We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cluny

The Cluny
Ranked #676 of 1,243 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

There was a really good beer selection, the staff were friendly. I had a lentil burger, which was really good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shauna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    30
    13
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great pub, food and beer !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We ate here on a Friday evening before a gig in the Cluny 2 venue. The menu is pretty basic , but the standard of the food is excellent. Between us we had main course nachos, chilli and a burger. All were excellent and home made. The chilli, and the chilli on the nachos was spicy, but not overpowering, and the burger was almost an inch thick! There is an excellent choice of British and foreign beers ( various handpulled real ales and three real ciders ! ) Unfortunately I was designated driver , so they had to go un-tasted ... but I'll be back!

The place was buzzing, but with two gigs in the two venues, and for a Friday evening just before Christmas, this is to be expected . Try the Cluny, it's worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlisdairGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
179 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great pub and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is a great pub........loads of atmosphere and a good menu of pub food. The burgers are legendary and the salads great.'.especially with a bowl of chips. Love it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cluny Gig = excuse to get Cluny food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Rather than wander round town trying to find somewhere cheap and simple to eat before a gig when you're going to the Cluny why not just eat there as well?

For all that the other pubs of the Cluny's ilk (except for the gigs) in Newcastle try to offer food non of them seem to grasp the simple concept of a basic, reasonably priced burger: The Cluny still does. They all offer burgers of some sort but most are tarted up, charge more and they all to often exclude or remove from the menu a veggie burger.

Despite the ups and downs of the Cluny's burgers over the years on this visit I got exactly what I wanted: and decent burger that came with sides as standard and a pint for less than £10. The 'Homemade Mexican Bean Burger' was exactly as expected; it wasn't anything exceptional and I think perhaps it could have done with a little more of a Mexican kick but it didn't disappoint.

The atmosphere is always relaxing and more often than not you can find a seat (mid-week) if it's early enough before the gig.

Wouldn't go out of my way to go here but I certainly will always use any Cluny gigs as an excuse to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diarrch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Service... what service? They haven't a clue.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We'd been told that sometimes the service was poor but thought it must have just been busy... er, no.

The waitress behind the bar was distracted by her own reflection so didn't catch our order for several minutes even though the place only had a two couples and a family of 4 [toddlers] already at tables. While she took our order 2 of her friends came in, walked straight behind the bar and hugged her... very friendly, but having to wait while they shrieked and caught up with gossip wasn't very efficient or endearing.

She was even less interested in taking our food order and wandered off to talk to the other server. We watched incredulously while they both sauntered back.

Every food order took over 40 minutes to arrive, remember there were only 3 food orders before ours and no-one else got their food while we were waiting either. The toddlers became so bored they had to entertained. The poor woman making and serving the food looked harrassed and fed-up, not surprised with the help she wasn't getting. However to be fair to her, the food was tasty and well presented- when it arrived. She appeared to be as irritated by the bar staff as we were.

By this time the bar was filling up but the waitress's 2 friends were still behind the bar having a laugh, getting their own drinks and messing about.

The manager looked out of his depth with the 2 servers- he clearly appreciated he had staff issues but did nothing to sort them out.

The final straw was getting the bill wrong. The self-absorbed waitress tried to charge us for mains rather than the specials which were not included as 'buttons' on the till, but she couldn't be bothered to try and sort it- she even sighed and rolled her eyes when we pointed out her mistake... the manager had to be called to the till. We told him what had happened and though embarrassed offered no apology. By the time we left our frustration had turned to complacency- we will never return, neither should you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pontevecchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cluny also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Cluny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing