We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't come back again”
Review of The Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Georgian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
1 review
“Wouldn't come back again”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We booked this hotel Last minute by paying £79pp for a 'spa break'. This included use of the 'spa', lunch, dinner and breakfast. Overall the food was fantastic, a good choice for what we paid.

The room was clean and tidy but roasting so there was no way we could shut the window. The soaps in the bathroom were half used.

When we arrived at the hotel we could see there was going to be a wedding there that night which they hadn't told us anything about. They had put us in a separate part of the hotel but as we couldnt close our window we could hear the heavy metal playing until 12am with people shouting and screaming outside on and off till about 4am. I woke up to my husband sleeping on the floor as he was so uncomfortable on the bed.

The swimming pool area was generally ok, the hot tub wasn't hot but that was ok as the weather was warm outside.

All staff were really friendly and helpful and the village of Haslemere was lovely.

They need to do a massive face lift of the hotel and warn people when there is an event on as we wouldn't have booked!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellied89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    156
    99
    66
    41
See reviews for
95
185
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed for 1 night, from the outside the hotel looks old and interesting, from the inside it's tired and in need of a facelift. On the whole the staff were very pleasant, not terribly experienced, but willing and helpful (when they weren't discussing their social/business lives). Our room was a decent size, however, only one window opened and when it's 30C outside you want all the air you can get! The carpet had clearly not been vacuumed recently and the bathroom was tired and dirty, dust everywhere along with a lot of other people's hair! To top it all the bed had no mattress protector on it and no protectors on the pillows, just a sheet/pillowcase between us and the countless other sweaty bodies that had slept there. The mattress was awful, not stained, just cheap and uncomfortable. Breakfast was average, lack of attention to detail ie no butter, plastic bags of cheap bread by the toaster and mid-service they decided to move the entire hot-plate table round the corner to close off part of the room for another party, why this was not done prior to service I have no idea! Tired, dirty, in need of some enthusiastic training, but could have great potential.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross_n_Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Haslemere hotels

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We attended this hotel for a murder mystery weekend. Overall the hotel is quite lovely and in a peaceful area. Our room was slightly disappointing but clean and tidy with all the right things provided, shower beautiful!
I was disappointed with a couple of staff members. One particular barmaid I found to have poor training and lacking in customer service. Whilst at the bar we were served our bottle of wine/bought paid for by a very polite young barman. About to walk away when the bar girl in question took the bottle off of us and served it to another couple also standing at the bar! When I questioned her over why she had taken it off of us, she told me the other couple wanted it. When I challenged her that I'd already paid for it, she STILL was adamant they wanted it! Overall, terrible service from her and I was very disappointed.
Otherwise I found the reception staff very pleasant and friendly. Beautiful gardens and the weather was great so we took full advantage. I'd suggest to the hotel to have this barmaid put back through her training process with better people skills!!
We had afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast at the hotel. The afternoon tea was delicious and I was very impressed.
The dinner however was a real let down, I had pork which was as tough as the bottom of a shoe with very basic veggies which looked like they'd spent a bit too long in the fridge! The only saving grace was the breakfast we had in the morning which was the full works and delicious.

Room Tip: Ground floor room better!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FemaleDrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed for 2 nights and this hotel is dirty, tired and in much need of refurbishment. My room had stains all over the carpet, the toilet had brown stains in it and the bathroom floor looked like it hadn't been swept or mopped for months with hairs everywhere. The breakfast was very limited and not particularly inviting. I would not want to stay there again. Don't be fooled by the website.

Room Tip: find another hotel to stay at
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

As a travelling business man I stay in many hotels (travel lodge, premier inn, Hilton etc) and this is the worst. The room was filthy, the towels soiled, there were pubic hairs in the bed, and the bathroom was mouldy. In the evening I went to go for a swim and use the gym only to find the swimming pool being filled with a hose, the jacuzzi had a green tinge and smelt of sweat, the tiles around the pool had mould and mildew growing on them, the steam room smelt of mouldy water (legionella risk) and the sauna smelt of old sweat. On informing the manager of this I was told that he has had a look and this is all fine and that as i'd stayed a few times only one bad experience was 'doing pretty well'.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Dirty Hotel - Never have I stayed in such a dirty hotel room - Brown stains to the bowel of the loo , dirty mugs, dirty skirting boards, rusty shower rail fit for the rubbish skip. brown marks all around the bathroom floor coupled with this it was un swept.

Basic hygiene in this hotel is poor

Such a shame since staff are generally friendly

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichingsPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Room was horrible, shower head was black, found dirty wet towel in cupboard which was unpleasant. Poor quality of iron and room was full of flys. For the cost of the hotel I would have expected more..

Room Tip: Try to avoid this hotel where possible. Car parking very tight and no-one has any manners. Assumed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanie20002000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslemere
1.2 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,047 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Devils Punchbowl
The Devils Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Hindhead
324 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
3.4 mi away
Grayshott Health Spa
Grayshott Health Spa
#1 of 1 in Grayshott
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Hotel

Property: The Georgian Hotel
Address: High Street, Haslemere GU27 2JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Georgian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the charming market town of Haslemere and perfectly placed on the pretty High Street, The Georgian Hotel, Restaurant and Spa is conveniently situated deep in the Surrey Hills, just off the A3 south of Guildford and is ideal for both business and leisure guests alike. With its delightful a la carte restaurant - The King's Pantry - well-equipped modern and period en-suite bedrooms, large private garden, car park and well appointed Gym & Spa. The Georgian is an excellent venue for conferences, weddings, functions and Spa breaks. A few minute's walk from Haslemere Educational Museum and the town's Victorian theatre and cinema, this elegant and historic hotel is in close proximity to the famous Devil's Punch Bowl and Tennyson's Blackdown, near to Cowdray Park and Glorious Goodwood and is in easy reach of the South Coast. The Georgian Hotel, Restaurant and Spa - the perfect place to unwind, indulge and rejuvenate..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Hotel Haslemere
The Georgian Hotel Haslemere, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing