We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“filthy pit dont go!!!!!!!”
Review of Bluebird Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle upon Tyne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bluebird Hotel
Reviewed 8 April 2012

smelly, dirty,got bit by god knows what,matresses on the floor no hot water,leaks so floors wet through,if you dont mind all this go for it !! but sooner sleep on a bench than go here again,most of the people there where of the same mind,if we could have given it half a star we would.The review from Martisangel is spot on To top it all when we got in the taxi and told them the hotel name they laughed and said that it was a rat infested hell hole i'll say no more.This is one that should have a council spot check it's not fair to be continually taking peoples money for this filthy hovel !!!!!! if you do go get your jabs up to date.

Room Tip: no of them any good
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Bluebird Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

well when i arrived at the hotel got my room ooooh is this it she said yes i only paid £39 for this room for one night without breakfast which is room 11.then i looked no tv which was part of deal asked reception for tv she said 2 hours i said ok but no tv back down again she said 15 mins sorry still no tv back down again yes got tv after 5 hours but no remote with it.as i am a coach driver i wanted quite area she said ok your next door to another coach driver.i really felt good then until 10pm then the taxis kept rooling in tooting horns until aprox 12 pm then at 1 am the taxis were comming back until 6 am.so i had really good nights sleep.i have photos of the room what a picture this will make you book ha ha ha.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nellchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

my stay at the bluebird hotel was pure amazing.the staff welcomed and greeted us with love and showered us with gifts.i felt so comftable with the security of my valuables in my room i never even had to lock my door once. the breakfast was out of this world i always made sure i was the first one up to feast upon the luxury breakfast.never have i tried cornflakes with such crunch! this hotel is that popular i hear that ant and dec had stayed the week before along with anfield cat! u know youve made it in life when u stay at the bluebird hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lloydy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Before I go into too much detail in this review, I would like to establish that we are four 23/24 year old lads, travelling several hundred miles to go to the races, and for the price we paid we weren't expecting a five star experience. I think, however, the one star "terrible" review that I am currently giving this hotel is generous, and I feel quite relieved to have survived the two nights we stayed.

Upon eventually arriving at the hotel after having to ask for directions due to satnavs being unable to find the place, we were greeted in the car park by a police car being present, and the car next to the only available parking space having a smashed windscreen, which certainly set the tone for the rest of the stay. There were people leaving just as we were checking in, and the basic tone of their conversation went like this:

"So, would you want to stay here again?"
"Yes.... if I wanted to die."

This didn't inspire us with much confidence!

After waiting a short time, we eventually managed to check in at the desk - which is, in all fairness, quite well decorated. All of their budget for the decoration must have gone on this desk, because the rest of the hotel looked as if it hadn't been renovated since the day the building was built. The check in experience was further problematic when the lady behind reception was unable to find our reservation by surname, which led to some quick e-mail checking to be able to find our reservation number, which thankfully we had. Strangely, as soon as we produced this number, they managed to locate our reservation, and informed us that our room wasn't yet ready.

We didn't think this would be a problem, as all we wanted to do was drop our gear off, get ready for the races, and go out and have a pint. However, after some discussion between themselves, we were ushered into a room downstairs, and asked if we wanted this room instead. The room was quite nice, despite being in some sort of underground bunker that had no obvious escape route in the event of a fire, and having windows that you could see nothing out of. The only problem with this room is that it came with two double beds instead of four single beds, which wasn't the idea we had in mind when we initially booked the room. We said that we'd be happy to wait for the other room as long as we could leave our gear here, this obviously caused a problem as the lady demanded that one of us went upstairs in two minutes time to sort things out. Obviously, when getting ready into suits for the races, this is an extremely tight deadline! It eventually got sorted and we were allowed to leave our gear in the room that we actually booked.

We were then led to our room, where the lady helped us with one of the bags and we got our first impressions of the room. Before actually arriving at the room, the word "ORRIFIC" was etched into the wall outside our room, which turned out to be quite accurate. We were informed that the room hadn't been cleaned yet - which the suspicious looking wet patch on one of the beds certainly indicated - and to just leave our stuff there, take the key and it would be ready when we got back. We did this.

We arrived back at some time in the early hours of the morning, a bit tanked up on ale, where the sleeping experience began. Attempting to use the one sink in the room - which thankfully worked - resulted in a gurgling sound that lasted for several minutes, and seemed to accumulate more the sink was actually used. The basics in our room was fine - the TV worked, the radiators work (oh they definitely work, more about those later), the cupboard that was made out of reinforced MDF with various screws sticking out of it was a bit dodgy - but all in all, the room was clean and we were able to sleep.

Well, to be more precise, two of us were able to sleep. The ones that were unfortunate enough to be on the end beds (me being one of them), had the slight problem of being less than an inch away from these radiators at either side of the room. These radiators do NOT turn off, and they are ROASTING, so if you accidentally brush against them in your sleep, you will end up with a burn! Trying to sleep with this oven burning into your face next to you is certainly a hell of an experience! There's no way to turn them off either, they just persist blasting this hot air into your face all night long, and after a full day and night on the ale this isn't the best of things that can happen!

The first night was fine and we woke up in desperate need of a drink of water and a shower. This is a problem though, as not each room has a shower - there's two toilets and a shower to be shared across an entire floor. If you intend to use this shower - bring your own towel. It would have been nice to be able to use the toilet also, however the excrement that remained on the toilet seat, and the remains on the inside of the toilet that wouldn't flush properly made this rather unpleasant!

There are no drinks in your room (one tea, one coffee for four lads over two nights, not replenished) so bring your own water as we didn't trust the water from the sink. We decided to skip breakfast (nobody else was having any, either), and found a nice restaurant to have our breakfast there, so I can't give any accurate comments on the food. The decoration is in MAJOR need of a revamp, the paint is cracked all over the walls, the cabinet is falling apart, and there are two delightful canvases on the walls. Nobody cleaned the room - the bin wasn't even emptied, and the room remained exactly as we left it when we returned for the second night.

The first night was quite uneventful, however the second night wasn't. After arriving back quite early (12am or so), we were woken up at around 3am by a bunch of lads rampaging through the hotel, trying to force their way into our room on more than one occasion. This was quite worrying as there didn't seem to be anything being done about it! It crossed our minds to just leave at 3am in the morning and not bother staying any further, but we eventually got to sleep, woke up in the morning and immediately left.

If you are staying over for a night out in newcastle, do not bring anybody to this hotel, spend a little bit extra and book into somewhere you can actually feel safe sleeping. The comment 'you get what you pay for' is extremely true, however I begrudge paying the £20 a night each that we actually paid to stay here.

Pros:

- The massive todger drawn on the sign for the hotel outside

- The clip art produced "fire exit" sign on the door

- The amazing view of the back of a warehouse from our room

- The TV worked

- We survived

The cons:

- Everything else.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room here
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

if i was to say this hotel is nice i would be telling a little porky it is outstanding i stayed here for three weeks as i was working in newcastle and was so plesed with the accomidation , service and pleasent workers i decided to stay for another 3 weeks as a little holiday for my self and invited the wife and kids all the way from france . all the best to the blue staff

Room Tip: number 10 god damn beautiful
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank main m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

i had the most pleasant stay at the blue bird hotel the staff were very welcoming and freindly!
the room was exellent absloutly spotless i couldent moan about 1 thing if i tried! the continental breakfast was my favourite part of the stay i love toast! and the twinkies were scrumtious they even gave me a juice box! also they had sky in the lounge it is set in a picturesk part of newcastle i recomend you stay for a drink at the chesterfeild arms!! all the best xx

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Without sounding like I was looking to be staying in Buckingham palace I know you get what you pay for but at £35pp per night I think that you should be getting some middle of the road standard.

On arrival the car park was full however a sign said additional parking at rear.... All good? Wrong!! A concrete ledge in the middle of an overgrown field of mess!

Entrance to the hotel was a slim corridor, a young woman behind the desk mumbled about payment which had been made in full, signed a form and showed us to what by any manner of means can not be classed as double rooms!!

The rooms were beyond basic! The curtains were so thin they were like having coloured Perspex on the window, the bed base was chipped and stuck out taking chunks out our legs, the kettle was ok tele was space age and cups had more chips than the local chippy!!!

The carpets were so dirty that it looked like a pattern, every time anyone used water or flushed there toilet there was an almighty noise shuddering through the rooms! Like a ship was coming into dock!

The toilet door did not close the tap spun around like chuckys head the mould up the tiles and window was disgusting!

The only decent thing was we were I my there overnight and left ASAP next morning having been out as long as possible since arrival.

We paid for bed and breakfast which we never received and in all fairness would not have taken the risk to eat anyway but a bit of a rip off.

Staff were anything but friendly and informative and in actual fact the whole place was so horrendous that the mice that never decided to leave we're wearing overalls for protection!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martisangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
2.9 mi away
Newcastle Jesmond Hotel
Newcastle Jesmond Hotel
#10 of 20 in Newcastle upon Tyne
191 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bentley's Hotel
Bentley's Hotel
#14 of 20 in Newcastle upon Tyne
75 reviews
4.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,248 reviews
2.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,369 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebird Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebird Hotel

Address: Benwell Lane | Benwell, Newcastle upon Tyne NE15 6RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bluebird Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is based in 17th-century summer retreat of a member of nobility. The hotel embodies a combination of old English tradition and modern amenities of life. We have a dedicated team that provide around-the-clock customer care to our valuable customers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing