We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrumptious food, friendly service”
Review of La Gabbia - CLOSED

La Gabbia
Price range: US$16 - US$57
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Scrumptious food, friendly service”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We visited La Gabbia as part of a group and were very impressed! The food was delicious and cooked very quick. The home made breads, mushroom starter and pizza were a good size and very tasty. My partner loved the sliders; mini hotdog, cajun chicken burger and beefburger with homemade fries, chutneys and relish. Something different! For desert I had the chocolate sampler with peanut butter icecream - amazing!
We had excellent service all night from the owner and ended up with running jokes including how much bread my partner had eaten during the meal. He then chose the chocolate calzone for desert! The owner sent a message to the chef to make a larger calzone for him. When it came out it was pizza sized! Half was full of chocolate and morello cherries, the other banana, cream and toffee sauce. Again something different but it was gorgeous!
The staff made our night hilarious and added personal touches to our food. They were more than willing to accommodate our preferences that were different to the menu.
A really lovely night in a great atmosphere with excellent food and staff that go above and beyond for their customers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank becki154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    12
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Awesome All round”
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Great food, Great host, will be visiting again when back on business.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scoobdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The hardest thing was finding the restaurant it is really hidden away, well it is when you have not been before and did not want to get a taxi (more fun). An absolute pleasure from the greeting to leaving. Anybody looking for first class food at a very reasonable price while in Newcastle this is a must. The selection on drinks and all courses are amazing. We will go again when back in Newcastle.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colbrad29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Top Quality-Yet again!”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Returned after visiting several weeks ago, really enjoyed our 1st visit and this did not disappoint! It was again beautifully cooked food, with the great knowledge at the front of house being a major help with the selection.
It was very relaxing, and Marcus even remembered when we had been! Probably had nothing to do with my crazy 4 yo! It is a real pleasure going here, nothing is too much trouble.
I tried a couple of different things on the menu than I had last time, this time was just as good if not better! Usually on the 2nd visit you find it's not as good as you remembered, this bucks the trend!
Thanks again to all the staff for a thoroughly entertaining evening and excellent food for us all. We will be returning as soon as we can!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank littlejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“sort out the cheese crackers”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Visited on a friday night with five friends,the owner and staff very friendly and delivered an excellent service. The food went down very well especially the monk fish & king prawn skewers with chilli risotto. Some had puds which looked too good to eat but were devoured in an instant. I opted for the cheese board with chutney, beautifull selection of cheese and the sweet sticky chutney was the perfect accompanyment. however the only fault ,and it's only a tiny one was thecrackers were not crisp. The staff did apologize and refunded the cost ,promised they would sort it. Last but not least the wine was excellent so much so we had three bottles between us. Great night had by all and we will be back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodhearty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Gabbia also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing