We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable 'home'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kensington House Aparthotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Great place to stay on a regular basis and beats hotels any time. The staff are friendly, especially Ruth - what a great asset she is to the company, I hope they realise what a gem she is.

The apartments are 'plush', very comfortable, everything you need to keep you independent - especially with Waitrose up the road!! A great place to stay if you want to sit and eat your porridge in your pyjamas, if you know what I mean.

Room Tip: All the apartments are good, most with the bedrooms at the back so guaranteed to be peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arranach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, Ruth is very helpful as are all the team and it makes it all worth while when guests enjoy their stay we look forward toseeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

I booked this hotel in February and requested a room on a low floor and a large bed. When we checked in on Saturday afternoon we were told the room was on the top floor and there was no lift! The reason I had requested a low floor is that my husband has two artificial hip joint replacements which are about to be replaced due to pain. The receptionist said she had ignored the request for a low floor in favour of giving us a large bed even though I requested the low floor first. The bed was a normal double anyway so in my opinion she had ignored both requests. To make up for the error we were given a complimentary breakfast which consisted of 2 soft croissants and 2 boxes of sugar coated cornflakes which we didn't eat as both looked so unhealthy! Needless to say we will not be returning to this aparthotel. Very disappointing!

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs then stay away from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M11ssm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, we are sorry we have disappointed you on this occasion. We try our best to accommodate guests requests but this is not always possible, as we explain when requests are made. We ares sorry you feel unable to stay with us again because of this.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This is the second time I have visited the apartments. This time it was on a girls night out. The staff was very friendly and more than happy to help with everything. Lovely clean spacious rooms and lovely bathroom. I love the shower!!!! Would recommend to anyone! Will be going back soon!!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank IvyFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us again, and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

KInd regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Stayed overnight as family of four ( all adults). As parents we had the double room and our two young adults shared a twin room. Ask for the Pelham Apartment if these are the type of rooms you require. The receptionist was very welcoming and helpful. The apartment was far more comfortable and trendy than any hotel I have stayed in previously. Even though we stayed on a Friday night, noise was not a problem and the apartments are in a perfect location at the end of Osborne Road in Jesmond. The receptionist said the nearest restaurant was a 10 minute walk along the 'strip', but it only took us 3. (Bear in mind we were not wearing stilettos and the weather was freezing, so we didn't dawdle.)
As with most apartments of this type, remember to take your breakfast as none is provided, just tea and coffee with the little cartons of milk. The apartment was well equipped though with dishwasher, toaster and cooking utensils, bottle opener etc. The towels provided were exceptionally fluffy too! My only gripe if any, was that there was no shower in the main bathroom, but there was a shower in the en-suite of the double bedroom. My advice overall, stay here, it's great!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louthgrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, when you stay with us again request the apartment with two showers we only have a couple, but if you ask for one when making a reservation we try our best to accommodate this. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards


Gillian Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I recently stayed in these apartments as one member of a Hen party. The apartments are clean, well maintained and stylish. They are beautifully decorated, come with a high specification kitchen (including glass champagne flute glasses and a dishwasher) and contain the most comfortable beds I have ever, ever slept in.
The location is also ideal - a short drive away from the 'Diamond Strip' of bars and clubs, but just far enough out of the madness for comfort.
If I could provide a small downside, I would say that at times the receptionists could be quite grumpy. For example, at one point we were in the reception ordering a taxi to take us out to an activity. Our Hen was dressed up in the normal 'Hen' toot and we were told by the receptionist that 'the manager had better not see you like that, if you look like that, what is the room like'. It wasn't said in a jokey manner either! We were also told that our security deposit had to be paid in cash (we wasn't made aware of this before we stayed) and we were also not permitted to stick any decorative items on the walls of the apartments.
I would 100% recommend these apartments though, they are amazing!! We couldn't want for anything more from our dwellings in Newcastle!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 647KatieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We really appreciate the lovely things you said about our apartments, and you truly enjoyed your stay.I would appreciate you contacting me directly re the receptionist comments, I certainly have no problem with people dressing up. We do not allow anyone to stick posters, pictures etc on the walls we have two apartments at the moment which have to be repapered because someone has put up posters with sellotape and torn the wallpaper. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

KInd regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We booked this through Laterooms.com and what a bargain it was. Right in the centre of Newcastle next door to the Metro. Situated on Osborne Rd in close proximity to the restaurants, bars and shops of Jesmond. The room was immaculately clean and the receptionist very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you want to be near enough to town to walk there and take advantage of Jesmond's nightlife. t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybird2164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Had a brilliant stay at Kendsington Aparments while on my hen do with 9 other girls. We booked two apartments which both had 2 double beds in each and we had two camp beds placed in each to facilitate 5 persons per apartment.

The apartments were beautifully designed and added a touch of luxury at a very affordable price to the weekend.

Staff were extremely facilitating and even lent us some umbrellas when the snow started to fall.

In summary the apartments are reasonably priced, brilliantly located in relation to the Jesmond Metro station and very comfortable.

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmoore1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thank you for writing a review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,424 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,172 reviews
1.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#3 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,305 reviews
1 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,503 reviews
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington House Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington House Aparthotel

Address: 5 Osbourne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#6 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £79 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington House Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New to 2008, Kensington House Aparthotel is ideally located next to Jesmond Metro Station with easy access to Newcastle Centre and the airport. Set in the exclusive cosmopolitan Jesmond area, Kensington House Apartments offer stylish contemporary accommodation in a great setting. With a wide range of bars and restaurants on the doorstep and the city centre just minutes away, these two bedroom apartments are an ideal base for business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kensington House Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington House Aparthotel Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Kensington Hotel Aparthotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing