We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shahanaz

Shahanaz
Ranked #31 of 35 Restaurants in Haslemere
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Japanese, Balti
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
cranleigh
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

It was ok as far as Indian food goes but did find the food tasted very sweet too much so in fact, we had several dishes but all seemed too sweet.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jamiecranleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    31
    14
    23
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Party out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Went here on my birthday with around 15 people. I have to admit that this was the first ever time dining in Shahanaz az I hace heard mixed to poor things about it yet most of my friends were keane.

As you can imagine with 15 people things tend to move slowly however I have to say they kept a lid on all things and timing was pretty damn good for everything... drinks, ordering, food arrival, clearing and bill.

Food was just what I was hoping for, huge selection with classic dishes which tasted great.

Will be coming again!

Helpful?
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice decor, poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Went the with a couple of friends on a Friday at around 6pm, was fairly empty, the decor was very nice as it has been refurbished however the food was terrible, the onion bhaji was too burnt, the tikka masala was too watery, and my keema naan barely had any keema on it. I would not recommend this place for food as there are better curry houses around the area.

Helpful?
Thank Travelerleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

nice to see that it has been refurbished, but still greatly lacks in good food and service. We went there with high expectations. Food was medium, Service was extremely slow and unprofessional. Waiters did not know what they were doing one minute to the next. Would not recommend this as it was a disappointing evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula201424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has been refurbished and does look better for it, however that does not make up for the service and food.
We ordered a bottle of wine, a wine chiller was put on the table, the bottle of wine was put on the table next to it, the waiter walked away, glasses were left upside down, bottle unopened and we weren't asked if we would like to try it.
The food was very mediocre and quite expensive, the chicken was dry, my curry was unbearably sweet. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank louise1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shahanaz also viewed

Haslemere, Surrey
Haslemere, Surrey
 
Haslemere, Surrey
Haslemere, Surrey
 

Been to Shahanaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing