We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great family Christmas!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manor House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great family Christmas!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Having read some very negative reviews on this hotel we were quite apprehensive on arrival for a family Christmas with our daughter, son in law & three teenage grandchildren!!
We couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised!!
All the staff from receptionists to waiters & bar attendants ensured that we had a great time!
The rooms were very spacious & comfy
The food especially Christmas dinner was delicious!! Compliments to chef!
Our only suggestion to management would be to perhaps serve a selection of sandwiches at the Christmas evening buffet
as not everyone likes cheese & pate!
Our sincere thanks to everyone at The Manor House Hotel for making our Christmas a very Special one!
We will certainly return!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    135
    130
    120
    201
See reviews for
126
228
38
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on business after a horrendous stay at the 4 star Legacy Thatcher hotel last week!

Upon arrival, I got an awful welcome, 3 guys at reception, the receptionist, who I assume was a guy filling in to cover a break laughed when he said there is no lift and looked at my case. The two other guys were playing with their mobile phone. So nobody offered to help with my 3 bags! So I dragged them up the numerous stairs. I wasn't told any of the normal stuff, dinners served at 7, gyms there etc etc. SO I went upstairs rather deflated feeling unwelcomed. Rooms are extremely dated too, in need of an update. But my room was fairly clean, with the only slightly grubby elements due to age.

After that, my stay got better. The food is reasonably priced, and good quality. Grass fed beef, fresh chicken etc. And the waiting and kitchen staff were all great, and service was fast, and friendly.

The spa was lovely - free for hotel guests. It all was very clean, and the gym was decent too!

The Christmas décor made me laugh, no expense spared! A half pint glass sprayed with glitter with holly in, and they have wrapped the picture frames and rehung them!!


Overall, great for a business stay! I will book here if I have to stay in Surrey again!

Room Tip: ground floor or first if possible! Lots of stairs, and no lift to help with luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodlover12345111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on business - bathroom pretty shabby: mould on wall together with other omninous stains, disgusting yellow stain on shower curtain, hairs (not mine) in bath and light fitting filthy. Family of ladybirds in bathroom and bedroom, hairdryer left over from the 70's, very strange metal frame bed!!! Hot breakfast was cold. Afraid I haven't got a good thing to say - should have stayed at the local Premier Inn instead!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DezzieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guildford hotels

Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

A word of advice; if, as you drive up to your hotel, assuming that it is not your intention to marry, you see a sign which says ‘REGISTRAR’ on a reserved parking space, I suggest that you turn around and find another hotel. Although weddings are often a cause for riotous celebration and excess for the participants, they can be most disturbing for anyone who is not part of the merry-making. Only too often these celebrations of union appear to be made up of revellers, who have no consideration or thought for other guests, who may be in the hotel on business, or attempting to relax in a quieter and more civilised manner, which in most cases never results in becoming blind drunk and disturbing the entire hotel.

The Manor House Hotel is an establishment, which is primarily geared to cater for wedding parties and the occasional conference. The swimming pool and gym, recent additions to the hotel, are good, as I believe, is the spa, although my wife was unable to obtain an appointment for treatment as it was inundated with wedding guests. The food at dinner was formulaic and predictable and the service no better than average. The breakfast was a disappointment but then I have never found stewed tea, from an urn or congealed, rubbery scrambled eggs and packet ‘Mothers Pride’ bread, curling at the edges, particularly appetising.

This is an attractive hotel with good facilities in beautiful grounds and I feel that with just a little extra effort on behalf of the management and a little more consideration of the needs of guests, other than wedding parties, this could become a good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no wedding guests in the vicinity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
116 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I rolled-up at this Hotel having been turned away from the Hotel that I had actually booked for the night (they had overbooked "by mistake")

Despite it being 9 pm they found me a room and prepared a meal for me. I can't thank them enough.

Furthermore the Hotel is very pleasant, in a nice location and offers very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank impulsivearies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I loved my stay here, my last night in the UK.

The welcome was warm, the room large and the grounds of the hotel well manicured. This is a banquet, conference and wedding hotel first and foremost but regardless, it is welcoming and attractive for all guests.

The front staff mailed a letter for me and rang a local cab company to determine travel time in the morning to Heathrow. The spa was clean. I had a good gym workout, a hot tub and a steam. Very nice. I slept like a baby as it is quiet, dark and heavenly.

The breakfast was a typical UK generic "full English" which was okay. I preferred the variety of the menu for the prior evening. Why are english breakfasts so dull and samey anyway?

Room Tip: All rooms seem quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duffman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 6 days here when we visited Woking, paying more than £80 per night, without breakfast. We chose it on the basis of tripadvisor reviews. On the basis of that and the price we were expecting something nice. We were very disappointed. We quickly realised that they weren't very interested in our needs as they were focused on the numerous weddings and other groups they had. Many of the facilities were open limited hours and they didn't see it as a problem as they'd open them specially for groups. For example the restaurant didn't open till 7pm, and even t hen the menu was limited. Not a problem for groups of course who had food specially prepared. The staff were useless and complacent. Our first room had a bathroom with only Luke warm water and when we complained we were told we could have another room, but 'they were all the same,so it wasn't worth it'. When we tried another room it had water, but the main light in the room wasn't working. We were told they'd no way of knowing that the light didn't work!! Don't the maids check such things? Are they blind? In fact the lamp fitting had 3 bulbs in it and all had gone! They clearly hadn't checked in months! It went on with that for nearly everything. What could be a good hotel ruined by lots of little things, courtesy of poor staff and poor management. Not at all what we had expected at the price. Very poor value.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jangala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
2.8 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
3.7 mi away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
3.0 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel & Spa

Property: Manor House Hotel & Spa
Address: Newlands Corner, Guildford GU4 8SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Guildford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in acres of parkland with superb spa, health and fitness facilities, the hotel is a well placed for Guildford, Woking and the M2550 comfortable en suite rooms with free multi channel TV, many with fine views. A traditional bar and restaurant and spacious lounge provide areas for relaxation. Substantial on site free parking and a choice of function rooms with Wi-Fi through out make the Manor an ideal for all events and occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Manor House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Guildford
Manor House Hotel And Spa
Manor Hotel Guildford
Manor House Hotel & Spa Guildford, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing