We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good evening” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caffe Vivo

Caffe Vivo
Reserve with OpenTable
Caffe Vivo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #174 of 1,243 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Manors
Description: Italian at heart, the mood at the Quayside Caffe Vivo is lively, the style relaxed. Cafe by day, simple supper place at night, it's food is honest, joyful and full of sunshine.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good evening”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Good food freshly prepared, but I feel it is overpriced for an Italian, drinks are also a little pricey as well.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LinMU55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    132
    56
    32
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not for large appetites, but tasty.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

A fixed price menu which provided some interesting flavours (in a good way). Not huge portions. Dessert could have been more carefully prepared. Initial bill of £1950 for a bottle of red was corrected when I pointed it out, but with no real apology.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank iacamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Went to Caffe Vivo on Sunday, as I had heard from several Italian friend's the food was delicious.
When we got there, we were sat straight away. It was quiet for a Sunday afternoon but we were just happy to be sat somewhere on the quayside. Orders were taken straight away, however... The waitress seemed to be unsure about most of the dishes that her employers were serving, and flitted back and forth between ourselves and the kitchen (she may have been new, but this was not communicated to us). I ordered the egg in purgatory and the chicken and my friend ordered the bruscetta and the spicy sausage rigatoni. Close An hour later when our food arrived, the egg was extremely over cooked. The yolk was like powder. The sauce was nice, but nothing special. When our mains came out- 45mins after the starters. we had asked what was going on although never got an apology from the several waiters that we were passed amongst. My chicken looked like it was swimming in watery milk and tasted the same too. The rigatoni seemed more on the uncooked side, rather than al dente, but again the sauce was nice. We ate the food because we didn't want to go anywhere else to have to wait even longer. When the bill came, the service charge came in the final total which we refused to pay as all the was waiters just looked like they wanted to be anywhere but at work and seemed to be making that clear in their service. I would definitely not go back here.


Food = Poor

Service = Unfriendly

Prices = No Value For Money

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NEIL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mediocre... at best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have been to Vivo 3 times over 2 years now, and every time it is more disappointing. It was at best, absolutely bang average Italian food. At worst, it was over priced, over salted, tasteless food.

Food at cheap and cheerful restos like Francesca's in Jesmond serve similar tasting food, albeit in a less tasteful environment. Honestly, if it wasn't for it's attractive design, good service and connections in Newcastle, I think this place would have been out of business a while ago.

It is the final time I will ever step foot into this establishment, unless I am not paying for it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raplino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great tasting italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Visited with a friend without booking, we were welcomed by friendly staff. The set menu had lots of great choice from which we ordered.
The food was fantastic with great taste and all very fresh. The service was great without being rushed.
I will return and recommend it to anyone visiting or living in newcastle

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bryanjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Vivo also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Caffe Vivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing