We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly a bit mixed. Service needs some attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have been to Lythe Hill a few times for different occasions; overnight stay, spa day, wedding reception and afternoon tea. Sometimes it's been great, others it's been really under par. Usually this has been when we have visited for a simple afternoon tea (for fathers day and more recently my grandmothers birthday celebration). Both times I felt it necessary to give some feedback, and this weekend I did not feel that service charge was warranted. The actual food was good but the service and beverages were not. They were not busy (one other small party and two or three tables of two), our requirements weren't difficult yet it was made very convoluted and generally hard work to have a nice afternoon. I think the hotel, it's surroundings and facilities are great but for a 4 star property they really need to work on their service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review and I am sorry that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. I have discussed your comments with all concerned and we have taken actions to ensure that the service standards are consistently high at al times. I hope you will accept my apologies and trust that we will have an opportunity to redeem ourselves in your eyes in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Overall a great hotel, with stunning surroundings, very peaceful, amazing food, great spa area and generally great service!

A couple of little things annoyed me; we missed breakfast by 15 minutes, but no one did anything to help - just said "breakfast was finished"! No where in the room we stayed in did it have the phone number for reception (I had to guess). The prices were a little steep, as you'd expect from a 4* hotel, not the best value for money.

But generally everything was very good, old fashioned rooms were very unique and well looked after, food was delicious, everyone was nice and helpful, grounds and scenery were picturesque with lots of wildlife! Overall very pretty!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Sadly we could only stay one night and I desperately needed to relax after being stressed out for a long time. Right from the friendly reception check in to going into a spotless clean room it was a great start. The pool was lovely nice and warm. The treatments were a complete joy and very professional.
When we went to the restaurant for dinner I was worried thinking it might be one of those places you get tiny portions and come away still hungry but I was so wrong! The staff were amazing and the food was the best I have tasted in a very long time. The grounds are lovely to walk around with lots of rabbits scattered about.The bed was so comfortable I had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was great and again friendly service.
The staff are a credit to this hotel and I hope the management team look after them. It is the attention to detail they take great pride in what they do. Thank you so much I could have stayed a month! The knots in my neck gone even after such a short stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here with family and hosted a 21st birthday party in the Quennell Room. The whole organisation of the day was made easy by attention to detail by all the staff from booking with Nicola to Roman's quiet food and wine service. We had young children with us and they were accommodated with a cheery smile throughout with nothing seeming too much effort for the staff. Rounding off the experience with family fun in the swimming pool Sunday morning before most dispersed home.

Room Tip: We love Seymour room with it's quirky bathroom and easy availability to the restaurant but Nancy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed her for one night with work but wish it was for longer!! I stayed in a fabulous room which had it's own little courtyard/garden....absolutely gorgeous room...don't think they are all as nice.

The spa is brilliant and the gym is well equipped.

The views are amazing and so relaxing... Overlooking it's own lake and grounds. When I was in the spa at one point there was a hot air balloon floating in the sky in the distance.

The bar/restaurant has fantastic staff who are incredibly polite and helpful. However my only negative about this whole hotel is the cost of the drinks which are incredibly overpriced and means you cannot relax outside with a drink for longer. The breakfast was lovely.

Really peaceful night.

I didn't want to leave this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnjohnjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We booked the hotel to host our wedding guests from midnight, with music and food to be supplied. We reserved 27 bedrooms. The problems started when we needed to cancel 3 rooms with 3 weeks notice and the hotel refused to refund our £50 deposit per room. Then my husband to be, asked for our room to be turned down prior to our arrival, they forgot. We arrived at midnight with 50 guests no heating this was a December wedding. It has taken me this long to write a review and not to be emotional just factual. The food had been prepared and left standing for hours, oh and they forgot to serve us anyway! No music was supplied either. The final problem was when our guests had ordered drinks and these were charged to our bill. We complained about the service a week after and the Manager just wasn't interested offered us a complimentary night!
The only good thing the rooms were clean, bed linen comfortable and breakfast nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

I am sorry that you felt it necessary to write a malicious and unfounded review as there is no record of any booking in December. My deputy has been in touch with you by email but you obviously just wish to ignore the email and continue to write misleading reviews.

I have reported this review to Tripadvisor and hopefully they will withdraw your access as reviews are supposed to be truthful and not intended to mislead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Me and my boyfriend have stayed here quite a few times and will definitely be staying here again in the future! Such a perfect and peaceful retreat with amazing staff! The restaurant and spa facilities are absolutely superb!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ellie400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslemere
1.2 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
506 reviews
6.9 mi away
Frensham Pond Hotel
6.6 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Grayshott Spa
Grayshott Spa
#1 of 1 in Grayshott
564 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
18.9 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa

Address: Petworth Road, Haslemere GU27 3BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Price Range: £83 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond the magnificent Tudor facade which greets guests on arrival, lies a luxury 4 star hotel like no other. Resting on the borders of Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex, Lythe Hill is an outstanding example of a luxury country house hotel that has never lost its old world sense of charm. With 46 individually designed bedrooms, gym, spa, health club and stunning restaurant, you can expect faultless service and total relaxation set within 22 acres of picturesque countryside. While Lythe Hill may be inspired by the past, it's certainly not confined by it. Blending historic features from 1475 with a cool contemporary atmosphere, guests truly have an abundance of experiences to indulge in. Our historic Tudor House consists of a bar and restaurant which offers a range of dishes with freshly prepared traditional cuisine. Our Head Chef and his dedicated team strive to deliver the freshest, high quality dishes. The Amarna Spa is inspired by Queen Nefertiti, whose name means "the beautiful one has arrived". The Spa was designed to reflect Nefertiti's desire for peace, tranquility and her passion for pampering. Offering a wide range of ESPA beauty therapy treatments, 16 metre swimming pool and whirlpool, steam room and sauna and fully equipped gym and tennis court. Making this the ideal place to wind down and renew your energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lythe Hill Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa Haslemere, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing