We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in the Surrey countryside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem in the Surrey countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently and took advantage of the Spa. The rooms are a good size, comfortable, clean and quiet. The Spa is a nice size, small enough not to feel impersonal, and I had an excellent massage!
The hotel restaurant is fantastic, the service attentive without being intrusive, and the food was out of this world. It's worth visiting simply for the restaurant. All in all, an excellent visit. I'll be back

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rothach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear rothach

Thank you for your review.
We are thrilled you had a fantastic time and look forward to seeing you again...

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    269
    135
    78
    49
See reviews for
129
531
26
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The staff were so helpful and utterly friendly - from those on reception to those at breakfast and dinner. Definitely try the meals as they are absolutely delicious and very reasonably priced, and the ambience in the restaurant is perfect.

Room Tip: The tudor rooms are really authentic, and well worth the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireVernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Hampshirevernon

Thank you so much for your review.
We are thrilled you had such a great time and enjoyed our food in the restaurant in particular. The new kitchen team have really taken the hotels food offering to a new level of which we are very proud.
Do come again.

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

My daughter treated me to a spa break for my 50th. Spa and treatment was 1st class. Room was very comfortable. Evening meal and breakfast was faultless. Overall a very nice experience . Would definately recommend a visit. Will be going back .

Room Tip: Very quiet room. Comfy bed . Alworth. Room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear DebraG

Thank you so much for your review.
My team and I are thrilled you both had a great time and hope you come and treat yourself again soon !

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

me and my wife stayed here for the night after our wedding, which was just down the road,

we stayed in the garden suite, which at £180 a night you would expect a amazing room, the only plus i can say about the room was its views over the river and size, it really is a massive room but dated back in the 90s, it needs a reverb, carpet a bit rustic in places , bathroom dated. Bed was comfy though, and I'm guessing you are paying for the six of it, the lounge alone is bigger than most hotel rooms alone!

Spa is very poor, pool was cold, so was the Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna need a clean and re vamp, very dated again the the changing rooms are basic and not the cleanest either, this is easily a 3 star spa, no more!

breakfast was nice, good choice, hot and cold, and a nice room to eat in to be fair, weather was bad, but can image it being very nice in the summer

overall a OK hotel if you get it at a good price, i had family members that paid £60 for a night including breakfast and loved there rooms, so for that price its worth it

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear DannyT

I really appreciate you having taken the time to leave your review.
I can see that there were a couple of areas you were not completely happy with. With regards your garden suite I am delighted to note that all rooms and suites are going to be under refurbishment at some point throughout 2014. Secondly with regards the SPA I can only assume that the temperature may have been a fault issue at that time. As you will see from the other comments on here it clearly is not an issue we have had reported previously.

Do come again

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Working in the area and so I combined business with pleasure and took my girlfriend along for the night.
We phoned the hotel directly and were offered a better rate for the evening than we could find on line.
Lovely room, excellent service by very helpful and friendly staff.
We ate in their restaurant. Two courses and a wonderful cheese board for desert (12 cheeses to chose from!!! that's what I'm talking about)
Lots of little extras with the meal, like a choice of fresh bread, canopies, and a cleanser course.
Good wine list.
Excellent and efficient waitress.

Didn't really have room for breakfast but I managed some very nice scrambled egg on toast whilst everything else on offer looked equally tempting.

I will certainly stay here again next time I'm in the area.
Brilliant value even though we didn't have time to use any of the spa.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrnick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear MrNick99

Thank you so much for your review.
We are so pleased you had such a great time and hope you may come and see us again soon.

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrotham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

A very peaceful and scenic hotel. Our suite was superb and well equipped. The evening meals in the lovely quaint restaurant were extremely good and of the highest quality. Breakfast time, again, had a wide variety of choice and the very attentive and friendly staff made our visit the pleasurable stay we were hoping for. This hotel is a must for a quiet getaway. Will definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear SandraB

Thank you so much for your review.
It was great to welcome you back again to Lythe Hill and we hope we may be of service to you again in the not too distant future.

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
176 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The grounds are lovely - probably even better in the better weather, and we found two circular walks from the back of the grounds.
The breakfast was superb with masses to choose from and very attentive staff.
The only down side was the room, we booked an executive and were disappointed with the room we had which was very basic, the bathroom was very shabby with a broken plug hole.
When we went to check out I asked if the room we had was an executive one which it wasn't,so we had been given the wrong room which was a shame because it did sort of spoil our stay, I have to say that there was no issue at check out with the girl refunding the difference which was not much money but we would have preferred to have been given the right room to begin with. Wish we had questioned it when we were first shown our room, lesson learnt though.
The Spa and pool area is lovely, when we arrived on the Sunday it was mobbed with families but the children are turfed out at 4.30 so it was lovely and peaceful after that !
Despite the mix up with the room I would recommend it and return, the manager should be proud of his staff.

Room Tip: Overlook the gardens they are just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear CSPtraveller

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review.
We apologise for the slight mix up with your room allocation but are pleased to hear it did not detract from you having an all round great stay.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslemere
1.2 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
6.6 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
18.9 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
20.7 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa

Property: Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Address: Petworth Road, Haslemere GU27 3BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond the magnificent Tudor facade which greets guests on arrival, lies a luxury 4 star hotel like no other. Resting on the borders of Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex, Lythe Hill is an outstanding example of a luxury country house hotel that has never lost its old world sense of charm. With 46 individually designed bedrooms, gym, spa, health club and stunning restaurant, you can expect faultless service and total relaxation set within 22 acres of picturesque countryside. While Lythe Hill may be inspired by the past, it's certainly not confined by it. Blending historic features from 1475 with a cool contemporary atmosphere, guests truly have an abundance of experiences to indulge in. Our historic Tudor House consists of a bar and restaurant which offers a range of dishes with freshly prepared traditional cuisine. Our Head Chef and his dedicated team strive to deliver the freshest, high quality dishes. The Amarna Spa is inspired by Queen Nefertiti, whose name means "the beautiful one has arrived". The Spa was designed to reflect Nefertiti's desire for peace, tranquility and her passion for pampering. Offering a wide range of ESPA beauty therapy treatments, 16 metre swimming pool and whirlpool, steam room and sauna and fully equipped gym and tennis court. Making this the ideal place to wind down and renew your energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lythe Hill Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa Haslemere, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing