We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Venue in Surrey”
Review of The Boileroom

The Boileroom
Ranked #17 of 51 things to do in Guildford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Hello! and Welcome to The Boileroom Music Venue, we have been providing Guildford and the surrounding areas with a diverse programme of live music events for many years. We are a collective of people that all enjoy and feel passionately about the venue. We are available for private events from everything from wedding receptions to 40th birthday parties with catering.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking
Reviewed 18 January 2017

I have visited the boileroom perhaps 10 or 12 times now since moving to Guildford to study almost 3 years ago. It has never once disappointed. It is a great small venue, and always has a lively atmosphere even when it's quiet. Tickets are usually reasonably priced-cheap and they get some great (very famous) acts to perform. It's a great place to see bands just before they hit the big time- this was the case for me with Rock outfit Creeper last year in March. The intimacy is unbeatable and I stuck around afterwards with a couple of friends and met the band.

My only criticism is of the quite high drinks prices; though i understand the overheads to keep a small independent arts value mean that some compromises must be made!

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"music venue"
in 6 reviews
"great acts"
in 2 reviews
"local venue"
in 2 reviews
"outside area"
in 2 reviews
"great night"
in 2 reviews
"bands"
in 19 reviews
"gigs"
in 7 reviews
"artists"
in 6 reviews
"criticism"
in 2 reviews
"fiver"
in 2 reviews
"treasure"
in 2 reviews
Filter

31 - 35 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2016

The Boileroom is much more than a live music venue, this is a real community gem. The owners work incredibly hard and support a number of local initiatives, very well worth a visit

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank guildfordhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Saw Wheatus & a couple of other artists here over the years. Really nice to see an independent venue outright, but this is really well run - nice smoking area, great beer (and crisps) and reasonable prices.

It's quite small, but that's no criticism and with the dire state of Guildford nightlife this place really stands out

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank BrettT420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016

I remember when this was a 'normal' pub, which it was from time to time. As a small concert venue, it excels and has an intimacy that suits some bands. I have seen Fairport Convention here twice and the gig list usually has interesting artists - often more well-known than you would expect for a venue of this size. It has that dark decor that I remember from decades gone by - like an above-ground Marquee Club or the Rock Garden and gives musicians a taste of the action as they work with at least one college. Not too much room for on-stage antics, but suits quite a few bands.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank LewisH137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We popped in here because we couldn't justify travelling 30 minutes just to get a Five Guys burger, its a great little place with friendly staff where you can enjoy a nice selection of drinks and discover some great music that you never knew you would be into!

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Dave w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boileroom also viewed

 

Been to The Boileroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing