We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel on the edge of Haslemere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel on the edge of Haslemere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Spent 2 nights midweek special at the Lythe Hill Hotel and enjoyed it. The room was that rare thing ... clean, spacious, light, quiet and most enjoyable e.g., walk-in shower, sofa from which you could view the TV, good heating (during a cold spell). We had a posh dinner in the Tudor rooms and it was special i.e., chateaubriand for 2 with all the trimmings.

The breakfast room is well designed and the food fine but, in a stay that was hitting lots of super settings, there was something lacking in the finesse of the breakfast. Was it that they ran out of brown toast (!), or the so-so coffee, or that the plates for the full english were colder than ideal?

Room Tip: We were in Shelley which was ideally close to the restaurant and reception. Our Wi-Fi was not too g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    267
    133
    78
    49
See reviews for
129
526
26
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We recently returned from a 2 night break at this fantastic Hotel and Spa. We can only speak form our experience, the hotel and Spa is set in beautiful grounds with very picturesque settings. The Spa is excellent, very stylish and has everything you could want including a wonderful gym. We were planning on going out to eat but once we tried the food at the hotel, it seemed pointless! The breakfast is very good, Afternoon is excellent and well worth the money and the Fine Dining matched the michelin stared restuarants we have been to and I would definitely say the Service was the best we have ever experienced in any restaurant.

The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, they went out of their way to get you anything you wanted and they treated you like royalty.

We are already planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The service here was friendly, very professional and faultless from a people perspective. It really is a shame the rooms have been allowed to deteriorate so badly.
To separate the review, I would give
3/10 for accommodation and a 10/10 for service. I was given two rooms to chose from (asked to view both to make my choice) when checking in which was a lovely touch and the restaurant manager was exceptionally attentive and friendly also.
The let down was the room. Damaged wallpaper, no shower (hand held device didn't even fit into the wall holder so I was forced to bathe), kettle was placed on the carpet for guest use?, stains on the carpet etc.. Would be a lovely place if the Management spend a little time and money on redecoration and maintenance.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Leanne1977Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

31/07/14 My now husband plus our families/friends stayed at the lythe as we were having our wedding in a venue nearby. In total we booked 13 rooms for our guests, on arrival staff were friendly and got us all checked in nice and promptly. The rooms were acceptable however some maintenance issues do need to be addressed. A few of our wedding party used the spa on site and said it was lovely. That evening after having a meal in a nearby restaurant we returned to the lythe bar, the drinks were overpriced for what they were and certain staffs attitude was appalling. One member of staff accused one of our wedding guests of swearing and stated if he did not stop he would be asked to leave. I would like to alliterate that this was not the case and no bad language was used. The member of staff was argumentative with a few of our guests when they tried to resolve the situation which he quite obviously wasn't prepared to do.
On the day after our wedding I was informed by another one of our guests that when arriving for breakfast in the restaurant he heard a member of staff state 'oh great here they come'. In addition to this when my grandfather asked for a coffee he was told abruptly 'I will get it when I am ready'. I was completely embarrassed when I was told that relatives at our wedding had had this experience in a 4 star hotel which we had recommended to them. My sister in law did attempt to speak to the manager about our disappointing experiences however unfortunately they were not available.
In conclusion the lythe hill hotel is set in an idilic location however the service provided falls short of the standards of the lythe hotels own vision. While some of the staff were kind and forthcoming with the service they provided, there is a clear lack of knowledge/management in its facilitation. The attitude of some staff could only be described as unprofessional and rude. This is shame as a few ruined it for all. We will not be returning.
Furthermore if you are considering a stay at the lythe I would suggest reading some of the managers (Simon) responses to other guests reviews on this website.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Bellbellbellbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I've just had a spa day here with a friend who treated us. I'm not going to waffle on but the main problem is that the staff are, although very pleasant, badly trained, inflexible and unknowledgeable about how to deliver great service.

Examples:
Arrived and receptionist confused about what treatments we were having. We were given towelling robes but no ties for them (we were told to come back later)

Asked for biscuits or danish to have with coffee at 1100 - was told this was impossible; despite it being part of a hotel, no snacks were available (we were offered an apple)

Ordered lunch after treatments (which, thankfully, were really good). We had to wait 40minutes for a salad and a wrap and then had to ask the very young waiter for cutlery, salt and pepper - he was very sweet but had no idea of how to greet and serve customers.

All in all, our conclusion was that although the staff mean well, their training seems poor, they have no idea how to be client focussed and how to go the extra mile (would it really have been difficult to go and find some biccies?). A lovely setting and spa that could be really top notch, bit instead, is below average.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eggweena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Staff are always warm and welcoming, and given me and a colleague have stayed here a few times the regular receptionist has got to know us. The rooms are good (although a few minor scuffs here and there), and the spa/pool/gym is definitely work using.

Only negative aspect is the restaurant attached to the hotel, is very pricey, however REALLY tasty as long as it's in your budget.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is in an ideal location. My family and I enjoyed our stay.

On arrival we were greeted by a pleasant young male receptionist who was very helpful. We were allocated the 'Kent' room which is very spacious having a separate sitting room attached, however the view is restricted by a hedge. The only real let down is the bathroom, whilst it is a good size it is let down by the shower. The head would not stay in position and metal casing covering the water feed tube had come adrift. - this is unacceptable in a four star hotel.

There is ample car parking at no extra charge.

The spa is very good, we all enjoyed a swim and then lay on the balcony admiring the views. The attendants were helpful and pleasant.

Overall I recommend this hotel, if a little pricy.

Room Tip: 1. Ask for a room with a view of the beautiful grounds. 2. Don't ask for ice delivered to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslemere
1.2 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
6.6 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
18.9 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa

Property: Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Address: Petworth Road, Haslemere GU27 3BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond the magnificent Tudor facade which greets guests on arrival, lies a luxury 4 star hotel like no other. Resting on the borders of Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex, Lythe Hill is an outstanding example of a luxury country house hotel that has never lost its old world sense of charm. With 46 individually designed bedrooms, gym, spa, health club and stunning restaurant, you can expect faultless service and total relaxation set within 22 acres of picturesque countryside. While Lythe Hill may be inspired by the past, it's certainly not confined by it. Blending historic features from 1475 with a cool contemporary atmosphere, guests truly have an abundance of experiences to indulge in. Our historic Tudor House consists of a bar and restaurant which offers a range of dishes with freshly prepared traditional cuisine. Our Head Chef and his dedicated team strive to deliver the freshest, high quality dishes. The Amarna Spa is inspired by Queen Nefertiti, whose name means "the beautiful one has arrived". The Spa was designed to reflect Nefertiti's desire for peace, tranquility and her passion for pampering. Offering a wide range of ESPA beauty therapy treatments, 16 metre swimming pool and whirlpool, steam room and sauna and fully equipped gym and tennis court. Making this the ideal place to wind down and renew your energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lythe Hill Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa Haslemere, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing