We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not that bad!”
Review of Bluebird Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle upon Tyne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bluebird Hotel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's not that bad!”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I saw a lot of bad reviews on here so wasn't expecting much from the hotel but to be frank I dont what people are complaining about.
Yeah ok it's not the ritz but for just short of £30 you get what ya pay for!
The mattresses were a little un comfy but the quilt n pillows were comfier then mine at home! It was clean, yeah the full place is dated n could do with a facelift but that didn't bother us, wasn't fussed about communal showers n toilet either, they were clean & did the job.
We was a group of 4 lads (all 25ish) who went to the toon for a night out, it was clean n comfy n did the job with continental breakfast thrown in.
We had 2 twin rooms, 1 had a telly 1 didnt n not sure bowt the kettles but we didnt book the hotel so we could sit there with a cuppa watching corination street so none of that was an issue.
I feel people mayb just expecting to much from the place, ive paid more n stopped n worse places. If your used to travelling or stopping in hostels you really won't have a problem.
You could probably find a slightly nicer and/or better location like more near to the centre or in area but for what ya pay we enjoyed the stay n would stay again

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crazywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    18
    15
    8
    58
See reviews for
2
19
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
attard, malta
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Take my advise...don't even think of it! The hotel is situated in a dodgy part of town (Benwell). The rooms were in dire need of a facelift. There was the word "HORRIFIC" drawn outside our bedroom door...a sign of things to come. We arrived at the hotel at 1am, to a completely deserted reception area. The receptionist was asleep in some room and only woke up when we telephoned the hotel from our mobiles. The bed linnen was not clean, the room was not clean, the bathrooms were not clean. In 5 days the room was not cleaned, aired or re-stocked with clean linen/bathroom towels. The beds were the most uncomfortable that I've ever experienced with springs popping out of several places. The hallways were dark, dull and gloomy, and smelt odd. Most of the staff were impolite and uneducated. We were overcharged because of the sleepy receptionist.

The breakfast was fine.

Definitely would nor recommend or ever go back...

Room Tip: Rooms NOT in the hotel are the best ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike_said
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We booked a room on 5pm.com as we were going to the metro arena for a gig. 3 of us shared a room. There was a communal bathroom (although seperate rooms with a toilet and "shower" can hardly be classed as a bathroom" on our landing which werent in the best condition. Luckily we only stayed for one night and had breakfast which was included in the price.

Overall we got what we paid for which was very little. Wouldnt recommened the hotel but it done for the one night we stayed there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at the Bluebird for two nights. The hotel is in a quite bad area of newcastle but reasonably close to the city center (by bus or taxi).
We might have been lucky with the room because in comparison to previous reviews we didn't have to share our bedroom with cockroach...However the two nights there were not really relaxing mainly due to our disrespectful neighbors, some young people who were obviously there to have fun...I don't mind people having fun but shouting, screaming and knocking at all the bedroom doors between 2 and 3 am ...I don't find it really funny.
The breakfast was extremely basic: bread, cereals, super dry croissant and some orange juice that didn't taste of orange at all.
That's a bit of a pity because the building (an old church) is huge and still in a good state. A big refurbishment of the rooms and bathrooms + regular cleaning of the rooms (carpet, bed, curtains) could make this place much nicer....although you cannot escape from disrespectful noisy neighbors.....Regarding the price we paid, I'd advise you to go somewhere else....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pablogaz1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I stayed here for three nights during April 2012 and I had a pleasant stay and the rooms were comfortable. Mine was on the small side even for an ensuite but this is perhaps due it being an older building

There is a nice large spacious lounge with a TV and freeview. There is also a dining room located at the rear of the property which is nicely appointed and it is pleasant to sit during in meal times.

I would recommend booking an ensuite as I had previously booked a room sharing in a communal bathroom and toilet. Where I was situated in room 8 is on the opposite side of the hotel and you have to walk past reception to use the shower.

This is fine if you wear a dressing gown but if you don't out you will get noticed. The other advantage of this property is that it is ten min by bus into the city and the station is on the route to and from the station on the bus going to Benwell.

The menu options for evening meals are restricted to curries and bolognese but they are well made and wholesome. The only other problem I had was that the freeview did not work properly and relied on internal ariels. However this is likely to be fixed as the region switches to digital.

This hotel is worth a look at despite some of other bad reviews. It is comfortable and there are some niggles as mentioned but for less than £50 per night in major regional city with meals, a bathroom of your own and close to the city centre it is good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

smelly, dirty,got bit by god knows what,matresses on the floor no hot water,leaks so floors wet through,if you dont mind all this go for it !! but sooner sleep on a bench than go here again,most of the people there where of the same mind,if we could have given it half a star we would.The review from Martisangel is spot on To top it all when we got in the taxi and told them the hotel name they laughed and said that it was a rat infested hell hole i'll say no more.This is one that should have a council spot check it's not fair to be continually taking peoples money for this filthy hovel !!!!!! if you do go get your jabs up to date.

Room Tip: no of them any good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

well when i arrived at the hotel got my room ooooh is this it she said yes i only paid £39 for this room for one night without breakfast which is room 11.then i looked no tv which was part of deal asked reception for tv she said 2 hours i said ok but no tv back down again she said 15 mins sorry still no tv back down again yes got tv after 5 hours but no remote with it.as i am a coach driver i wanted quite area she said ok your next door to another coach driver.i really felt good then until 10pm then the taxis kept rooling in tooting horns until aprox 12 pm then at 1 am the taxis were comming back until 6 am.so i had really good nights sleep.i have photos of the room what a picture this will make you book ha ha ha.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
4.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
2.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,211 reviews
2.7 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,223 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,852 reviews
2.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebird Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebird Hotel

Property: Bluebird Hotel
Address: Benwell Lane | Benwell, Newcastle upon Tyne NE15 6RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bluebird Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is based in 17th-century summer retreat of a member of nobility. The hotel embodies a combination of old English tradition and modern amenities of life. We have a dedicated team that provide around-the-clock customer care to our valuable customers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing