We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous weekend retreat.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend retreat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed for three nights. Booked two rooms for myself and my family. On the first night we arrived very late and it transpired that one of the rooms had been double booked. The staff were extremely helpful. We were allocated a bridal suite which was fabulous! The second night we were given an upgrade to a larger room than the one we had originally booked which was again brilliant. All the staff are helpful, polite and friendly. The food is superb and the facilities some of the cleanest and well maintained I have come across. It also provides a great countryside setting with lovely grounds.
Well done Lythe Hill!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele-H65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write a review of our hotel. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your kind comments onto the gardeners and housekeepers. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    266
    133
    78
    49
See reviews for
129
526
26
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

A major disapointment. Poor wifi coverage in main area and in room. Everything seems on the cheap side. Stayed in a suite as a special ocassion but nothing special. Just a larger than average room with a but more space. Certainly doesnt compare well to other hotels. Two small bottles of water and instant coffee. No bath robes. It may sound pickey but if you are spending £250 for a night i shouldnt have to set the clock on the bedside table...it was 2.5 hours wrong.

Grounds in a poor state of repair with weeds in what used to be the flower beds. The pond still stinks.

As others have said the drinks are very expensive.

Evening meal was great but breakfast was a shambles...waited ages, kept running out of bread and fruit. Staff trying hard but a lack of management was evident.

i always find it telling when the person who completes check out fails to ask how your stay was. They are clearly used to poor feedback.

Avoid!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
I was saddened to learn from your review that you were disappointed with your recent stay at the hotel. I have taken note of your comments about robes and coffee and will look into making robes and fresh coffee available. Currently all our robes are used in the Spa.

I apologise for the problems you encountered with breakfast. As you will have been aware the hotel was very busy over the weekend and unfortunately most guests decided to take a late breakfast.

I was disappointed to read your comments about the grounds as I believe we keep the 22 acres in good condition. There is one bed that we are going to turn back to grass as despite extensive replanting everything was falling prey to the rabbits and deer.

I am sorry that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion but hope that we will have the opportunity in the future to redeem ourselves in your eyes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The pond at the bottom of the hill stinks to high heaven. I mean the one where the gazebo is. This is used b y wedding parties for photographs. Cannot understand why people go next or near it. Cant understand why it is being reviewed so positively. We were there week end of 22/6/2014.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review. The pond was unfortunately covered with tree pollen from the weeping willow and other surrounding trees at the time of your visit. This has now been rectified and the pond is back to its usual pristine state and make an ideal backdrop for any wedding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We booked to get away from our son's prom night as we had 9 teenagers staying over. At the time of booking we mentioned this, no one told us there was a prom booked at the hotel. Very naughty! Awful racket from 6.30 ish til nearly midnight - right opposite our room. Had to turn volume up on TV to hear it.
Having said that, we were delighted with our room. We chose the hotel as it takes 1 dog in the Shelley Room only which led us to think it would be average or small and possibly not great. It was a lovely big room, immaculately clean, bright and airy, beautifully furnished, stunning bathroom - although no bath just a great shower. Direct access to gardens. Absolutely lovely. We slept very well after the prom finished. Other half had steak on room service. Delicious. Staff were all really lovely, breakfast was delicious (although forgot toast which I would have asked for if I had wanted it). Lovely waiter brought our retriever a bowl of water on the bar terrace. Very kind and charming. Prices for glass of wine far too high! £9 and £11. Would like to have stayed longer at the bar but not at that price. Spa was FAB. Lovely pool. Super treatments. Not sure would say the same if swimming after schools out or holidays as too many children. Need to be supervised so guests can actually swim! Parents should not dump their children in the pool and disappear. There is no lifeguard. Really SPA should focus on the hotel guests a bit more.
Grounds are divine. Like Watership Down. Although lake is stagnent - bit smelly despite being filled with running water - needs to be sorted.
This is an exellent 4* hotel - immaculately clean, our room was lovely, staff lovely, definitely would go back and try the restaurant. The main building is bursting with character - facinating.

Room Tip: Shelley and similar rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I was pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay. The Prom finished at 10.15pm and all the guests were gone by 10.30pm so it may have been other guests on the terrace that disturbed you for which I apologise on their behalf.

The pond unfortunately was not at it's best during your stay. Having tried several possible solutions without success we had the water analysed and found that the pond was covered in tree pollen. This has now been rectified and the pond is restored to it's usual pristine condition.

We have set times when children can use the pool, 3.00pm to 4.30pm weekdays and 10.30am to 11.30am and 3.00m to 4.30pm at weekends. We have found that these times generally work well with our members and hotel guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Lythe Hill in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night break,have visited now 5 times and always a pleasure,great service throughout,especially Christina in the restaurant,good breakfast,great views,beautiful spa/swimming pool/gym
Lots of walking,peaceful gem in England's countryside

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathanbear06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review and I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay. I have passed your comments on to all concerned and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely two-night stay at Lythe Hill Hotel. The setting was both beautiful and peaceful. Our rooms were spacious and in good condition. We stayed in the converted courtyard and our room had a separate sitting area with a sofa bed which was great for family accommodation. The service was really good - of particular note was a gentleman on reception called Lee who patiently dealt with our varying queries including booking taxis etc. Breakfast was impressive with an amazing buffet and delicious hot food too. Overall a great place to stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay. I have passed on your kind comments to Leigh who is a great ambassador for the hotel. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Excellent hotel nestled in Haslemere. Really nice and cosy feel. Lovely atmospheric restaurant. i was served by a delightful lady called Cristina. My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was excellent and they have a wonderful waitress called Jenny who is middle aged and has such a lovely warmth about her. Excellent to see a mixture of age ranges in the staff. Rachel and Leigh on reception were great and Andy the sub manager was very nice to chat to.

This is a real find. Independent hotels of this calibre are few and far between.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyjmsamuels46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our hotel and I have passed on your kind comments to all concerned. All our colleagues in the hotel are very focussed on customer service and it is nice to hear that their efforts are appreciated. Thank you and we hope we will have the pleasure of your company at Lythe Hill in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslemere
1.2 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
6.6 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
18.9 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa

Property: Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Address: Petworth Road, Haslemere GU27 3BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond the magnificent Tudor facade which greets guests on arrival, lies a luxury 4 star hotel like no other. Resting on the borders of Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex, Lythe Hill is an outstanding example of a luxury country house hotel that has never lost its old world sense of charm. With 46 individually designed bedrooms, gym, spa, health club and stunning restaurant, you can expect faultless service and total relaxation set within 22 acres of picturesque countryside. While Lythe Hill may be inspired by the past, it's certainly not confined by it. Blending historic features from 1475 with a cool contemporary atmosphere, guests truly have an abundance of experiences to indulge in. Our historic Tudor House consists of a bar and restaurant which offers a range of dishes with freshly prepared traditional cuisine. Our Head Chef and his dedicated team strive to deliver the freshest, high quality dishes. The Amarna Spa is inspired by Queen Nefertiti, whose name means "the beautiful one has arrived". The Spa was designed to reflect Nefertiti's desire for peace, tranquility and her passion for pampering. Offering a wide range of ESPA beauty therapy treatments, 16 metre swimming pool and whirlpool, steam room and sauna and fully equipped gym and tennis court. Making this the ideal place to wind down and renew your energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lythe Hill Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa Haslemere, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing