We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best pub in Haslemere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Horse Hotel

The White Horse Hotel
Ranked #8 of 35 Restaurants in Haslemere
Price range: US$9 - US$16
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Relaxing times at Haslemere's favourite pub.With its low-level sofas, stupendous list of speciality drinks and fresh, seasonal pub food, The White Horse is a favourite with the lovely people of Haslemere and beyond. Despite its ultra-relaxed atmosphere there's always a buzz around the place - and always something to get your teeth into, whether it's our brain-sharpening quiz, a night of live music or our ravishingly good roast on Sundays.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The best pub in Haslemere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

The best pub in Haslemere. Serves a good and interesting menu at reasonable prices (Moroccan lamb burger with Tzatziki). Also serves an excellent range of beers and ciders. Broken down furniture including plenty of sofas allows you to get comfortable without the pub ever feeling stuffy. If I lived very close by this place could well become my living room.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank maclauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    58
    29
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great pub, good well priced food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

This is a place i visit quite a lot - mostly at lunch times but the occassional evening.
There's a nice vibe to the place, comfy furniture and very relaxed.
The food is good pub grub, probably the cheapest decent meal around.
Gets very busy evenings and weekends so worth booking a table if you definitely want to eat.
Central location, friendly staff, not much seating outside other than out the front and a bit to the rear which is the only downside.
Will continue to visit

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LouiseMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Excellent place to eat and spend the evening. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Food brilliant and good portions. Chicken and Brie was great. Value for money.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank HolidayReviewSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Being in Haslemere for more than 2 weeks, we were in the White Horse almost every day for at least a drink and we had eaten there a number of times. I enjoyed every meal I had especially the rib eye steak. But basically everything we ate, we enjoyed. And the staff were also friendly and helpful. While more expensive than the Swan across the street (Wetherspoon), we still found it reasonably priced (15 pounds for the rib eye) and with better food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SkimanBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse Hotel also viewed

 
Haslemere, Surrey
Haslemere, Surrey
 

Been to The White Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing