We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going into Adminstration - Poor quality for a 4star hotel”
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Room was horrible, shower head was black, found dirty wet towel in cupboard which was unpleasant. Poor quality of iron and room was full of flys. For the cost of the hotel I would have expected more..

Room Tip: Try to avoid this hotel where possible. Car parking very tight and no-one has any manners. Assumed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Deanie20002000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

A good little stopover en route to Goodwood Festival of Speed. The hotel was clean and tidy, staff very friendly, and you get exactly what you pay for.

Rooms were a little dated, and some of the amenities left a lot to be desired, but for a one-night stopover, there can't really be many complaints.

Haslemere is a lovely location, so more than kept us happy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank socialPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

It was just after 9:00pm when I checked in - apparently the restaurant would be closing in 5 minutes if I wanted dinner. I was checked into a room looking over the high street. The furniture was old and tired. I found that because of the shape of the eves the shower was 4ft at it's maximum. I asked for a room change (sitting in the bath for a shower doesn't work for me). The hotel was full and the manager would call me. Instead i was offered another room in the extension out the back. It felt like a 1980's build with two thin pillows in one pillowcase, no remote for the TV and the delicate sound of snoring from the room next door. I left the following morning, still tired after the manager managed to get my name wrong, take 5 minutes to process the payment and left me only with the credit card slip and not the invoice. I politely declined the £7 breakfast upgrade.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel is situated right in the centre of Haslemere, which is ideal in the event you need to visit Haslemere (as we did) but otherwise probably isn't worth going hugely out of your way for.

The hotel was pretty average. Receptionist was helpful, calling us a taxi to get us to a party outside town.

The room was ok, but like much of the hotel could do with updating. Unusually in this day and age, it had only a small (14in?) TV and no cable. I don't think they offered wifi.

The hotel's stock-in-trade seems to be weddings, but there wasn't one on when we stayed, so the place was pretty quiet. There was nothing really wrong with the place, but it was a little tired and maybe in need of a little updating. But perfectly serviceable and a decent enough place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuntieMabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We got married at the Georgian House Hotel and everyone had a great time. About 60 guests arrived the day ‎before the wedding and spent time relaxing in the spa, wandering around the beautiful village of ‎Haslemere and eating and drinking in the Georgian House Hotel. ‎

The bar staff really looked after all of the guests during their stay and everyone especially loved Francis ‎who did not stop running around fetching drinks and clearing tables with a smile on his ‎face.‎

The bedrooms are a good size, clean and well maintained and the hotel grounds are lovely. You can ‎hear people moving about in the hotel whilst in your room but the hotel was almost full and I think that’s to be expected as people naturally noisy after a few drinks.‎

Breakfast was lovely with a good choice of hot and cold food, we also ate at the restaurant in the ‎evening and the food was tasty and reasonably priced.‎

Nicole (Wedding Planner) couldn't do enough for us, she spent a lot of time with the bride making sure ‎everything went smoothly and that we were happy. Nicole stayed at the hotel many hours after her ‎shift had finished to make sure that nothing spoiled the day. Chris (Manager) was also great and on ‎check out really helped us out as we had a problem returning the wedding suits, he personally ‎returned them to the tailors for us the following day. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff ‎at the Georgian House Hotel and they are one of the main reasons the wedding went so well.‎

The venue itself is really well set up for a wedding, the function room easily held our 80 day guests, the ‎staff helped lay the tables which looked fantastic and the side room opens up to make one large room ‎with the disco and bar in the same area. The doors open up to allow air into the room and it also ‎means you can escape from the noise and sit outside on the patio area and talk, everyone thought this was ‎great as it mean the whole room and patio area were located in the same place.‎

The Wedding Breakfast was lovely and it was very well organised, a lot of guests commented how nice ‎the evening buffet was and there was very little food left by the end of the night.‎

We can’t thank the staff enough for helping make the wedding perfect.‎

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ade27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had a lovely evening meal with my daughter staff were so lovely and could not do enough to please and kept checking we were happy with the food .
The breakfast was a busy affair and staff informed us that it would be busy as they had wedding the night before . The room was clean and sound proof . the pool and steam room was nice and clean with everything supplied towels robes etc

Room Tip: Take time to chill in the garden it lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is my third 2-day spa break & stay here & hope to return again soon. Rained the whole time we were there but didn't detract from the experience - quiet room with sofas & leather chairs for us to read papers/books and gym / pool & jacussi available from 7 am - 10pm.

Really friendly staff, lovely clean room and superb fresh cooked food. Prices at bar reasonable and good choice.

Spa treatment provided as part of package an added bonus.

A great relaxing 2-day break - recommended...

Room Tip: Rooms by the spa quieter than in the actual hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanricred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslemere
1.2 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,096 reviews
5.9 mi away
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Devils Punchbowl
The Devils Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Hindhead
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
7.3 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Old Thorns Golf & Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Address: High Street, Haslemere GU27 2JY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Price Range: £46 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Georgian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the charming market town of Haslemere and perfectly placed on the pretty High Street, The Georgian Hotel, Restaurant and Spa is conveniently situated deep in the Surrey Hills, just off the A3 south of Guildford and is ideal for both business and leisure guests alike. With its delightful a la carte restaurant - The King's Pantry - well-equipped modern and period en-suite bedrooms, large private garden, car park and well appointed Gym & Spa. The Georgian is an excellent venue for conferences, weddings, functions and Spa breaks. A few minute's walk from Haslemere Educational Museum and the town's Victorian theatre and cinema, this elegant and historic hotel is in close proximity to the famous Devil's Punch Bowl and Tennyson's Blackdown, near to Cowdray Park and Glorious Goodwood and is in easy reach of the South Coast. The Georgian Hotel, Restaurant and Spa - the perfect place to unwind, indulge and rejuvenate..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Hotel Haslemere
The Georgian Hotel Haslemere, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing