We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Value For Money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Brighton
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb Value For Money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed as a stag party and paid about 55 each for 2 nights over the weekend. Michael greated us on arrival and instantly exchanged some banter. He was certainly very helpful by offering us taxi's etc and giving us some local info.

The rooms were clean and with no damage (quad with en suite and single twin). For what we paid we were certainly impressed with the accommodation.

Breakfast in the morning was great!

Without hesitation i'd stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Super_Sy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    28
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
6
15
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Two of my friends and I went to Newcastle in November for a girlie weekend. We found this guest house on laterooms and it was quite cheap so we went with it. We weren't very impressed when we arrived and got to our room - pretty run down. Wasn't what we expected it would be as reviews on laterooms were good. The breakfast was quite good. There was nowhere to play music and the bathroom was shared with other guests so not ideal for 3 girls getting ready for a night on the town! This hotel is quite good for cheap accommodation if you're not bothered where you stay but I wouldn't recommend for a girlie weekend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemmxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendyhaldane, Owner at The Brighton, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
I am sure if you had booked an en suite room your experience would have been different. We have catered for a lot of hen dos and girlie breaks, on the whole most guests have enjoyed their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingston upon hull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

The guest house is about half an hour walk away from the city centre but there's a very regular bus service about two mins walk away. The house It's self is surround by residential property's and the area seems nice but maybe a little intimidating on a night. When we arrived we was greated by a slighty looking flustered man who showed us to our room after payment was taken we had booked a double and we was put in a big room with a double and a single which ment the room was lovely and big. There was a ensuite that is tiny and toilet was loose and the shower was cleanish but seen better. The decor is starting to look dated but It's okay for price. The room we where in suffers from noise problems (room 1) It's on the ground floor between the dinning area and reception so is a bit noisy special the phone that woke us up at 6am going of for five mins with no one answering it . Am sure other rooms upstairs will be quiter. The breakfast is lovely serverd promptly and with a smile. Overall I would say if you can afford better go there but if your short on cash then the Brighton is a good option.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs room 1 is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed here with 9 mates during a boys weekend away to Newcastle in October 2011.

The hotel is in a decent location - around a 10 min walk from St James Park football ground which is on the edge of the city centre. The inner city area isnt the poshest part of Newcastle but it certiainly seemed safe enough. £6 for a taxi back from town on a Sat night.

There was a warm friend Geordie welcome by the manager on the day, who charged us for our rooms plus a £25 deposit which we got back on departure. He guided us to our rooms. You get a room key each which is a rarety and a big bonus on a crazy lads weekend! Although good for a lads or girls weekend away the hotel catered for all and plenty of doors means you hardly hear a peep even if you are next door to a group of lads like we were.

The rooms are clean and you get your own towels supplied and cup and soaps and are very clean, as are the bathrooms and toilets, which is always good if you dont have an en-suite like we didnt! Plenty of loo rolls and good electric showers.

Breakfast included so really is a bargin, and all the staff are friendly including the security guard who is there all night.

If you just want a clean cheap place to lay your head and grab a bite to eat in the morning it is defo the one!

Room Tip: En-suite are avalaible for £10 extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bezzy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed here as we were attending a concert. We had a room next to the dining room. The room was spacious with a double bed and a single bed, lots of space. The bathroom was tiny but overall the room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and staff were very attentive. It's about a 25min walk to town or £6-£7 in taxi. Bus stop is round the corner? Regular bus stops outside St James's park and town. Lots of takeaways nearby as it's in the Asian community of the city. I would stay somewhere more central next time though.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoopyLass84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

I went stayed at the Brighton hotel along with the wife from 14th oct until 16th Oct and we both enjoyed our stay and had no problems whatsoever

We both enjoyed the room and the friendliness of the staff.. also the breakfast was fine with Cereal of choice between Cornflakes or Weetabix ..coffee / tea or fresh orange with toast and butter / jam / marmalade although i add couldve done with another ration of bacon but thats me :)

The room we were in was clean as was the bed both clean and comfy and the bathroom was also clean with shower room also and although we never went to Newcaslte to watch tv
the tv also was fine with no problems whatsoever..also in the Lounge the tv was ok
and you can help yourself to tea/coffee whenever you felt like such in the lounge..Also when we arrived at 1st we were handed keys to come and go when we felt like until whatever time of day / night ..Also bus stop was just up road and around corner approx 3 mins from the hotel and buses ran frequently into city centre and best buying an all day ticket costing £3.50p as you then can come/go from hotel to city centre and back as you please ..Taxis cost after midnight we both got the fenham taxi cab outside bar after midnight cost us £4.00 and waited only 10 mins after phoning several which wouldve had is waiting an hr or so..so that was very good as taxi was not pre-booked ..Meanwhile hotel stay was very good and we both enjoyed our stay very much with no problems whatsoever..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tartanlad844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

absolutely fantastic stay. all staff were extremely friendly,helpful and welcoming. excellent value for money considering the hotel is very close to the city centre. great breakfast and service. have recommended it to relatives and friends. being two young-ish ladies going to newcastle for a girlie break, we are pleased to say that we were made to feel very safe.we met some great groups of people in the hotel, all of which also felt their overall stay in the hotel.

To anyone wanting to give a bad review: if you want the Ritz then you should pay the Ritz prices. If its clean and friendly then why on earth would you have reason to complain at those prices. We have paid more for hotels in small towns let alone the centre of a city.....
so smile and enjoy your stay....life is what you make of it afterall!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton

Property: The Brighton
Address: 47-49 Brighton Grove, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 5NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brighton Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing