We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kensington House Aparthotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We used this hotel when collecting my son and all his belongings from University - as we were driving from London we needed a really good night's sleep. The bed was very comfortable and the location was perfect. Our apartment was on the ground floor so no stairs and was extremely quiet. We would definitely use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Ground flor better if you have luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay whilst collecting your son and all his belongings, we wish him success in whatever career he chooses and hopefully see you all again one day.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

An excellent location, close to most of the facilities we needed. We enjoyed our stay even though we came to Newcastle for a funeral. The Apartment was well furnished and well provided for, our one bed apartment was good and with the bedroom at the back was quiet.
We were disappointed that the bed in an otherwise excellently appointed apartment was a narrow and hard so our sleep time was not as comfortable as we would have expected for this quality of accommodation. It was also slightly surprising that there was not a lift, our room was on the fourth floor which was a bit of a hike with our bags. Also on the positive side the staff were fantastic and could not have been more helpful or friendly.
Should I have need to visit Newcastle again I would return but would have a conversation re the bed before doing so.

Room Tip: Ask about the beds and choose a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tims_account
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, I am sorry you visited us for such a sad occasion, hopefully you will be able to visit us in the future to relax and enjoy the sites, if you ring us direct we can let you know about the different types of apartments and the beds.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The location is excellent, on the outskirts of the city and in the heart of the Jesmond entertainment district. Easy access to Metro and buses, the Kensington is a spacious and modernly furnished home from home for a family or couple looking for a base in Newcastle. As a visiting ex-patriot I was delighted by the staff's attention to service throughout our stay and sincere help when our son had an evening's illness during the trip. The price is affordable and if you want to have a self determined trip it provides a great base for seeing the area and surrounds you with a variety of options for dining and entertainment - check out Firenze a little up and behind Osborne road for great Italian.....

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room with a private sit-out patio which we enjoyed. Noise levels were still ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David-Lovekin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time and writing a lovely review for us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope your son is fit and well. When we have lovely pleasant guests like yourselves we find it a pleasure to help.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future

Kind regards
Gillian Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

First time staying here, and it was ideal as a group us (5 people) booked 2 x 2 double bedroom suites and they were ideal for what we required.

Close to the bars and restaurants of Jesmond and the city centre.

The apartments themselves were very spacious, clean and ideal for staying in for a weekend. The bedrooms were spacious with comfy beds, the lounge was nice with sofas and full sky package and the kitchen was fully equipped with everything.

I will stay again on my next visit to Newcastle.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrccooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and really look forward to you returning, please ask for one of our loyalty cards.

Kind regards


Gillian Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Friends and I have stayed at the apartments for the last 4 years in a row, we love them. Beautifully appointed, everything you could possibly need. Fantastic location for both Jesmond and town. Can't recommend highly enough

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time and writing a lovely review for us. We are glad you enjoy staying with us and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind regards


Gillian Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and son have stayed here for 10 nights on 2 separate occasions. The accommodation is lovely and facilities are excellent. The location is very convenient. The only issue was excessive noise from guests returning drunk on bank holidays and Saturday evenings and overnight.The banging of doors and loud noise has sadly discouraged us from returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megstewil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your review we are glad your husband and son enjoyed the apartments, we are sorry they experienced some noise, we do have a night manager on duty, did your husband get in touch with him, this sort of behaviour should not happen, we will not tolerate noisy inconsiderate guests, could you contact me on 0191-2818175 so we could discuss this further.

Kind regards



Gillian Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed in a 2 bed apartment during a 3 night stay in Newcastle. The room was very nicely appointed and completely spotlessly clean. The apartment style room (comparable in price to a hotel) worked out perfectly to accommodate my wife and I and our two young children. There was even breakfast cereal and frozen croissant provided every day. I've marked them down a little in terms of 'sleep quality' as the beds were regular size doubles (would usually expect larger ones in a hotel) the mattress was a little too soft for me and the curtains could have done a better job at blocking out the light in the morning which would have helped as our children would have slept for longer with blackout curtains. Overall though this is a super place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevejenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review for us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we do have some apartments with super king size beds in, when you book again request one of these, look forward to seeing you again in the future


Kind regards


Gillian Hall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,424 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,173 reviews
1.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#3 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,306 reviews
1 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,507 reviews
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#13 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington House Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington House Aparthotel

Address: 5 Osbourne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#6 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £78 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington House Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New to 2008, Kensington House Aparthotel is ideally located next to Jesmond Metro Station with easy access to Newcastle Centre and the airport. Set in the exclusive cosmopolitan Jesmond area, Kensington House Apartments offer stylish contemporary accommodation in a great setting. With a wide range of bars and restaurants on the doorstep and the city centre just minutes away, these two bedroom apartments are an ideal base for business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kensington House Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington House Aparthotel Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Kensington Hotel Aparthotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing