We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A countryside gem”
Review of The Wheatsheaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wheatsheaf Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Haslemere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A countryside gem”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I had originally booked here for one night but decided to stay for a second. The Wheatsheaf, in a small village separate from the hustle and bustle of Haslemere, is a delight. It is also a good base for touring some of the many sights of the area, including Petworth House, Bodiam Castle and Sheffield Gardens.
My room was compact but comfortable and well equipped. The en suite shower, unlike many in this country, did not impose heavy engineering demands on the user and hot water was plentiful. There is some noise from the pub, but it shuts down at 11.
Ken is a most welcoming and gracious host and he also offers superior food in the pub and restaurant. There is a set dinner menu, two courses for 11.95, three for 14.95, which is excellent value. I ordered the soup and hake and chips my first night — both excellent with the fish freshly cooked and not soggy.
The following evening, I ordered from the blackboard — superb liver pate and chicken diane. I should add that the wine list was varied and fair.
The full English breakfast was beautifully prepared and sufficient to carry me through the day. I can't recommend this pub restaurant with rooms too highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    36
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
38
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Have eaten here twice now (and had morning coffee) on the way to the Chichester Festival Theatre. Last night was particuallry good and no problems despite the upheavel of decorators and the smell of fresh paint.

It's an ideal stop-off point from London to Chichester; the welcome is warm and the food really good. Pleny of traditional English pub food - a VERY good specials board which makes choosing a leisurely affair.

There is a large conservatory and small patio outside which is brimming with potted plants and flora.

Plenty on your plate and fairly easy on the pocket (starters, mains, coffee, pre dinner drinks and a bottle of good red - £59.00 for two).

Only grumble is that the wine bottle appears opened at table. (please note!) Other than that a gold star from me!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxCowperFforde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Ken the landlord is a great host, welcoming and friendly. The rooms are clean but best of all the food is terrific. Highly recommended for business travellers or just on a break or even just popping by for a meal. Thanks Ken and staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garethhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

MY partner and her sister stayed for two nights as we were attending a wedding, the other wedding guests stayed at various other hotels in the area, but we had the best deal without a
doubt. the landlord Ken and wife Di, were so friendly as were their staff. The rooms were clean
and comfortable, the breakfast was cooked to perfection, and so much of it, was full till the
evening. I highly recommend this traditional country pub with its good range of real ales, that
i sampled with delight. Thanks Ken for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We were introduced to this pretty pub in Grayswood, just outside Haslemere, by a friend a while ago and had a very enjoyable meal. We've also been with a group of about 28 people for lunch and the meal was really excellent and served quickly and efficiently (we had to pre-order, understandably, but no deposit was taken). We took another friend of ours there for lunch on 25th May and had another very good meal. Two of us had the hake and chips which was everything you would hope for from this dish: the batter was lovely and crisp, the fish was skinned and boned and the chips were properly crispy and plentiful. (I was a little put off by the amount of oil that ran out of my fish onto the plate but that's me being picky). The third member of our party had the lamb's liver and bacon with mashed potato, red wine gravy and vegetables. This was a really generous portion with full sized rashers of bacon on top of the fried liver. All these main dishes were under £10 which we thought very reasonable. For pudding two of us had the ice cream or sorbet. This is charged at £1.25 per scoop which seems like a very sensible idea and there was a good choice of flavours (I highly recommend the mango sorbet, delicious). The wafer that accompanied the dish was of the slightly unpleasant cardboard variety that you find wrapping a slab of Neapolitan at the seaside and would have been better left off or replaced with a decent sugar fan (home made langue de chat even better) or even a sprig of mint or piece of fruit. We were there on a very hot day and the windows and doors were open so the traffic noise was a bit intrusive but the inside of the restaurant was pleasantly cool. The service was absolutely excellent and we shall be going back in the not-too-distant future. I would have awarded 5* apart from those, very minor, whinges. Don't let that stop you, it's great food. Book in advance, they are usually busy, specially in the evenings.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Very welcoming and homely - perfect for a nights stay. Very hearty breakfast. Would stay here again without doubt

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaips R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

If like me you love a traditional country pub then look no further, you will not be disappointed at the Wheatsheaf. The en suite rooms are clean and comfortable and excellent value for money but it is the pub which is the real star! The owner Ken and his team offer a genuinely warm welcome to this beautiful traditional country pub and the selection of real ales is a real treat to the thirsty traveller. The meals are not "pub grub", they are restaurant quality meals at pub prices with a terrific selection on the specials board to suit all tastes and you will have a hearty breakfast to send you on your way. I have been staying at the Wheatsheaf on business for a number of years and would never go back to boring old hotels. Give it a try - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslemere
1.2 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
501 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,069 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Devils Punchbowl
The Devils Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Hindhead
336 reviews
6.4 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
3.7 mi away
Grayshott Medical Spa
Grayshott Medical Spa
#1 of 1 in Grayshott
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf Inn

Property: The Wheatsheaf Inn
Address: Grayswood Road, Haslemere GU27 2DE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Haslemere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wheatsheaf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheatsheaf Inn is a traditional country pub located 1 mile north of Haslemere on the A286. It has 6 cosy en-suite bedrooms all with TV, direct dial telephone, wi-fi and hospitality tray. There is a traditional bar serving real ales and a wide selection of wines from around the world. This is complemented by a more formal restaurant and meals can be enjoyed in either, freshly cooked by award-winning chefs from a menu ranging from traditional pub grub to fine-dining dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Wheatsheaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf Inn Haslemere, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing