We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Manor House Hotel this weekend, and as Guilfest and a number of other events were all occurring this weekend, rooms available in Guilford were rare and expensive. We booked Friday and Saturday night, and there were weddings on both days. We were given room 7, directly above the bar and reception and had an appalling night disturbed by shouting, swearing and aggressive behaviour outside from some 'guests' before they finally staggered home at 1.30/2.00am. 30 degree heat and no air conditioning or fans meant we couldn't even close the window on the racket. It is hotel policy to put non wedding guests at the front of the house so they are not disturbed by the noise from the function room. Having discovered there was another wedding on the Saturday, I expressed my concerns and we were offered another room overlooking the pool at the back of the hotel. Packed up and moved and not overly disturbed by the celebration, we looked forward to a better nights sleep. And then our neighbours returned to their rooms.......paper thin does not adequately describe the walls. Use your imagination as to what can be heard! I know a hotel cannot beheld responsible for the behaviour of its clientele but insulation would go a long way! Ok rant over..in summary, the majority of the staff were very helpful and empathetic, the breakfast buffet was very nice, readily replenished, the grounds are very pretty BUT this hotel is very tired, lacks any kind of vitality, needs massive investment and to be realistic about its room tariffs on busy weekends in its current state. A bit sad and sorry.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KentBluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Manor House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your very kind comments. Unfortunatley our system does move prices depending on occupancy and when there are several large events happening in the area the rate does increase this would be the same as all othe hotel groups.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Reading some of the reviews makes me think that some people were either very unlucky or just very hard to please, especially in regard to the food.

Our deal included a two-course lunch in the spa, where tables had been set out for us in the bar. All eleven in our party were satisfied with the lunch, likewise the three-course dinner later. On both occasions, the staff were very helpful and friendly.

The buffet breakfast was superb - nothing was over or under-cooked, and the scrambled eggs were perfect.

Our room was clean and comfortable, though we did feel the complimentary tray was a bit on the sparse side. Loads of specialist t-bags, but only three regular ones, and three milks.

There was some confusion over the bill at the end which wasn't helped by the fact the hotel had put names to the rooms which weren't how we were allocating them ourselves, and they had rooms being paid for by the wrong people, so outstanding amounts also attributed to the wrong people!. Not sure if this was something that could have been avoided by the staff, or whether we should have clarified it sooner.

The lack of a mobile phone signal/internet connection was a minus, though some might consider it a plus.

Thoroughly enjoyed the stay and would definitely go back.

The bar and restaurant staff in particular were brilliant.

Room Tip: Room 31 was perfectly adequate and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RosieT612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Manor House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review we are so pleased you and your friends had a good time. I will make sure that your comments are shared with all my team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at The Manor House this weekend for our wedding anniversary and the surroundings are just lovely. We were greeted by friendly reception staff and were really pleased by our room ( No 5) which had a separate lounge and bedroom area. The bathroom was spotless as was the rest of the room.
We ate in the restaurant which wasn't overly busy. I ordered a steak with jacket potato and a mixed salad. When the waiter brought our meal I asked for butter to go with the potato. This only arrived towards the end of the meal and the mixed salad obviously had another destination than our table! However the restaurant manager could not have been more apologetic and waived the cost of our starter. Also considering we had both ordered steaks. we were not offered steak knives. We were not given plates for our sharing starter either.
Breakfast was a buffet style help yourself and we couldn't fault it. One suggestion is that the toast machine could be at the start of the breakfast table to avoid a hold up once you have plated a hot meal.
Overall we enjoyed our stay, the staff are friendly and helpful and the peacock is too! Although the restaurant staff are friendly and helpful I can't help feeling more training might help.
We would stay again though so thank you.

Room Tip: Room Five is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Manor House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much fro your feedback on our restaurant as it is only with this information that we can improve our service to all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in very pleasant surroundings & has lots of character. Staff pleasant & room clean. Good meal & breakfast served was plentiful.
However, the day after we stayed, 2 or 3 people in my group received a phone call from "the hotel" to say our card payments had failed to go through & could we give our card details over the phone!! We all refused of course but it's a worry that our personal phone number, names etc could be accessed by a dodgy member of staff & used for fraudulent purposes!! Not impressed!!!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank tillywoo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Manor House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

I would just like to confirm that this is an on going police matter and at no point have any of the Manor House Team been implicated in this suspected fraud,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have just returned from one night at hotel and the room we stayed in (23) was clean airy and light and the bed comfortable.

The setting was beautiful and the only thing we didn't realise was that the restaurant was closed Saturday and Sunday but we were given quite a few options of other restaurants in the area.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very good and overall for the price we paid we couldn't complain. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 23 was very quiet and had doors opening onto the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Manor House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your very kind review. We are sorry that you thought our restaurant was closed this was only the casr outside the normal hours of operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We booked a room here for a family wedding, I can't comment on the arrangements for the wedding itself, however, we had room 3 which was a dual aspect room, lovely and cool at night and remarkably quiet. The bathroom looked as though it had recently been updated and was lovely and clean. One tiny piece of wallpaper was loose, but otherwise it was a super room, breakfast was buffet style, full or continental and very nice with unlimited tea,coffee and juice. It is an old building and as someone else put it the layout is a bit rambling but it is a lovely hotel. The grounds are quite beautiful. Tiny points such as the TV could have been larger and wall mounted and as usual not enough tea bags and milk. But otherwise a really nice place and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 3. Lovely and bright and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suffolkgirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Manor House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review I will ijsure that all the team at The Manor are aware.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I booked this hotel via booking.com, from the pictures and the reviews I was expecting something pretty good. Rooms were tatty and not very clean. Plumbing dreadful. Wifi was limited. Bed felt like a venus flytrap and lumpy. Food was extremely average and the restaurant not particularly clean. Whilst there I received several notices from people via Facebook who had all had similar experiences, if only I had known in advance. The grounds surrounding the hotel are beautiful, but, that did not make up for the poor quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at Manor House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us but it is only with your valuable feedback we are able to insure that we improve the standard of care that we give. I have spoken to the relavant departments and told them of your concerns.Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
2.8 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,990 reviews
3 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Guildford
Travelodge Guildford
#10 of 11 in Guildford
504 reviews
5.2 mi away
Worplesdon Place
Worplesdon Place
#2 of 2 in Worplesdon
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel & Spa

Address: Newlands Corner, Guildford GU4 8SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Price Range: £47 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in acres of parkland with superb spa, health and fitness facilities, the hotel is a well placed for Guildford, Woking and the M2550 comfortable en suite rooms with free multi channel TV, many with fine views. A traditional bar and restaurant and spacious lounge provide areas for relaxation. Substantial on site free parking and a choice of function rooms with Wi-Fi through out make the Manor an ideal for all events and occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Manor House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel And Spa
Manor House Hotel Guildford
Manor Hotel Guildford
Manor House Hotel & Spa Guildford, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing