We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wheatsheaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wheatsheaf Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Haslemere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We were so disappointed. Our friends had been before but even they were disappointed. We ordered the from the specials board and 3 of us decided to have the broccoli and stilton soup as a starter. After about half an hour the waiter came to the table apologising that the soup was in fact root vegetable. Was this still ok? most definately not! Why had it taken half an hour to realise this. It was all down to the fault of the chef who had not changed the 'specials' board!
We were in for another wait. We had to ask where our main course was and how much longer. Just coming! Apologies all round but not once did they offer any round of drinks or even a coffee on the house. Would I go back? NO!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenm172, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Linda ,I am sorry that you found us wanting on Tuesday , I am very embarrassed that we didn't realise about the soup , , and the wait was much longer than I would like , but in our defence we were unusually busy for a Tuesday lunch , we normally cope very well with 2chefs3waiting/bar staff , there was a wait but unfortunately you were some of the last to order . I can understand you not being happy with us and I apologise profusely , as you will imagine we do not like to receive a review like this as it's bad for business and for staff morale , you didn't mention the food so I hope that when it arrived you enjoyed it , , it's a shame that you state never again , as we will not get a chance to change your opinion , as upsetting as it is to receive a bad review we will attempt to improve , best regards ken martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    31
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
30
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
anglesey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at The Wheatsheaf for three nights, and really, we couldn't fault it. The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was freshly (and well!) cooked, and the bar was friendly and cosy. Most of all Ken, the owner, made us feel very welcome and at home! We also had a lunch one day which was delicious. All in all a perfect break!
It was perhaps a little more expensive than we would usually expect to pay for pub B & B - but, as they say, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimandelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenm172, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you both so much for your great review , it gives us great pleasure when we know people have enjoyed themselves , we enjoyed meeting you both very much , first class customers whom we now regard as friends , hope tomsee you soon . Best regards ken & di
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights Room was dated but clean and comfortable Bar was second to none and I have visited a few .The Landlord and staff could not have been more friendly the locals were also friendly and the food was first class I had the breakfast and evening meal on the both nights

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddymcguinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenm172, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Mr mcguiness thank you very much for the kind words , we are very happy you enjoyed your stay . Hopefully see you again .cheers ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here overnight when visiting Goodwood. The owners were very welcoming indeed and very accommodating; nothing was too much trouble . The room was clean and good value for money and very quiet, just what was needed. The restaurant/bar area had a lovely atmosphere and we got the impression that many of the people eating there were locals. The food was very un-pretentious, very reasonably priced and delicious; there were some very interesting 'specials' too. The beer was good. We liked it so much that we made a detour to have a meal on our way back home after leaving Goodwood. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moab3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenm172, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Cheers paddy ,thanks for your kind words ,hope to see you again , glad you liked the Guinness .ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Booked here for three nights whilst attending festival of speed at Goodwood.Great location being approx 30 mins drive to event & handy for nearby towns Halesmere/Midhurst.Very friendly & helpful on arrival with clean good sized room,powerful shower& plenty of hot water.In the evenings the restaurant/dining area had a pleasant & relaxed atmosphere with some really friendly locals in the bar.The.Menu/Specials board was varied,high standard,& very reasonably priced,all served hot as was the full english breakfast freshly cooked & plentiful. A great start to the day! I could not fault the staff or service on what was certainly one of their busiest & hottest! weekends of the year.The owners Ken& Diane are very much "hands on" & have a very welcoming traditional country pub offering really good value for money food & accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GREG01926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmartin54, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Greg many thanks for your review ,we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us , I would like to tell that we really enjoyed meeting you and having the odd beer .look forward to seeing you next year .cheers ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I had a really great stay at the Wheatsheaf. The owner is very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The room was dated but absolutely spotless which for me is more important. Tea & coffee get topped up each morning. Really enjoyed the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenm172, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review ,we hope to see you again if you come this way ,we also enjoyed your company ,hope the cold is better ,ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

I had a great stay this weekend as was attending a wedding. To reach hotel get no.70 bus from Haslemere station buses run on the hour or pick up a taxi from rank which charge by meter and reasonably priced. I was given a nice warm welcome on arrival, good sized clean room and a powerful hot shower. Keys are kept by you so you're able to come back late without disturbing anyone. I cannot fault the full English breakfast, good produce served on hot plates. Ken & co were gracious hosts very helpful and made me feel very welcome. We didnt drink in the pub as our itinerary was full but the beer and wine selection seem pretty good. The town is quaint only two stops away with a bus stop close by or you could do 20 minute walk into town. They also run a taxi service which proved to be a real bonus getting back to the station. Thank you Ken.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mixh-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenm172, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments,we do appreciate them ,hope to see you again .

Cheers ken and di
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslemere
1.2 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Devils Punchbowl
The Devils Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Hindhead
3.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
6.4 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
3.7 mi away
Grayshott Spa
Grayshott Spa
#1 of 1 in Grayshott
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf Inn

Property: The Wheatsheaf Inn
Address: Grayswood Road, Haslemere GU27 2DE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Haslemere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wheatsheaf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheatsheaf Inn is a traditional country pub located 1 mile north of Haslemere on the A286. It has 6 cosy en-suite bedrooms all with TV, direct dial telephone, wi-fi and hospitality tray. There is a traditional bar serving real ales and a wide selection of wines from around the world. This is complemented by a more formal restaurant and meals can be enjoyed in either, freshly cooked by award-winning chefs from a menu ranging from traditional pub grub to fine-dining dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Wheatsheaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf Inn Haslemere, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing