We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - Impressed with 'doggy' room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We booked to get away from our son's prom night as we had 9 teenagers staying over. At the time of booking we mentioned this, no one told us there was a prom booked at the hotel. Very naughty! Awful racket from 6.30 ish til nearly midnight - right opposite our room. Had to turn volume up on TV to hear it.
Having said that, we were delighted with our room. We chose the hotel as it takes 1 dog in the Shelley Room only which led us to think it would be average or small and possibly not great. It was a lovely big room, immaculately clean, bright and airy, beautifully furnished, stunning bathroom - although no bath just a great shower. Direct access to gardens. Absolutely lovely. We slept very well after the prom finished. Other half had steak on room service. Delicious. Staff were all really lovely, breakfast was delicious (although forgot toast which I would have asked for if I had wanted it). Lovely waiter brought our retriever a bowl of water on the bar terrace. Very kind and charming. Prices for glass of wine far too high! £9 and £11. Would like to have stayed longer at the bar but not at that price. Spa was FAB. Lovely pool. Super treatments. Not sure would say the same if swimming after schools out or holidays as too many children. Need to be supervised so guests can actually swim! Parents should not dump their children in the pool and disappear. There is no lifeguard. Really SPA should focus on the hotel guests a bit more.
Grounds are divine. Like Watership Down. Although lake is stagnent - bit smelly despite being filled with running water - needs to be sorted.
This is an exellent 4* hotel - immaculately clean, our room was lovely, staff lovely, definitely would go back and try the restaurant. The main building is bursting with character - facinating.

Room Tip: Shelley and similar rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I was pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay. The Prom finished at 10.15pm and all the guests were gone by 10.30pm so it may have been other guests on the terrace that disturbed you for which I apologise on their behalf.

The pond unfortunately was not at it's best during your stay. Having tried several possible solutions without success we had the water analysed and found that the pond was covered in tree pollen. This has now been rectified and the pond is restored to it's usual pristine condition.

We have set times when children can use the pool, 3.00pm to 4.30pm weekdays and 10.30am to 11.30am and 3.00m to 4.30pm at weekends. We have found that these times generally work well with our members and hotel guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Lythe Hill in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night break,have visited now 5 times and always a pleasure,great service throughout,especially Christina in the restaurant,good breakfast,great views,beautiful spa/swimming pool/gym
Lots of walking,peaceful gem in England's countryside

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathanbear06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review and I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay. I have passed your comments on to all concerned and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely two-night stay at Lythe Hill Hotel. The setting was both beautiful and peaceful. Our rooms were spacious and in good condition. We stayed in the converted courtyard and our room had a separate sitting area with a sofa bed which was great for family accommodation. The service was really good - of particular note was a gentleman on reception called Lee who patiently dealt with our varying queries including booking taxis etc. Breakfast was impressive with an amazing buffet and delicious hot food too. Overall a great place to stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay. I have passed on your kind comments to Leigh who is a great ambassador for the hotel. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Excellent hotel nestled in Haslemere. Really nice and cosy feel. Lovely atmospheric restaurant. i was served by a delightful lady called Cristina. My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was excellent and they have a wonderful waitress called Jenny who is middle aged and has such a lovely warmth about her. Excellent to see a mixture of age ranges in the staff. Rachel and Leigh on reception were great and Andy the sub manager was very nice to chat to.

This is a real find. Independent hotels of this calibre are few and far between.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyjmsamuels46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our hotel and I have passed on your kind comments to all concerned. All our colleagues in the hotel are very focussed on customer service and it is nice to hear that their efforts are appreciated. Thank you and we hope we will have the pleasure of your company at Lythe Hill in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Lovely gardens and setting. Rooms basic and travel lodge feel. Food in restaurant fantastic. Spa average! The pictures of your the rooms are the newer room's so make sure you choose wisely! The hotel has some lovely old areas and some average newer extensions.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAYNE56_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I was sorry to learn that you found the Spa to be average. The Armana Spa is the premier spa in the area and we work hard to maintain the quality and reputation we have built up over the years. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion but hope that we may have the opportunity in the not too distant future to redeem ourselves in your eyes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Beautiful setting and the spa facilities were good. The treatments we had were excellent and the staff were professional and very pleasant. The day was good value for money for a group of friends.
However, Lunch was very average, had to be carried over from the main hotel and took so long it cut into our treatment times in the afternoon - one person having to leave half her lunch to go for a facial! We hit a bad day when the computer system had gone down and confusion ensued as to who was having what at any given time! In the end we sorted it out but the mix up meant that we didn't get any pool time all day. The hotel needs to invest in some better training for the reception staff who were very pleasant but not skilful enough to deal with the issues that presented themselves.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review about our hotel. We did have a problem with our software in the Spa which unfortunately resulted in all bookings being lost. as you saw this created some difficulties but I am pleased to say that these are all now resolved and the computer booking system is again up and running. We have learned some lessons from this and believe that should it happen again we will be better able to cope. I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused to you.

I agree that the catering arrangements in the Spa during your visit left something to be desired and we in the process of reviewing haw we can improve this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have been to Lythe Hill a few times for different occasions; overnight stay, spa day, wedding reception and afternoon tea. Sometimes it's been great, others it's been really under par. Usually this has been when we have visited for a simple afternoon tea (for fathers day and more recently my grandmothers birthday celebration). Both times I felt it necessary to give some feedback, and this weekend I did not feel that service charge was warranted. The actual food was good but the service and beverages were not. They were not busy (one other small party and two or three tables of two), our requirements weren't difficult yet it was made very convoluted and generally hard work to have a nice afternoon. I think the hotel, it's surroundings and facilities are great but for a 4 star property they really need to work on their service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review and I am sorry that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. I have discussed your comments with all concerned and we have taken actions to ensure that the service standards are consistently high at al times. I hope you will accept my apologies and trust that we will have an opportunity to redeem ourselves in your eyes in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslemere
1.2 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
506 reviews
6.9 mi away
Frensham Pond Hotel
6.6 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Grayshott Spa
Grayshott Spa
#1 of 1 in Grayshott
564 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
18.9 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa

Address: Petworth Road, Haslemere GU27 3BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Price Range: £83 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond the magnificent Tudor facade which greets guests on arrival, lies a luxury 4 star hotel like no other. Resting on the borders of Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex, Lythe Hill is an outstanding example of a luxury country house hotel that has never lost its old world sense of charm. With 46 individually designed bedrooms, gym, spa, health club and stunning restaurant, you can expect faultless service and total relaxation set within 22 acres of picturesque countryside. While Lythe Hill may be inspired by the past, it's certainly not confined by it. Blending historic features from 1475 with a cool contemporary atmosphere, guests truly have an abundance of experiences to indulge in. Our historic Tudor House consists of a bar and restaurant which offers a range of dishes with freshly prepared traditional cuisine. Our Head Chef and his dedicated team strive to deliver the freshest, high quality dishes. The Amarna Spa is inspired by Queen Nefertiti, whose name means "the beautiful one has arrived". The Spa was designed to reflect Nefertiti's desire for peace, tranquility and her passion for pampering. Offering a wide range of ESPA beauty therapy treatments, 16 metre swimming pool and whirlpool, steam room and sauna and fully equipped gym and tennis court. Making this the ideal place to wind down and renew your energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lythe Hill Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa Haslemere, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing