We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very lovely B&B”
Review of Strathire

Strathire
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haslemere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strathire
Ranked #7 of 7 Haslemere B&B and Inns
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very lovely B&B”
Reviewed 18 March 2011

I spent one night at Strathire B&B and had a lovely and quiet stay with Joyce and Malcom Harris. They are very friendy and helpful and the breakfast was delicious.

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Koelle144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    19
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
10
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

It is not easy to book a place to stay from literally the other side of the world. Thank goodness for Trip Advisor. My partner was staying in Haslemere on business and let me choose where to stay. It was a daunting task to say the least. I am very relieved to say, after looking at the places I didn't choose while I was there, (which looked tired and run down) that I chose the right place for us.
Strathire is centrally located to the village and easy to find by car and on foot. I walked to the train station one day and caught the train to London and back. It was so easy.
The house itself (to a New Zealander) looks like it came straight out of a historical novel. I found it simply breathtaking and enjoyed coming home to it each day. Strathire was at full capacity when we arrived so we were located on the top floor where we had to share a bathroom, later in the week once guests had left - we came home one day to find we have been upgraded to a room with a bathroom much to my delight. The two rooms we had were both clean, tidy and well appointed.
The cooked breakfasts fill you up for the day and Joyce and Malcom are helpful hosts who go out of their way to make you feel welcome. I had a rental car for the week and lots of time to myself so Joyce gave me many tips and good advice on where to go, what sights to see and where was good to eat. In fact we went to many of the places that she recommended for dinner and we would never have found them without her.
Each day they greeted us with a big smile, as many brochures as we could carry and kind words.
Frankly, after staying there for a week, I didn't want to leave and offered for them to adopt me. (I still have my fingers crossed on that one)
If we are ever back in Haslemere, we would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally-ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Payed to much to stay over a weekend,also not sure if bed sheets had been changed prior to me using the bed.
Bedrooms dated but the rest of house very nice

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilko50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Stayed 2 nights in Strathire. Clean bed and clean bathroom. Spacious room. The breakfast was good. Friendly owners. Reasonable price. All in all, excellant value. This is a highly recommended place.

Do visit "the White Horse" for their 12oz rib-eye steak, it was super,

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jia_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

This was a lovely house (B&B) in beautiful countryside. The owners could have not been more friendly or helpful. It was a very nice atmosphere with repeat customers also friendly and nice. The room I had was comfortable although slightly dated. Breakfast was more than should be eaten on a daily basis. It could see you through the whole day. All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcarr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Ideal location in beautiful Haslemere, Surrey, England. Close to train station, on bus route to other interesting old towns such as Guildford and Midhurst and a short walk to Haslemere High Street. A large, old and well loved home - an authentic English Bed and Breakfast experience with genuine accomodating hosts. A relaxing night's sleep in comfortable, pretty rooms and a full English breakfast in cosy, antique filled surroundings. Personable service by hosts who clearly love what they do.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2010

I was in Haslemere for a wedding and found this to be the cheapest B&B in the area at reasonably short notice.

The owners, Mr and Mrs Harris, were super-friendly and really nice to talk to. It was perfect for my needs but would also recommend it for a quiet break from the city - very peaceful. I had a double room, it was very spacious and clean and in a traditional homely kind of style. (I'm not really an expert on interiors so hope that's accurate but it was very nice regardless!)

The breakfast was great too - a full English fried number, although there were cereals etc available too.

Many thanks for your hospitality, would recommend!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghVampire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslemere
1.3 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,047 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
486 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Devils Punchbowl
The Devils Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Hindhead
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
The Wheatsheaf Inn
#1 of 7 in Haslemere
108 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Station House
The Station House
#2 of 7 in Haslemere
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathire

Property: Strathire
Address: Strathire Grayswood Road, Haslemere GU27 2BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Haslemere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Strathire 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strathire is a delightful period property in a rural setting, yet only 500m from centre of the olde worlde town of Haslemere (AONB) Well kept landscape gardens of an acre. Strathire looks across tree filled valley to Hindhead, famous for its National Trust Park and beautiful walks. Magnificent views from all windows. Original features. Oak Panelled hall, wide impressive staircase. Rooms excellent size. Warm Welcome. Comfort and care,. Local produce and delicious breakfasts,.Well situated for A3, Heathrow/Gatwick. 5 min rail link Waterloo/London/Guildford. Goodwood festival of speed/Chichester. Private parking for seven cars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strathire Haslemere, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing