We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tudor Travelodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tudor Travelodge”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

I booked the hotel for my wife's birthday largely on the strength of the reviews here.

All I can say is don't make the same mistake. The hotel is very ordinary, essentially a travelodge tacked on to a Tudor house of very modest scale. Just how modest you find out when you try to book the restaurant - you'll need to book well in advance to get in.

The rooms are plain and uninviting, exactly what you would expect from a run of the mill business hotel.

The spa is in an outbuilding and claims some affinity with Nefertiti but is a really just a swimming pool with a small sauna and steam room attached. It seems to be something of a haven for locals and the treatments were fully booked - again book early.

We had dinner one night; we were told rather curtly that we could eat early or late the following night so we ate elsewhere. On the night we did eat in the restaurant the food was interesting and the staff reasonably courteous but the portions were vanishingly small; my Gressingham duck garnished with red cabbage was more accurately red cabbage garnished with Gressingham duck.

One of the highlights of a country hotel is breakfast. The ingredients were good but the food was served barely warm having clearly been pre-cooked and "kept warm" much like business hotel chains up and down the country.

It wasn't unpleasant but neither was it notably enjoyable or even friendly; in fact we considered cutting the visit short, staying for one rather than two nights.

It isn't the country house hotel experience that you are led to expect by the website. It might be a good place for a conference or wedding but not so much for a relaxing romantic weekend for two.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    275
    140
    80
    52
See reviews for
132
538
28
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Bit of a late review, I stayed here on the valentines weekend with my boyfriend. It was our first weekend away together so we wasn't sure what to expect. On arrival we were greeted by the lovely reception staff and were instantly given an upgrade to the garden suite (Tennesey) which was lovely. The staff in the restaurant were really helpful and attentive, the food was perfect. The hotel grounds and spa are beautiful. We enjoyed every second of our weekend and for our first time it couldn't have been better. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeJane130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london city airport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just spend a wonderful couple of days at Lythe Hill Hotel and Spa. The staff were exceptionally helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in Blackdown which had a beautiful view over the lake and surrounding grounds and gave a very private feel to our stay.

The food and presentation in the restaurant was first class and the attentiveness of the staff was second to none. Cannot recommend this hotel more highly - we will definitely be back and next time make more use of the wonderful spa facilities.

Thanks for a very relaxing break!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarletjilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Climping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

My now fiancé and I stayed here a few days ago on Sunday 16th for a day and evening. My plan was to propose here. I did not have a clue how and where/when I was going to do this.. Once I got to reception to check in the lady straight away called the front of house manager who suggested their wooden gazebo by the lake with two candles and a bottle of fiz... Perfect. done!
Couldn't of gone smoother with a perfect setting. The food at lunch and dinner was amazing. Staff were very natural and informative.
Our room was clean, large and the bed was huge and very comfortable.
The Spa was very relaxing and our treatments were spot on!
All in all a very nice experience... She said yes to top it all off! :)
See you again on our anniversary I'm sure..

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank aliwatrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Everything about our stay seemed designed to make us feel special. There were a lot of little personal touches at Lythe Hill (for example room information and welcome pack had been printed out with our names on) - they really made the experience for us. The staff were excellent at all times, nothing was ever too much trouble. Our room (suite!) was clean and spacious. The bed was slightly on the soft side for us, but that is personal preference - the duvet and pillows were really fluffy and we both slept really well. The spa facilities were excellent, but they were never overcrowded the whole time we were there, even though the hotel itself was obviously very busy. Basically we couldn't recommend Lythe Hill enough - we'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Was only meant to book one night but in the end booked another night as we were so impressed with the whole property. Staff fantastic, food wonderful and spa facilities just what you would want. Will absolutely be back. One of the best spa stays I have had in this country

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodieglister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Easier for me to break this down into sections, as so many different things to report on!

STAFF: All excellent, couldn't do more for you. Polite, attentive and helpful. Couldn't fault them.

ROOM: Newly & vibrantly decorated, and overall nice, but a couple of comments. We had a skylight window over the bed which didn't have a blind, so I was awake at 6.25am regardless. Not really something I relished on a relaxing weekend - on reporting to management a blind is on order apparently. Glad it is, but maybe the room shouldn't be used until in situ. The paintwork around the ceiling edges was poor, and we were convinced that the insubstantial curtain rail holding up a very lovely, but very heavy velvet curtain was going to snap at any moment. Nice bathroom separated from the main room by an opaque glass wall, but some hanging pages for robes/towels nearer the shower would have been useful.

SPA: I'm not usually a great spa lover, as am not very good at sitting still for a long period of time, but this was different. The huge glass walls one one side which on this weekend meant that sun was pouring through them meant that sitting on a sun lounger made e feel like I was abroad. The empty pool was inviting and a lovely temperature and size. Steam room and sauna very clean. The double loungers are a great idea. We snuggled up on one in our robes for an hour before our treatments and had a little snooze :) We both had treatments in the upstairs area, which is very nice and relaxing. The heated beds are very nice and the therapists were all proficient and very sweet. NOTE: The spa is in a completely different building to the main hotel, so whereas in past spa breaks where everyone wandered around all the time in their robes and slippers, this made it a little difficult to do and I realised I hadn't actually brought enough changes of clothes!

RESTAURANT: We requested to sit in the old section of the restaurant as it's more to our liking. The food was great, and well broken down on the menu. We were pleased to see that we could choose types of cheese from a selection for dessert rather than having to have the usual "cheeseboard". Neither of us were that smitten with our starter, too much going on with it, but our mains were delicious - I actually think my main was one of the most delicious things I have ever consumed (monkfish in chicken skin). Thank you :) We were advised on wine - again the staff within the restaurant were fantastic. We moved to the bar after dinner to enjoy some more drinks and to listen to the live pianist, who was more than happy to take requests and let us look through his music books for suggestions! Breakfast - my only comment was that I was disappointed by the hash brown (instead of fried potatoes) and couldn't work out why my husband's eggs benedict had a supplement of £4.50 on it.

GROUNDS: Will be absolutely beautiful in the summer. At the moment, not looking great, but in their defence, the appalling weather recently has probably meant that they haven't really been able to do much outside.

OVERALL: Yes, we would return again. We had a lovely relaxing weekend, and the overall bill was half that of Alexander House, with many of the features being as good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinkerbellamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LytheManager, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review.
I am delighted you had a great stay.
The few comments you had regarding your room have all been addressed very swiftly.
You are correct in saying the grounds will be stunning in the Summer.... Following our first weekend of sun of the year are gardeners have re-joined us and the grounds have already had their initial spruce up.... We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslemere
1.2 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
486 reviews
6.6 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
7.3 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
4.6 mi away
Grayshott Health Spa
Grayshott Health Spa
#1 of 1 in Grayshott
545 reviews
18.9 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa

Property: Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Address: Petworth Road, Haslemere GU27 3BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond the magnificent Tudor facade which greets guests on arrival, lies a luxury 4 star hotel like no other. Resting on the borders of Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex, Lythe Hill is an outstanding example of a luxury country house hotel that has never lost its old world sense of charm. With 46 individually designed bedrooms, gym, spa, health club and stunning restaurant, you can expect faultless service and total relaxation set within 22 acres of picturesque countryside. While Lythe Hill may be inspired by the past, it's certainly not confined by it. Blending historic features from 1475 with a cool contemporary atmosphere, guests truly have an abundance of experiences to indulge in. Our historic Tudor House consists of a bar and restaurant which offers a range of dishes with freshly prepared traditional cuisine. Our Head Chef and his dedicated team strive to deliver the freshest, high quality dishes. The Amarna Spa is inspired by Queen Nefertiti, whose name means "the beautiful one has arrived". The Spa was designed to reflect Nefertiti's desire for peace, tranquility and her passion for pampering. Offering a wide range of ESPA beauty therapy treatments, 16 metre swimming pool and whirlpool, steam room and sauna and fully equipped gym and tennis court. Making this the ideal place to wind down and renew your energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lythe Hill Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa Haslemere, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing