We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had the most fantastic time here again came last year and had a great time if anything was even better rooms really clean staff really friendly and the grounds and spa were fantastic. There was a wedding going on but we were still treated as if we were the only guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hotmailuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Manor House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank yoi for your fantastic review we very much hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (841)
There are newer reviews for Manor House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have just got Married here after staying a few times and liked the hotel and staff so much. Unfortunatly we were bitterly disappointed on the day. Staff were rude, food not as nice as the menu tasting, ceiling collapsed in the reception room, exit music couldnt be heard after the ceremony. After complaining i was indirectly called a liar and no apology!
The Hotel went into Administration in Feb 14, so maybe no one really cares anymore which is a real shame as it was such a lovely place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaynielouc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

You could not have asked for a better wedding day. The rehearsal dinner the night before, with many of our family and bridal party, was splendid and a great menu choice provided.

I am vegetarian and there were other members of our wedding party with varying dietary requirements, all of which were met beautifully. My wife's aunt was able to make the wedding at the 11th hour and they organised her meal and place for her at the wedding with no fuss whatsoever.

My wife said she was looked after well the whole day and despite running behind a little due to us, everything went smoothly and all the staff made sure we were okay.

The Bloomsbury Suite was beautifully set out and even though we couldn't go outside because of the weather for the ceremony, we managed to get pictures in the grounds later in the day.

The honeymoon suite has an excellent four poster bed and jacuzzi bath which was great for easing the muscles after a long day. There was also champagne for us inour room when the reception ended.

Overall very highly recommended, literally The Manor House made our wedding day the most perfect we could have dreamed of. Many thanks to you all.

Room Tip: If you cannot walk up stairs ask for a ground floor room.The honeymoon suite, room 45, has a four po...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A massive thank you to everyone at the Manor House Hotel for making my dream wedding come true. From the beginning, coming to view the hotel before booking, right up to the day itself, they have been incredibly helpful and really taken the stress out of organising the big day, our wedding co-ordinator Mel was brilliant.

A lot of my relatives and friends stayed at the hotel, they did everything they could to organise ground floor rooms for some of my elder relatives and also, let us choose our rooms 2, 3, 6, 7 and 8 for the night before the wedding, to allow all the bridesmaids and myself be close together and make preparing on the big day easier. These rooms also had a lovely view of the Pavilion.

We had hoped for an outdoor wedding, however, the weather on the day meant this was not to be. The Bloomsbury Suite is still a gorgeous room to be married in and has a bay window which makes for amazing photography. It also has a lovely mural on the back wall.
Should you have a lovely sunny day and the ground is dry, the Pavilion would make a lovely setting for the perfect outdoor wedding! There is also the beautiful patio and plenty of outside areas at the hotel which make beautiful backdrops for photographs.

We had a very last minute addition to our wedding party, literally on the day and the Manor House co-ordinated their seat place and menu immediately, which was absolutely fabulous. The food for both the wedding breakfast and the buffet were superb.
We would like to say a special thank you to James and Ben, who were manning the bar on the night of the wedding - you were both fantastic, your smiles and cheeriness did not go unappreciated!

The honeymoon suite, room 45, has a stunning four poster bed and lovely jacuzzi bath. It was nice to relax after everyone went home at midnight. Such a comfortable bed and was really nice to have a half bottle of champagne in the room for us, it was chilled and on ice - whoever took it to the room must have sprinted to get there before us!

All of our family also had very comfortable stays, wanting for nothing. The breakfast was a good selection and well presented, lovely and hot the cooked breakfast with plenty of choice for continental breakfast as well.

A lot of our guests made use of the spa/ pool and gym facilities, all were very pleased. Another special thank you to Rosie, the beautician from the Aqua Roma club, for our wedding make up and nails. She did an excellent job under pressure and made us all look beautiful.

Sure, the hotel has an interesting layout with many stairs, but I love this quirkiness. It also has a couple of areas which could maybe do with a small lick of paint, but all of these details are very minor and the hotel is so beautiful with a lot of character, it is well worth the stay, all our family said the same.

Very highly recommend the Manor House and we will be returning for spa days and to eat in the restaurant.

Room Tip: There are no lifts, so if you cannot walk up stairs, ask for a ground floor room. Rooms 2, 3, 7 an...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

went there for a wedding. as i was assisting the couple with their wedding I had been the several months prior. everything seemed lovely, the staff we spoke to seemed very professional and was really happy for my friends. So it was to my absolute disgust the way the staff were on the day. to be honest the bar staff were the only friendly staff there! i found the disgusted looks several of us received from the staff appalling. As for the meals there was huge problems. even though enough kids meals had been ordered there was a not more than 5 year old that was not given any meal but a dessert. also as the bride had arranged an alternate meal for me due to dietary needs AND might I add paid extra for it I didn't receive my dessert. and when enquired about it, not one but several people were told that it would cost extra to offer me something different (once again already paid extra for the change) and only to have the dessert that was not part of my meal angry put in front of me only to not be eaten. I felt like they rushed this that and everything and i understand there is a time scheduled for everything but could have gone more politely and professional about it. Im just glad my friends had an amazing day even though telling the bride in the middle of her wedding day that she needs to pack up her room to be moved could have been mentioned possibly when she checked in the night before. Also was told by the couple they've had nothing but troubles also.with the staff. Im glad that even though through all of this their day wasn't ruined but would advise any other couple looking into this place to look else where.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank xdeejayx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here last night as we were attending a function nearby. The staff were efficient at check in, but the room was very tired and dated and the bed sunk in the middle. Breakfast was disorganised and not much variety.
We simply needed somewhere to sleep, so it was ok for that, but I wouldn't return given the choice.
They need to spend some money, redecorate, and bring the building in line with the gardens - which were lovely.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We attended a wedding at the hotel and we have to say the staff are really not customer focused and will try there hardest not to accomadate your requests. a simple thing like asking for ice cream instead of cheesecake was to much bother. Frankly im disgusted with the service and would think twice before visiting this hotel if you like professonal courtesy and a welcoming feel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank robertbrotherston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
720 reviews
2.8 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,936 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Guildford
Travelodge Guildford
#10 of 11 in Guildford
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
3.0 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
490 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel & Spa

Address: Newlands Corner, Guildford GU4 8SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Guildford
Price Range: £53 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in acres of parkland with superb spa, health and fitness facilities, the hotel is a well placed for Guildford, Woking and the M2550 comfortable en suite rooms with free multi channel TV, many with fine views. A traditional bar and restaurant and spacious lounge provide areas for relaxation. Substantial on site free parking and a choice of function rooms with Wi-Fi through out make the Manor an ideal for all events and occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Manor House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel And Spa
Manor House Hotel Guildford
Manor Hotel Guildford
Manor House Hotel & Spa Guildford, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing