pm, and even t hen the menu was limited. Not a problem for groups of course who had food specially prepared. The staff were useless and complacent. Our first room had a bathroom with only Luke warm water and when we complained we were told we could have another room, but 'they were all the same,so it wasn't worth it'. When we tried another room it had water, but the main light in the room wasn't working. We were told they'd no way of knowing that the light didn't work!! Don't the maids check such things? Are they blind? In fact the lamp fitting had 3 bulbs in it and all had gone! They clearly hadn't checked in months! It went on with that for nearly everything. What could be a good hotel ruined by lots of little things, courtesy of poor staff and poor management. Not at all what we had expected at the price. Very poor value.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jangala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here for one night whilst on business in Guildford. The hotel appesrs to be mainly geared up for conferences and weddings. The room was large and well appointed although the bathroom was a little old fashioned. Everywhere appeared clean and well maintained. The restaurant and bar were good. Only negative points were how dark the walk from the car park to reception was and phone signal for a number of guests including myself was very poor. I would certainly consider using again if in the area.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank RichSarahHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

On arrival at the Manor House Hotel we were welcomed by the reception staff and from then until the time we left we found all the staff welcoming, pleasant, friendly and polite. They would go out of their way to help.

Our daughter was married at the hotel during the first weekend in October. What a lovely location for a wedding. We stayed there for two nights before the wedding and a week afterwards. We had a wonderful wedding day. All the staff were pleasant, very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The wedding meal was first class as was the service.

Our room we could not fault. It was spacious and nicely decorated, was thoroughly cleaned each day and our towels and bedding were changed regularly.

We enjoyed breakfast each morning and felt there was a good choice of food and drinks. Most nights we had our evening meal at the hotel and we thought the quality of the meals was excellent. There was ample choice and the meals were very good value for money.

We did not use the gym but used the spa which was of a very good standard.

Before writing this review we looked through others and came across negative comments leading us to think “Did they stay at the same place we did!” Yes there were areas where the carpets were a bit worn and maybe a few areas could have done with a coat of paint which other reviewers have pointed out but these are just trivial issues.

The Manor House is a 3* hotel and is excellent value for money. We had a wonderful time and would most definitely stay there again and we would certainly recommend it as a wedding venue.

Room Tip: We would recommend room 3 and room 8 for the lovely views and the quietness.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
722 reviews
2.8 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,937 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Guildford
Travelodge Guildford
#10 of 11 in Guildford
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
3.0 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
490 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel & Spa

Address: Newlands Corner, Guildford GU4 8SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Guildford
Price Range: £55 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in acres of parkland with superb spa, health and fitness facilities, the hotel is a well placed for Guildford, Woking and the M2550 comfortable en suite rooms with free multi channel TV, many with fine views. A traditional bar and restaurant and spacious lounge provide areas for relaxation. Substantial on site free parking and a choice of function rooms with Wi-Fi through out make the Manor an ideal for all events and occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Manor House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel And Spa
Manor House Hotel Guildford
Manor Hotel Guildford
Manor House Hotel & Spa Guildford, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing