We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow...”
Review of The Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Brighton
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow...”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

It says style and comfort on the banner outside there is no style.... And the comfort ain't upto much the beds were terrible we were here for my stag do so weren't staying in the rooms much but we didn't even want to shower as the communal showers were minging.. The towels that were in the room (1 towel in a twin room?) smelt of chip fat because they dried them in the kitchen... We didn't even stay for breakfast cus the place was dirty and didn't wanna risk it....If i was going back I'd pay extra and go to a travel lodge... The only positive is the staff were nice apart from the bloke on nights was abit mardy..

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DB0897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    28
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
6
15
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Myself and 4 others stayed here for work. The rooms are basic but they were clean and tidy. There isn't tea and coffee facilities in the room but there are 2 lounges that have tea making facilities so this wasn't a problem. I have to say the cooked breakfast was 1 of the nicest I've had in a long time! Overall, the staff were very welcoming, and for the price it was great value for money. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMMA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stayed here with a mate to attend a night match at St James Park & found it to be a very nice place, with clean rooms, & all the facilities you would expect for a great price (even better price if you book online & in advance). Breakfast was included in the price & was very nice indeed. The staff were nice & friendly & nothing was too much trouble.
I am happy to highly recommend this B&B to anyone.

Ian Bradley

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolsover, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my stag party stopped here for my stag weekend 1st nov-3rd nov and found the place clean, staff very friendly and outgoing, couldn't do enough for you and the food (breakfast) was brilliant. Would highly recommend for a place to stay on a night out.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

You get what you pay for and that is a decent nights kip and a decent breakfast. Yes the place is quiet old and worn, the floorboards creak but the rooms are clean and beds are comfy. Shower and bathroom I didnt pay for ensuite but the shared facilities were good and kept in a clean and sanitary condition and i could always go when i wanted to go. Clean towels and soap was provided. The hotel is about a 20 min walk to the city centre or you can get a taxi for around five pounds. The local area is friendly and ethnical and definetly not seedy. There are pizza/kebab shops not to far away. St James Park is about 12mins walk away down 1 straight road. The owner/manager was very friendly and welcoming. Overall dont go expecting the ritz, this is a straightforward breakfast that you cant go wrong with considering the price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dicanio100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights over Great North Run weekend. Had a twin room which was very spacious and shared bathroom - which was within close proximity of the room and was clean and did the job. Wifi connection was good, clean and comfy beds and fresh towels.

Breakfast was also good with choices of cooked breakfast, cereals, yogurts, juices and tea/coffee.

The location is handy for the start line of the GNR and would also be a good base for events at St James Park. Nice walk into the town centre (about a mile all downhill) and if you don't fancy the walk back there are regular buses that go past the top of Stanhope St (right near Brighton Grove) for £1.40.

Staff very friendly - I have absolutely no complaints about my stay and I've already requested a room for next years GNR.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John1175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This was a great little stop over for us to judge at a show. Perfect location, friendly staff , clean and fresh smelling rooms. Couldn't fault it after our last experience away in scarborough! We would definitely stay again and will tell out friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doglovergray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#9 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.1 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton

Property: The Brighton
Address: 47-49 Brighton Grove, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 5NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brighton Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing