We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with great breakfast”
Review of Asperion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Asperion
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed for two nights at this hotel. The rooms are small, but had room enough for us. We chose to do a late check-in, and the procedure worked without problems.
The hotel is in walking distance to the train station and situated in a residential area in Guildford, so noise was not an issue.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayflash1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asperion_12, Supervisor at Asperion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Asperion for your recent short trip to Guildford and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our "late night arrival" procedure easy to follow. We are also glad that you found our location conveniently close to Guildford town centre, which makes it easy for the guests to reach the High Street and other points of interest (i.e. University of Surrey, Research Park, train station) on foot.

Thank you for your positive comments about out breakfast! We cook our dishes with passion and attention to detail, hence your feedback is rewarding and much appreciated.

We sincerely hope you will come and stay with us on the occasion of your next visit to the area.

Best regards

Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed one night with a friend to visit Surrey University. Very nice hotel, small and cozy with all the facilities. Room was nicely decorated, clean with all the amenities of a 4 star hotel.
The breakfast was lovely a bit expensive(if you book directly through hotel's website breakfast is complimentary in rate).
Convenient location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenaNicosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asperion_12, Supervisor at Asperion, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Asperion for you recent visit to Surrey University and for posting your feedback on this site.

It's lovely to see that you found our location convenient and our rooms clean, comfortable and with all the facilities you expected.

Thank you for your comments about our breakfast. As you noticed, it is complimentary with direct bookings. Hence, it is always worth either booking on our own web site, or calling us to make a reservation on the phone, as this will allow you to redeem our offer.

We wish you all the best with your studies and we sincerely hope to welcome you back at Asperion in the near future.

Best regards

Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I stayed here on business and was very impressed. If I am honest it wouldn't have been my first choice but due to booking late & Guildford for some reason being practically sold out I had little choice.
I arrived late with a colleague & after a swift check in I was shown to my room (you don't get that in most chain hotels!). I was also offered fresh milk for tea/coffee in my room which was also a pleasant surprise.
The room itself was clean/tidy & functional with everything you would expect (probably slightly more if honest, TV, Tea/coffee/trouser press, alarm clock, toiletries.
The bed was comfy & I had a pleasant night's sleep, for breakfast there was a selection of help yourself, cereals, fruit etc. There was also a selection of cooked breakfast's.
All in all very good, only a couple of things could be improved for me personally, I was on the front of the building & my room had venetian blinds which meant it lacked a bit of cosiness plus they aren't as good as curtains for blocking out light or reducing outside noise (although it wasn't excessive). For breakfast I ordered poached eggs & got a slice of toast with an egg on it (the menu was plural!), a couple of slices of toast with an egg on each would have been great!
Also within walking distance of Guildford centre which was useful when going for some food & a drink!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soundbites30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asperion_12, Supervisor at Asperion, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Asperion for your recent business trip to Guildford, and for posting your review on this web site.

We are delighted that you found your room comfortable, clean and tidy, with facilities that exceeded your expectations. We are also thrilled that you felt welcomed and looked after by our staff, and that you appreciated those little touches like being shown to your room and being offered fresh milk for tea and coffee.
We are really sorry to read that your breakfast order was misunderstood. I can confirm that our “poached eggs on toast” are always two, as stated on the menu, unless the guest asks for a single egg. Please do accept our sincere apologies for what happened.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Asperion. Hopefully our hotel will become one of your favourite choices when travelling to Guildford.

Kindest regards

Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Very clean modern and green friendly.No bar or room for eatng this is located at reception also can get drinks in this everything room (dinner,breakfast,t.v.,bar and reception.).
Rooms are fited out with fidges bonus is advised that no outside drinks and food cannot be bought in.
Breakfast is very nice and good private parking area. Dose come across as a retirement home from start of stay.
15 min to town for shops and pubs watch out cabs cost £7 plus for a short trip back.

Room Tip: All right costs a lot staff friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asperion_12, Supervisor at Asperion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for booking your accommodation at the Asperion, Guildford and for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you found our hotel clean, welcoming and that you appreciated our environmentally-friendly policy. Thank you for your comments about our breakfast, we are delighted that you enjoyed it. We are also pleased that you made the most of our proximity to Guildford town centre and that you used our parking facilities.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back at Asperion in the near future.

Kind regards

Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Have now stayed at the Asperion on four occasions in recent times. Very well located to visit my daughter at Surrey University. Rooms are always clean and well presented. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Great value for money and the Asperion is to be recommended. Will definitely be using this hotel again on future visits to Guildford.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asperion_12, Supervisor at Asperion, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Guests

Thank your for choosing the Asperion for your recent weekend trip to Guildford, and for sharing your feedback on this web site.

It's nice to see that you became repeated guests and that you are willing to come back again. We are delighted that you enjoyed all your stays and that you find our rooms comfortable and well appointed. Thank you for your lovely comments about our staff and the welcoming atmosphere that you experience when you come here- we strongly believe this is what hospitality is all about!

We look forward to meeting you again in the near future. Remember to book directly with us to make the most of your stay (as we offer complimentary breakfast with direct bookings).

Best Regards
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Well located, reasonably priced guest house not far at all from the town centre (easy downhill walk on the way - on the way back it's all up hill in about 10 mins). Very friendly staff who were eager to help out and make sure the stay was as perfect as could possibly be. Booked a deluxe room which was spacious and had a nice en-suite shower room. Make sure you book direct through the website so breakfast is included (well presented and tastes great).

Only minor point for improvement - the light in the corridor was left on all night (not on a timer) and came shining in under the door.

Overall, definitely recommend Asperion and would happily return here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harriet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asperion_12, Supervisor at Asperion, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guests

Thank you for choosing the Asperion for your recent trip to Guildford, and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you found our location convenient for Guildford town centre and that you enjoyed your deluxe king room. Thank you for your lovely comments about our breakfast, which is complimentary for all the guests who book directly with us.

Your feedback about the friendliness of the staff is hugely rewarding. We go the extra mile to meet our guests' expectations and we are glad that you appreciated our efforts.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back at Asperion on the occasion of your next trip to the area.

Kind regards
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Friendly, chatty check-in and offered fresh milk to make tea/coffee in room. We paid £79 for a deluxe king-room and were given a room which was suitable for disabled guests with a wet-room (electric shower but certainly not a power-shower.)
A good 10/15 minute walk into town with parking at the rear.
Got back to the hotel after dinner in town and unfortunately there didn’t seem to be an outside security light by the door so difficult to locate the lock (thank goodness for mobile phones). There is a honesty bar and we had a double brandy before looking at the price list - £10 for a non-proprietry brand was a bit on the expensive side I think and we also would have liked to have had milk to make coffee but unfortunately as there was no-one around it wasn’t possible – so remember to get extra before you go out in the evening!
We had breakfast which was £10 each, it was ok fresh fruit etc but disappointed with the full English – four thinly slices of mushroom – would have been one very small mushroom, sausage and bacon ok but have had better.
Would stay again if visiting Guildford but probably would go for breakfast elsewhere.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank WiltshireCruella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asperion_12, Supervisor at Asperion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guests

Thank you for choosing the Asperion for your trip to Guildford back in December, and for sharing your experience on this web site.

It’s nice to see that you found our staff welcoming and with a friendly approach. We are also glad that you enjoyed one of our deluxe king rooms at a special discounted rate.

Our reception is open until 22:00 and we are sorry to hear that you found it closed when you returned to the hotel after dinner. However, there is one live-in member of staff who is always available overnight for emergencies.

Thank you for your comments about our honesty bar. We are continuously monitoring our prices to make sure that they are in line with our competitors. In keeping with our company ethos, we strive to stock only organic drinks, and not commonly known brands. Our belief is to seek out artisan and passionate producers so that our guests can have the best possible drinking experience.

We take great pride in providing freshly prepared, cooked to order organic breakfast, which is one of our highlights. Our cold buffet also includes a variety of organic cereals and muesli, fruit salad, yogurts, fruit juices, dried fruit and nuts. Our sausages and bacon come from a local butcher, and we use only free range eggs coming from a local farm. We are disappointed that you were not happy with our breakfast and we will take your comments on board.

Breakfast is complimentary for guests who book directly with us (via our web site, on the phone or by email). We hope that, should you come back at Asperion in the future, you will be able to book directly and redeem this offer.

Thank you again for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. We sincerely hope to welcome you back on the occasion of your next trip to Guildford.

Kind regards
Cristina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
3.1 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
385 reviews
0.9 mi away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,950 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#3 of 11 in Guildford
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
3.3 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asperion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asperion

Address: 73 Farnham Road, Guildford GU2 7PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
#3 Business Hotel in Guildford
Price Range: £72 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Asperion 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asperion Hotel is a multi-award winning 4 star AA graded guest house, providing contemporary and stylish accommodation within walking distance of Guildford Town Centre. Passionately run, we are your "home away from home", offering a tranquil and friendly atmosphere. Asperion's enviable location puts us within walking distance of Guildford town centre, the train station, the University of Surrey, the Surrey Research Park & Sports Park, the Royal Surrey County Hospital, the Guildford Business Park, The College of Law, the Register Office and the Surrey County Courts. Frequent and fast trains to London make it suitable for commuting to the City in less than 30 minutes. We offer complimentary parking for our guests, Fibre optic Broadband and Complimentary Breakfast when you book direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asperion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asperion Hotel Guildford
Asperion Guildford, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing