We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best value/quality ratio in Newcastle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kensington House Aparthotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best value/quality ratio in Newcastle”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The location is perfect for anyone who has business in "the toon" or has kids with digs in Jesmond. The beds were great, both bedrooms and bathrooms were immaculate and the availability of 24 hour doormen was very useful. The croissants available in the morning along with the usual kitchen services made this a highly convenient place to stay. Thank you, Kensington, our stay could not have been better.

Room Tip: Go for the 2 bedroom suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Templer666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time and writing a lovely review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you in the future.

Thank you for choosing us

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    120
    19
    3
    9
See reviews for
174
105
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Felt the company were expecting trouble from guests as all correspondence lists their rights to throw you out etc and they also ask for a £100 bond (which we didn't pay). Tiny showers and the thickest winter duvets which should have been replaced by summer ones as apartment unbearably hot. Replacement Breakfast and clean towels were not supplied as promised. Very good location.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenHM7443EP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we believe prevention is better than cure, we expect all our guests to behave in a professional friendly manner unfortunately that is not always the case. Some people appreciate it and some don't. If you breakfast/towels had not been replaced all you have to do is contact reception and it would have been sorted out for you.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I took my two young sons up to Newcastle for my eldest son's wedding and Kensington House was recommended. I could not have been more pleased! Fabulous staff, friendly and efficient, and the accommodation is beautiful. Very comfortable, superbly equipped and well-placed for access to the City. It was ideal for a short stay, and I'd recommend it to anyone who likes to stay somewhere that is beautifully looked after, and obviously managed by dedicated team of lovely people.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, sometimes we are just lost for words when guests say such lovely things we hope to see you and your two boys in the future.

Kind regards
Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Excellent apartment, helpful and professional staff, have stayed here three times and always been very impressed. Highly recommended!
We stayed to visit our daughter who was at Northumbria University and brought older relatives for her graduation recently.
Kitchen very well equipped and beds very comfy.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms on the front very light and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JaneV4252IM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to see you again in the future, and all the very best for your daughter and her future career.

Kind regards
Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for our daughters graduation in newcastle university. The apartment was very clean and modern, although we were I the basement apartment, so a little dark. The metro station was only two minutes walk from the apartment and was quicker than using a taxi to get to her graduation. The metro goes right into the centre of newcastle and to the airport so very handy. The welcome pack was great, croissants, milk, orange juice, butter jam, tea and coffee, we weren't actually expecting this so it was a pleasant surprise. The apartments were reasonably priced for two bedrooms, would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Basement rooms feel a little claustrophobic, but were okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank heather_haire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to see you again in the future, in the mean time good luck to your daughter in her future career.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartments for 3 days and absolutely loved it. Location is right in Jesmond and a minute from the metro. Apartments are absolutely well kept and clean. Check in check out was a dream and very warm and welcoming staff...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktumuluru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for that lovely review, it makes it all worth it, just a few kind words and it lifts everyone's spirits. Thank you hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

we stayed in a two bedroomed apartment. We were told prior to arrival that we would have to pay £100 cash bond after asking us our average age and relationship with each other. When we arrived it became apparent from discussions between staff while we were stood there that not everyone is required to leave a bond. We were provided with yet another copy of the rules and regulations after already receiving 2 in the post. The attitude of staff made us feel like we were been treated a bit like children considering we are 4 professional women in our late thirties. The apartment was on the third floor, there was no lift and no offer of assistance with luggage. The apartment itself was ok but tired looking, there was no welcome pack that has been mentioned in previous reviews, and it was extremely hot even with all the windows open. When we left the next day we mentioned about how hot the room was and maybe they should consider lighter bedding which she stated we should have just asked for one and stating well it is the top floor and it will be hot!! Again felt like children while she rang to get someone to check we hadn't caused damage to the room which was made even worse when the cleaner came down and said everything was ok to which the receptionist gave a sigh of relief before returning our money. Overall slightly disappointed at the fact that we have paid the same money as other guests yet we seemed to be alienated as to being put in an average room, no welcome pack, had to pay a £100 cash bond when they already had my card details just because we were a same sex group of friends. I appreciate that some people will go over the top and damage will be caused however to generalise all groups of friends is unfair.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missbonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillHall, General Manager at Kensington House Aparthotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time and writing a review for us. I am sorry you felt you were treat like children, this is certainly not the case.

Kind regards

Gillian Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,389 reviews
1.1 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
495 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,409 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#9 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington House Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington House Aparthotel

Property: Kensington House Aparthotel
Address: 5 Osbourne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#6 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington House Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New to 2008, Kensington House Aparthotel is ideally located next to Jesmond Metro Station with easy access to Newcastle Centre and the airport. Set in the exclusive cosmopolitan Jesmond area, Kensington House Apartments offer stylish contemporary accommodation in a great setting. With a wide range of bars and restaurants on the doorstep and the city centre just minutes away, these two bedroom apartments are an ideal base for business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Kensington House Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington House Aparthotel Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Kensington Hotel Aparthotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing