We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Wheatsheaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wheatsheaf Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Haslemere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here for a wedding close by in Lynchmere. It was a great location and easy to find. The staff were really helpful and happy to let us check in earlier than planned. We had the twin room which was lovely all the mod cons we needed and the shower was great! The breakfast was brilliant in the morning, lots of choice and really attentive staff. The owner was brilliant and offered us his taxi service to the wedding, which we highly recommend!it was a great place to stay, well worth the price. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenm172, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Eleanor , thank you very much for your fantastic review , it makes our job all the better when we get feedback like this , it was nice to meet you and your brother and hopefully if you come this way again you will pop in and say hello .
Cheers di ken and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

we booked to stay here last night as we were attending a wedding in the area!
Definantly got off to a good start as I had to ask whether we could book in much earlier than is usual as we had to be at the ceremony for midday,no problems at all the staff said which was very helpful for us,also asked if any cabs in area to get us to our venue,no problem was the reply again the owner runs a taxi so he can take you there!!brilliant!!
We had no knowledge of the area and when we arrived at the place we were pleasantly surprised as although on a main road it was in a very quiet area and looked nice and welcoming!
And we were right we were greeted warmly by a member of staff who because we had got caught up in traffic on way to here,so we were running a bit late to get to our wedding venue,quickly showed us too our room etc,got us a drink and arranged with the owner to get car ready to take us out!
The owner was a lovely friendly guy who made us feel very welcome, always a bonus!
The room we were given was a fairly large room at the back of the pub over looking the lovely gardens,it was bright.airy,had everything we needed a big wardrobe,tea,coffee facilities,tv etc free wireless(always a good thing)it had a large bathroom and everything in the room was very clean!
We had a good nights sleep the bed was comfy and we had nice pillows and snug duvet not those thin little things some hotels give u!
For breakfast we had choice of cereals,toast and marmalades etc,tea and coffee and we both chose the full English,breakfast,which was plentiful,delicious,cooked to perfection we were both very pleased with it!
Again had chat with owner asking us if all was ok etc just really nice that he is around gives it that personal touch!
We have said that if we were to go to somewhere in the area again we would def book to stay here again and maybe have nice meal as well no hesitations!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jems21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmartin54, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi Jems .what a great review , thank you so much , it's a really good feeling for us all when we get such a positive review , please come and see us next time you are in the area . Ken and di and our team .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We are local to this pub. We eat here at least once a week and have stayed here on a number of occasions while work was being done on our home and during emergencies. The highest praise possible for the kindness of Ken and his staff and the e4xcellence of both his cellar and his kitchen.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenm172, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Larry and gail thank you so much for your great review , it's much appreciated , and sometimes harder to keep pleasing regulars than people only here for a short visit , it shows we are keeping standards up , and we are delighted that we keep pleasing you both . From all at the Wheatie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed for 6 nights and cannot compliment Diane and Ken, the owners, highly enough. We were made to feel very welcome, the rooms were clean, tidy and large enough to spend some time in, The location is perfect for just about anywhere in West Sussex and only a mile or so from Haslemere where there are some great cafes and shops. We ate breakfast every day and it is one of the best cooked and served breakfasts we have eaten anywhere in the World. The lunches and evening meals are prepared, cooked and served to near perfection. There is a daily special which was amazing value for money and as good as the breakfast. A limo service is offered (at a reasonable additional cost) and its proximity to Gatwick and Heathrow makes this a great place to stop off, either on your way to, or from, these airports. All 6 rooms are at ground level so no need to worry about access. We are definitely making this a regular place to stay when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmartin54, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Colin and Kim what can I say but !! Thank you very much for a great review , hope to see you soon ken dianne the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at this inn for the night after attending a wedding locally. An ideal choice with friendly and helpful staff. Rooms spotlessly clean and a separate entrance to the inn. We left too early for breakfast so cannot comment but the dining room looked inviting. Our twin room was at the back and very quiet. Only slight annoyance was that the wifi was hard to pick up in the bedroom but was easily accessible from the main Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bess-the-Departed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenm172, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

dear bess the departed , thank you so much for your much valued comments , we are working on the internet connection So hopefully it will be much improved soon , it was great to meet you albeit briefly . Hopefully you will pop if you are ever in the area . Cheers ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I managed to grow up in this area without ever going here. The Sunday lunch is very pleasant and is generally of a good standard. It has a loyal local following and I shall look forward to going back again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CF y Flia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenm172, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Cf many thanks for the review , we are happy that enjoyed being here and it's great you intend to return , it's a shame you took so long to find but you will find a warm welcome when you return .

Cheers ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Having arrived at The Wheatsheaf on a cold, wet and windy night, just before 7pm, the place was in darkness, BUT on the dot of 7pm the lights came on and the door was unlocked, it was with some apprehension that we entered to a warm welcome and surprisingly the bar was warm, clean and very pleasant. We ordered our meals, which were reasonably priced and very good quality. The service was excellent and the bar welcoming. We shall definitely visit here again when in the area and recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samuel John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenm172, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you very much for your review Samuel , coming from a fellow professional in the trade , it means a lot that you felt we gave a good service and welcome , cheers ken and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslemere
1.2 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
506 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,082 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Devils Punchbowl
The Devils Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Hindhead
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Frensham Pond Hotel
6.4 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
1.5 mi away
The Station House
The Station House
#2 of 7 in Haslemere
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf Inn

Address: Grayswood Road, Haslemere GU27 2DE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Haslemere
Price Range: £76 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wheatsheaf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wheatsheaf Inn is a traditional country pub located 1 mile north of Haslemere on the A286. It has 6 cosy en-suite bedrooms all with TV, direct dial telephone, wi-fi and hospitality tray. There is a traditional bar serving real ales and a wide selection of wines from around the world. This is complemented by a more formal restaurant and meals can be enjoyed in either, freshly cooked by award-winning chefs from a menu ranging from traditional pub grub to fine-dining dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Wheatsheaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf Inn Haslemere, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing