We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 out of 5 was disappointed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro Forty Six

Bistro Forty Six
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$93
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A modern European bistro with an intimate atmosphere and friendly staff. We source local game, seafood and vegetables for our seasonal and changing menu. Tuesdays to Sundays all-time classics are served up alongside delicious daily specials. Lunchtime and early evening fixed price menus are complemented by a seasonal A la Carte. Sunday is dedicated to traditional roast dinners and Tuesday night is all about steak - Two dine for £27.95 with drinks.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
196 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“1 out of 5 was disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

£94 for 5 people was good value. Most of the group had good food. 1 of the 5 (that would be me) had prefabricated fish and chips. A small square-shaped Iceland frozen fish and some limp chips wasn't impressive. The restaurant is under new management. It used to be called Brugges and it used to sell Belgian beer. Unfortunately the Belgian beer pumps are still there and look inviting. Sadly they are not connected to anything. They only have bottled beer. So 1 of us didn't get Belgian draught beer or a good freshly fried fish.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CondadoJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    78
    25
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go soon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Great food and excellent service. The waitress was really busy but managed to see to everyone quickly. Brilliant value- we will be back soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loukatyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Popular restaurant delivered the goods!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Close to the metro station in West Jesmond, this small eatery was full when we visited recently on
a midweek evening.During our meal the owner and his assistant went about their front of house
duties smoothly.
There is a small menu to choose from along with a number of specials on blackboards which
included a good selection of vegetarian dishes.Portion size for starters and mains was good and
the desserts were all homemade.There was no rush between courses and all in all a lovely
meal and at a reasonable price.The friendly and engaging owner told us that he had been
there 10 months and that he owned 2 other establishments in the area.
If we happen to be in the vicinity again we wouldnt hesitate to return.



between courses and all in all a lovely meal
and at a reasonable price too.The friendly and engaging owner told uus he had been there 10
months and that he owned 2 other restaurants in the area.
If we happen to be in the vicinity again we wouldnt hesitate to return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chilli48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Lovely meal, lovely people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Lovely meal, lovely people really says it all.

I loved the peach and goats cheese salad starter, I all but licked the plate!

My main was chicken mushroom risotto, really nice and really good portions.

The staff are lovely, the waitress was really nice and not at all pushy (something I hate).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sammyc1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Entertaining clients can be tricky as you can't please everyone - thankfully Bistro FORTY6 did just that.
Small establishment with a good friendly atmosphere and excellent service that made you feel as if you were welcome and not, as sometimes happens in larger chains, expected to eat pay and get out.
The food was excellent and all of us commented that it was the best meal we had had for some time. No complaints and will return soon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Forty Six also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Bistro Forty Six? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing